Loyal Union Sampler Blocks 12, 13 and 14/121

I eventually managed the Y-seams on this block using the sewing machine. The photo was taken in poor light but waiting for the time when there is good daylight again could take months. So here it is. This one is called California. I’m pleased with how it turned out. It’s the first block in the second row of the quilt.

California

Block 13 is called Camp Curtin. Nice and easy peasy this one🙂.

Camp Curtin

Finally, my favourite of the latest blocks, Campfire. I think I’ll make more of these in a larger size for another project.

Campfire

It’s back to Y-seams for the next block and they definitely won’t go through the machine this time. Believe me, I’ve tried! Oh well, I had to learn how to hand stitch patchwork at some point.

This is what the quilt looks like so far. I can’t promise rapid progress with the next block.

LUS 14 BlocksIf you’d like to make this quilt, you’ll find it in the Loyal Union Sampler book by Jennifer Chiaverini.

Leave a comment

23 Comments

  1. witchylin

     /  November 7, 2016

    Y seams Aghhhhh! I admire your patience in completing them. It really is looking good. As you know I have the book too but it will be a l o n g time before I attempt any of those blocks. So far I would award you 10 out of 10 for the finished blocks.

    Reply
    • Thank you for the high score🙂 All’s well that ends well with the Y-seams. I’m sure you’ll have a go at this one at some point in the future. It’s challenging and trying my patience but very rewarding too.

      Reply
  2. Well done. Be Blessed because you’re, Mtetar

    Reply
  3. It’s nice to see this project start up again, and I hope the remaining blocks give you less and less trouble as you go along.

    Reply
  4. Allison

     /  November 8, 2016

    I am just in awe! Beautiful x

    Reply
  5. More beauties. Have you got a finish date in mind for your quilt or are you just going with the flow?

    Reply
  6. Fabulous progess 😊

    Reply
  7. claire93

     /  November 8, 2016

    3 in one post! wow you have been busy.

    Reply
  8. They look fabulous. I am in awe🙂

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

