A lovely surprise!

Isn’t it wonderful when a surprise package drops through the letterbox? It’s even better when that package contains something as gorgeous as this.

IMG_20160625_163230207

It’s a mini quilt, sent to me by my great friend Jule from Germany. Jule writes a fantastic blog called Beyond the Boudoir. I can’t thank her enough for taking the time to make something so beautiful for me.

IMG_20160625_163310360 I love moving it around and looking at it from different angles.

IMG_20160625_163329414 The fabric is folded and sewn along the raw edges, giving a 3D effect. Piecing perfection! I must try it myself. Thank you so much Jule 🙂

Leave a comment

22 Comments

  1. Gorgeous. It seems to glow!

    Reply
  2. An unexpected gift from a special friend makes the world just a little nicer. 🙂

    Reply
  3. witchylin

     /  June 26, 2016

    katechiconi is right it does glow. The fabrics are lovely and the folding rather than stitching makes it very different. It is a very special gift,made with love, I know you will treasure it.

    Reply
  4. I’d love to see your version of the pattern. 🙂

    Reply
  5. claire93

     /  June 26, 2016

    this is a really stunning piece! Well done Jule, and lucky you ^^

    Reply
  6. Gorgeous colors and interesting technique!!!!!

    Reply
  7. That’s beautiful!

    Reply
  8. That is really lovely – the choice of different tones works so well. How will you display it?

    Reply
    • I’ve carefully attached a small strip of fabric to the back and it’s hanging in my hallway. The strip is just below the binding so you can’t see it when it’s hanging. It looks fab!

      Reply
  9. wow very beautiful

    Reply
  10. Gorgeous Jule & lucky Avis.

    Reply
  11. Such a beautiful gift!

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

