The Loyal Union Sampler Block 11/121

Hello everyone,

I’m so pleased I’ve managed to get the top row of the Loyal Union Sampler finished this month. Block 11 is called Broken Window and you can find it in the book by Jennifer Chiaverini.

Broken Window (2)

This was a great exercise in fitting 56 pieces of fabric into a six inch square. Now that the top row is done, I can see that this project is achievable for me … eventually😉 Considering the first row has taken almost 13 months to complete, I could maybe have the blocks finished by 2028. Then there’s all the sashing, cornerstones, borders…not to mention the quilting. Fun, fun, fun!

Here’s how the top line will look when the blocks are sewn together.

LUS 11 Blocks Have fun sewing!

Next Post
Leave a comment

18 Comments

  1. Growing nicely

    Reply
  2. It must feel like a real achievement to have that top row finished.

    Reply
  3. claire93

     /  March 1, 2016

    well done on getting that top row finished: only 110 to sew lol

    Reply
  4. witchylin

     /  March 1, 2016

    Well done getting the top row blocks completed. There is a lot to it and as the pieces are so small it must be hard on the eyes. I will look forward to 2030 and seeing the whole quilt finished. That will make me a very old lady. LOL. It really does look great in your favourite shades. So different from the one in the book.

    Reply
    • I’m deliberately going very slowly to savour this project and I have to be in the right mood to make each block. The next one has Y-seams I think. I daren’t look ahead!

      Reply
  5. You’ve broken the drought, and now it should hopefully get a bit easier to maintain momentum. That top row looks great. I wonder how it will play alongside the second row….?

    Reply
    • Now I’m thinking the first three blocks need to be re-done. I want to use more of the royal blue. I’ll keep going for a while and see how I feel later. One of these days I’ll leave a pattern alone.

      Reply
      • Maybe let them be, but balance things by using the lighter blue beneath a couple of them on the next row? And frankly, expecting you to leave a pattern alone is like telling the sun not to shine. You cannot help making the thing your own, which I completely sympathise with!

        Reply
        • I’ve almost decided to ditch the 30’s blue altogether. I seem to be drifting into making the blocks more striking as I go along. If that continues I’ll do the first ones again but I’ll let it simmer for a while.

          Reply
  6. Nice block, but it must have been tuff to sew🙂

    Reply
  7. I think I would have to sew with a magnifying glass🙂 Wonderful work Avis🙂
    Izz

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

