Blackwork Finish!

Hi everyone, Happy Sunday 🙂

Thank you to everyone who has continued to read and comment on my posts while I’ve been so busy. I’m hoping all will be back to normal in a couple of weeks and I’ll then be able to do some quilting again. Fingers crossed!

I thought I’d update you on my progress with the Bothy Threads narrow boat cross stitch. I haven’t done a single stitch since last Monday but I’m having the day off from busy family stuff and I hope to get lots of crosses done today. This is where I’m up to now.

ImageAlso, I can reveal my completed blackwork project. This was made as part of a Stitch Along with Claire. You can see lots of other versions in different colours here. I hope Claire doesn’t mind that I’ve posted this finish a week early as I don’t know when I’ll get to write again. Claire has recently finished her Alphabet Sampler and I love the way she made it like a mini-quilt. I’ve copied her idea and the finished result is a wall hanging I’ll be pleased to display on my wall. I hope you like it too! Here are the stages as I stitched along with Claire.

Image

Image

Image

Image

and here is the finished wallhanging “on point”. The chart is available at http://www.practicalblackwork.com.

Image

Now, I’m off to catch up with reading all your lovely blogs. I hope you’ve been up to all sorts of wonderful things 🙂

Avis x

Leave a comment

25 Comments

  1. Merveilleuse cette création en blackwork !!!

    Reply
  2. claire93

     /  March 3, 2013

    Well done on both your blackwork finish and your longboat progress – two totally different styles but both are gorgeous

    Reply
    • Thank you Claire. If it wasn’t for you I probably would never have got around to trying blackwork. I’m so glad I did 😀 Avis x

      Reply
  3. What a beautiful diamond shaped block. Avis x, your work is always of C L A S S . Be Blessed, Mtetar

    Reply
  4. lisasff

     /  March 3, 2013

    beautiful! both of them! You should be very happy with yourself.

    PS. I got a 2.5mm hook 😮

    Reply
    • I’m always happy to finish something. It’s now brightening up my downstairs loo wall 😆 It sounds like you are going to make some very fine crochet! Avis x

      Reply
  5. basildonkitchens

     /  March 3, 2013

    Beautiful! This is so beautiful! You are truly tempting me to try this! 🙂

    Reply
  6. Very lovely Avis. Busy, chaotic times here too so no posts from me, oops!

    Reply
    • Thank you 🙂 Thankfully I’ve had a couple of items squirrelled away to blog about while I’m not crafting. I hope your sciatica has calmed down! Avis x

      Reply
  7. This looks great! 🙂 Maybe I should try this on my impossible figure cross stitch project (currently lost somewhere in the depths of The Boudoir).

    Reply
    • Well, it is certainly cheaper than framing so I thought I’d give it a try. I’m intrigued by your “impossible figure”. Is it some kind of optical illusion? by Escher maybe?

      Reply
  8. I love the blackwork and the finishing. You do beautiful work!

    Reply
  9. Beautiful blackwork! Hope all your family/moving is going/has gone well. The quiet days will come! Strength and wisdom to you, Dear Friend! Hugs, Doreen

    Reply
  10. witchylin

     /  March 4, 2013

    Avis, that looks fabulous. My favourite colour too. It will look great on the wall. I love it as a diamond rather than a square.
    I wish you all the best for Friday and hope all goes according to plan.

    Reply
    • Thanks Lin 🙂 Sometimes I feel like Friday will just be the beginning but we’ve come a long way really. Every muscle and joint is aching. Maybe I should be the one downsizing 😉 Avis x

      Reply
  11. 1marylou

     /  March 4, 2013

    Gorgeous! Blackwork looks so intricate.

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)