Playing around with patchwork…

Hello everyone. I’m here to share my latest creation πŸ™‚ It went together really quickly.

I don’t know what has got into me but I really enjoyed making my last quilt and writing the pattern so much that I’ve written another one. Some of this fabric was bought for me for my birthday and the rest is from my shop.

I love these colours together πŸ˜€

Anyway, here are some photos…

Image

Don’t you just love those daisies? It has been far too wet to cut the grass and so gloomy that the daisies couldn’t even be bothered to open up 😦

A bird’s eye view….

Image

Some close ups….

Image

Image

Image

and a peek at the back…..

Image

I quilted the front with ivory and the back with variegated turquoise, teal and blues. The variegated thread isn’t metallic but it does shimmer in the light.

I hope you like it πŸ™‚ The PDF pattern and photo tutorial is now available in my Etsy store.

Have a wonderful weekend! Avis x

Leave a comment

24 Comments

  1. Gorgeous! I love those colors together! πŸ˜€

    Reply
  2. witchylin

     /  June 8, 2012

    Really lovely Avis. What gorgeous colours. The daises complement the quilt!!! It looks a really fun design to make. You will need to have an extension built to house your quilts if you keep this pace up. Looking forward to seeing your next project. I think this design would also look great in bright jewel colours with a black backing. So many colours, fabrics, designs and sizes and so little time!!!! I have reached the quilting stage of my green-man quilt and I am reluctant to try machine quilting on the finished article just yet. Need to do a few more sample pieces. When I see yours it gets me fired up to ‘have a go’ because yours look fantastic.

    Reply
    • Hi Witchylin! This one is a lot easier than the last one you made πŸ™‚ I now have 10 quilts finished which isn’t many compared to other quilters and there are a few tops still to be quilted. It could be a while before anything new is on the horizon. I’m a bit busy until September. I agree about the jewel colours, batiks would be great too! It is always scary starting the quilting, I know how you feel πŸ™‚ Enjoy the weekend. Avis x

      Reply
  3. Beautiful, love the colours, very fresh.

    Reply
  4. claire93

     /  June 8, 2012

    I love the colour combination

    Reply
  5. Nice colours, like your free-motion quilting!

    Reply
  6. Denby

     /  June 8, 2012

    I love this quilt, the colours and the design. Although I like everything that you do, I think this might be my favourite.

    Reply
    • Thank you very much Denby πŸ™‚ I love anything by Moda. The fabrics are so soft and the colours blend so well. This one is quite subtle for me. Have a great weekend! Avis x

      Reply
  7. Love the colours! ItΒ΄s a beautiful quilt. I wish I could mashinequilt, cause it takes so much longer to handquilt.
    Gun, Sweden

    Reply
    • Well, after my hand piecing trial recently, I’m so grateful for my machine. I prefer to see hand quilting on a quilt but I just don’t have the time. One day, I will try it for myself πŸ™‚ Avis x

      Reply
  8. Hi Avis! You have made again so beautiful quilt! What a great simple pattern and with so beautiful colours and great prints it looks just adorable! x Teje

    Reply
  9. That is a really beautiful quilt, I love the colors. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  10. Oh gosh, it looks so cosy!

    Reply
  11. I think this is my favourite quilt you have shown so far. I love the colours and the shapes. I have my fingers crossed you win the competition. I plan to get on and do some more patchworking this week. It has taken rather a back seat to digital messing around. Must try harder! Thanks for the inspiration x

    Reply
  12. Love the colours of your quilt, its simular to one I am about to work on.

    Reply
    • Great! Don’t forget to post about it! i’m now following your blog because you do lots of techniques I want to try some day too πŸ™‚ Thanks for visiting my blog. Avis x

      Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

