Loyal Union Sampler Block 16/121

Good afternoon everyone,

Not a lot of progress to share on the sampler this week. I made the nine square in a square blocks the other day and then just looked at the pieces on my mat and walked away several times. Sometimes I just know it isn’t going to be successful so I go off and do something else. Today, the bits went together like a dream. It was worth waiting until I could give it my best shot.

Anyway, this one is called Chambersburg from the Loyal Union Sampler book by Jennifer Chiaverini. It’s got forty five dinky pieces and finishes at six inches square. I’ll definitely make this block again in a larger format. There’s so much that could be done with colour placement to make secondary patterns.

Chambersburg Here’s where I’m at now.

LUS 16 Blocks

It’s back to Y-seams for the next two blocks. I promise not to whinge!

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. claire93

     /  November 13, 2016

    gosh, those triangles that make up central star must be tiny!

    Reply
  2. I love this one! Great idea to make it larger so it’s not so fiddly, that way you can enjoy the effect without the gritted teeth!

    Reply
  3. helen mckendry

     /  November 13, 2016

    Hi There Helen here just wanting to know where can I get all the blocks that you have made would like to make a couple of knee rugs with some of these blocks please.

    Cheers Helen

    Reply
  4. witchylin

     /  November 13, 2016

    Considering the number of pieces I think you have galloped along with this block. I feel for you with the Y seams in the next blocks. This Loyal Union Sampler Quilt truly is a labour of love.

    Reply
    • I couldn’t resist making a start on the next block this afternoon and I’ve done half of the y-seams already. I think it could be getting easier 😉

      Reply
  5. It looks fantastic! Quilt is coming along so nicely!

    Reply
    • It’s strange how picking this project back up again after so long has got me newly enthused. I’ll try to keep it going this time 🙂

      Reply
  6. That is impressively accurate for so many dinky pieces.

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

