The Versatile Blogger Award!

Hi everyone, I hope you are all enjoying the weekend. Oops, I just looked at the clock and  it is 4 minutes into Monday!

I haven’t been around for a few days as I’ve been so busy working but thought it only fair to break my silence to accept the Versatile Bogger Award from byhookorbypen. Thanks to both of the lovely authors for nominating my blog. They have two blogs, one features crochet and the other is devoted to the Titanic. Pop over and see them for yourselves 🙂

Now I know there are some people who don’t want to get involved in “chain letter” awards and feel embarrassed about refusing them so, on this occasion, I am going to break the rules. I am not going to nominate any other blogs (gasp, shock, horror!!). What a rebel I am 😉 However, I am providing some links to lots of blogs I’ve visited most frequently in May. I’m sure the authors will be happy to see new visitors. I am also happy to tell you more facts?? about myself and hope you enjoy reading them 🙂

1. I love dogs.

2. I think I’m quiet and shy but everyone who knows me thinks the opposite 🙂

3. I enjoy reading but rarely have time to finish a book.

4. I bought five chocolate Easter eggs to give away this year and then left them in a hot car. I had to eat them all myself because they were no longer egg-shaped! What a shame 😆

5. I’m just learning how to use facebook and twitter after having started up ages ago. (Embarrassing number of followers :-))

6. I rarely watch TV, preferring to listen to the radio.

7. I enjoy eating Jelly Babies!

Some of my favourite blogs in no particular order are:

Amysworlds

Doublebarreloutdoors

Buriedinscraps

Craftingismybliss

Handmadebyclairebear

Claire93

rutigt

basildonkitchens

sincerelysarahandcrafted

treadlemusic

chicenvelopements

nerospostandpatch

madebypatch

skalabara

madebyyourstruly

weddingdressblue

occasionalcrafter

sewmuchchoice

If you feel missed out (I hope I haven’t missed you and it wasn’t intentional) just let me know and I’ll include you in my next post 🙂

Have a great week! Avis x

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

31 Comments

  1. Why Avis! Thank you so much for including my blog in your list of faves…..absolutely “back at ya”!!! Love your self descriptive phrases (so many could be ME!). What a sweet thoughtful award “acceptance” post (but that is who you are…..you left out that self description;-) Blessings and hugs, D

    Reply
  2. Congratulations! Too bad about those eggs, though, very, very sad. Here’s my big confession, I don’t Facebook at all.

    Reply
    • At the moment, I don’t know why I bother with it either he-he 🙂

      Reply
    • I don’t either. I was ‘forced’ into registering so I could find information about the camps we go to but pressure from others got the info back on emails. Yeah! It took me an age to clear my Facebook registration. I have finally achieved it. Never again! I like to read the messages and blogs this way.

      Reply
  3. Thankyou Avis, very diplomatic 😉

    Reply
    • I was trying to hit the chain letter concept on the nose! This way, everyone gets a bit of the action without the chore because life is so busy for everyone these days 😀 I hope it works!

      Reply
  4. Congratulations Avis! You found a great way – Awards are so great but sometimes there is just not enough time! Thank you for including Nero’s Post to your favourite list! Nice to learn something about you; I’m also quiet and shy but I guess many would think the opposite.
    I have been also so busy: the dog was ill and the owner as well so they couldn’t return yet. not many cross stitches have been made yet. xxx Teje

    Reply
    • Oh no! I hope you are both feeling much better soon 🙂 I love your recent post about the wooden chest. If anyone hasn’t seen it yet, what are you waiting for? Pop over to see Teje’s lovely story 😀 Take care Teje x.

      Reply
  5. Thanks, Avis. 🙂 It’s always fun to click through and see other blogs. I’m a quiet and shy person too.. but some people wouldn’t think so. 🙂

    Reply
  6. Congratulations Avis. You can be shy and quiet or extroverted and loud, I don’t care. I find you a really lovely person whose blog, comments and shop are all A1. Through you I have met another lovely blogger with more great ideas for quilts, Doreen. Although I still fight against my own blog I sneakily get my ‘life’ on yours. Sorry!!!!!!!
    Love your post re the award and am happy to learn more about you.

    Reply
    • Ha-ha! Thanks Witchylin, that is really kind of you 🙂 I know you will buckle under the pressure one day in your own time. Everyone here would love to see more of your lovely projects. Just click around on the above links and you’ll find many more treasures. Avis x

      Reply
  7. frogzone1

     /  June 4, 2012

    Well done ma 😉

    Reply
  8. Congratulations!

    Reply
  9. First of all: I love cats, but dogs are OK 🙂 Second: Thank you for linking to my blog! Third: I´ve learned a new english word (versatile = mångsidig)! Fourth: Congratulation!
    Gun, Sweden

    Reply
    • and only you know how to pronounce it!! I wish I was like my daughter who can speak lots of languages 🙂 Thank you Gun 😀

      Reply
  10. Congratulations on your award!! I loved learning the new things about you and probably could have listed all of them for myself. 🙂

    Reply
  11. Congratulations on your award and thank you so much for including a link to my blog. I too love dogs, Little One regularly features a bit in my blog even though I meant to keep it focused on my sewing!

    Reply
  12. Awesome! A dog lover! 😀 And congratulations on the award! ^.^
    I’d rather listen to the radio too. 😉

    Reply
    • Yes!! and after the summer break I am going to have a dog of my own. Watch this space from September 😀

      Reply
      • Awesome! 😀 Well, congratulations! ^.^ Are you going to rescue or are do you have your eye on a breeder?

        Reply
        • Well, that is a good question. My heart says rescue but my head says breeder (though I’m aware this could be problematic too). We keep changing our minds. I’d love a labrador, as that is what we had when I was young but who knows. We’ve talked about it for so long 🙂 Any advice/thoughts are very welcome!

          Reply
          • Boy, do I know what you mean! (My Golden Retriever, Dixie, I found by way of a classified ad)
            There are so many jewels waiting for new homes who are out there in the shelters all across America; but when choosing a shelter dog (which I’m sure you know) you have to be aware that there may not be much known about the dog’s past. If you find a dog from the shelter who is being fostered though, there’s good chance the foster “parents” will know a lot about the dog. Petfinder.com is a great website where rescues and shelters list their adoptable pets. You may even find a breed-specific (In this case, Labrador) rescue near you.

            With a breeder, you’ll usually get to meet one or both of the parents of the puppy and the breeder can tell you about each puppy’s personality. If you find a responsible breeder, the breeder will usually choose the puppy for you; the pup that fits your lifestyle, personality, and energy level best. There are so many pros and cons to both! 😄 Maybe I should do a post on this?

            Labs are VERY energetic and funny dogs. Like most Goldens, they need tons and I mean TONS of exercise to be happy and well-adjusted. But having had one when you were young I’m sure you know all about that. 😉 Good luck in your search!

            Reply
            • Yes, my lab was a vandal! but an adorable one 😀 He used to open the fridge and eat the contents if he was left alone in the house. They are very hungry dogs 😆 We live about 100 metres from the sea so there’s plenty of space to play. DH thinks a lab might be a bit as he hasn’t lived with a dog before but I prefer medium to large breeds. I agree about the rescue dogs. There are good and not so good ones but sometimes breeders are not so careful either. We’ll be taking our time to decide. A few more months won’t hurt 🙂 This topic would be great for a blog post!

              Reply
              • witchylin

                 /  June 16, 2012

                My Dog Meg is our third rescued Border Collie. They have all been so different. Meg has some very funny ways but is a loving dog and her biggest problem is licking. Us, the furniture, clothes, floors and other dogs. She has a nice temperament and is MOSTLY obedient. Good luck with whatever dog you decide to have, I am sure you will give it a very good and happy home.

                Reply
                • One of my neighbours has four border collies. They play fly-ball. Seems like great fun! They are a very breed 🙂

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

