An Unbirthday Finish

You may remember, way back in August last year, that I began making some green saw tooth star blocks with an unbirthday present from my lovely friend Claire. She sent me some fabric pieces, all slightly larger than 10 inches square as a surprise gift. I chopped each of them into four 5 inch squares and set to work.

IMG_20150726_122402028I had enough to make 25 stars.

IMG_20150727_113114115They looked lovely all laid out together and I rearranged them over and over again to get the best distribution of colours. The next photos were taken in very poor light.

IMG_20151127_183020850Then I had a brainwave… What if I added some Irish chain blocks? I had some coordinating solids that would look nice and then I’d have a much bigger quilt.

IMG_20160426_154551256When sewing them together, it’s a good idea to pay attention or you might make a mistake like I did. OOPS!

IMG_20160430_143806881Thankfully it wasn’t too difficult to put right. Now, after quilting and binding, I have a lovely happy dance to share🙂IMG_20160625_162659I was quite shocked to look back through my posts and find that I’d originally received these fabrics last August. It’s taken almost a year to get them all sewn up. Better late than never.

IMG_20160625_162317955Thank you so much again Claire. I couldn’t have made this without your very kind unbirthday gift. I hope you like what I made🙂

Previous Post
Leave a comment

30 Comments

  1. That is one really lovely quilt. What fun to have made it entirely from what you had to hand. The Irish Chain blocks were an inspired addition, because the new layout really gives those stars space to breathe, but showcases them at the same time.

    Reply
    • Thank you Kate. Sometimes it’s best to just stop, take a step back and think. I usually plan a quilt from start to finish. With this one I just made the stars with what Claire sent because I enjoy making them. I was never really sure what they would turn into. That’s most unlike me🙂

      Reply
  2. claire93

     /  June 29, 2016

    I totally approve of what you made ^^ and I think it was a brilliant idea to add the Irish chain which sets the stars off so well and gives you a lovely big quilt ^^

    Reply
  3. Very fresh and beautiful!

    Reply
  4. Love the colors and the addition of the Irish chain blocks really makes the stars pop!

    Reply
  5. Me too: I think the Irish Chain setting was a perfect idea. A beautiful quilt! Love the colors.

    Reply
  6. The addition of the Irish Chain really complements those stars and I absolutely love the colours. I bet Claire is delighted to see her unbirthday present transformed into such a gorgeous quilt.

    Reply
  7. witchylin

     /  June 30, 2016

    Just gorgeous, like all your quilting.

    Reply
  8. What a wonderful quilt Avis… the combination with Irish chain blocks is magnificent!

    Reply
    • I think I might use the Irish chains more often to highlight blocks. It almost makes the stas look as though they are set “on point”.

      Reply
  9. That looks beautiful. I love how the Irish chain blocks transform it into something really special🙂

    Reply
  10. Irish Chain is a great showcase for these beautiful fabrics

    Reply
  11. Denby

     /  July 2, 2016

    It looks great. Love the colours.

    Reply
    • Thank you. I really enjoyed making it and it was great to eventually turn the pile of stars into something practical🙂

      Reply
  12. Fantastic – you put together a wonderful quilt! I love the stars surrounded by the Irish chain. 🙂

    Reply
  13. What a great idea, adding those Irish chains🙂 It´s a great quilt!!

    Reply
  14. Only a year to sew them up? That sounds very good to me!
    We all make those kinds of oopsies. Thankfully, they are not too hard to fix and the result is beautiful.
    I like how your cross-over Irish chain bits are slightly bigger. (I am sure they have a proper name, but I do not know it.) I have never thought to do that.

    Reply
    • Yes, I wanted them to pop, so bigger and darker was intentional. I’ve seen some 3D looking Irish Chain style blocks lately, made with chain squares gradually getting larger and smaller. With the right colour placement, they could be fabulous. Something else to try…

      Reply
  15. A lovely fresh and crisp looking quilt! It took me a while to see the “oops”! 🙂

    Reply
    • Thank you. It was one of the last seams I did that day and I probably should have packed up earlier. Loss of concentration I think🙂

      Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

