Doctor Who’s Tardis

Hello everyone,

I’m sorry I’ve been away for so long. I’m not able to spend much time at the sewing machine or the laptop at the moment so I’ve been concentrating on hand sewing which you can see on my other blog. It’s so much easier to pick up and put down a hand stitched project when you only have a few odd minutes to spare here and there.

Anyway, a few weeks ago, I was browsing the internet for inspiration for future projects, as you do, and I found this free pattern. I’m not a particular fan of Doctor Who but one of my friends enjoys the programme and I was looking for a small project to keep me out of trouble. So, I made my own version of the pattern and this is how it turned out.

IMG_20160407_132118726

I had wanted to make a mug rug initially but it sort of grew into a mini quilt, suitable for a wall-hanging or table topper or whatever my friend decides to do with it. I added some personal touches by embroidering the white text onto black evenweave and also printed the door notice and the St. John Ambulance logo onto fabric before the final piecing took place. Here’s a close up.

IMG_20160407_132135903 I finished off with some blue metallic thread window panes and door details. You may notice the mistake in the text on the door. Well, technically it isn’t a mistake. I found out all sorts of information about the various versions of the tardis from here. You will see that the words I’ve used did actually appear on one version of the tardis prop.

Anyway, I had lots of fun making this and my friend is really happy with it too. That makes me smile🙂

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

31 Comments

  1. witchylin

     /  May 26, 2016

    The perfect gift for a Dr. Who fan. You always chose such suitable projects for friends. You chose a lighthouse for me and of course the gorgeous cushion you made for me last year and the gorgeous charm pack I received for my Birthday this year. You always give other people Happy Dances.🙂

    Reply
  2. claire93

     /  May 26, 2016

    this is a simply splendid piece of sewing and quilting, with such an eye for detail.
    Very interesting, the link you included on the history of the Tardis. I used to love Dr Who, when it was John Pertwee and Tom Baker. By the time Tom Baker did his transformation I had grown out of it. Mind you, I can remember hiding behind the sofa when those Daleks came out screaming “We will exterminate you” ^^

    Reply
    • I was terrified of the Daleks and the music was scary too. When I was a kid, me and my older brother went to the fun fair together. There was a Dalek machine that you could sit inside. I’d never seen one of those before. My brother put me inside and then put the coins in the money slot. That made the Dalek voices shout EXTERMINATE! I couldn’t escape quick enough. Brothers can be so nice to little sisters sometimes…not LOL

      Reply
  3. You really have taken the detail to a whole new level! Most of us would have been content to just indicate the logo and notice with a shape. It’s fabulous and I’m sure she’s going to be thrilled with it!

    Reply
  4. I’m not a Dr Who fan myself but I know a lot of people who would love to have that quilt block. Well done.

    Reply
  5. I’m still admiring all the details again and again. It is sitting propped up to a cushion on my sofa. I simply love it.🙂

    Reply
  6. Lucky friend that gets this mini quilt. Super piecing and quilting. Avis, it is always a pleasure to see your finished pieces!

    Reply
    • Thank you Barbora. I don’t usually make arty things. I find them too difficult but the tardis makes a great quilt block.

      Reply
  7. I have friends and family members who would love to have something like this. Will I make one for them? Probably not! ;- ) You did a fabulous job, especially with the finer details.

    Reply
  8. My daughters are both big Dr. Who fans so I won’t show them this in case I get bombarded with requests for something similar.

    Reply
  9. Dr Who, gr8 project. One day, another item to my to do list

    Reply
  10. It made me smile too🙂 Great mini quilt!

    Reply
  11. I used to hide behind the sofa like Claire, but I like the new series too, even if I am a bit slow to catch up.

    Reply
  12. Fabulous Avis. Also checked your pinwheel tutorial. Its brilliant, looking forward to giving pinwheel a go once girls quilts are completed. Thank you

    Reply
  13. Love Dr Who!

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

