The Loyal Union Sampler Block 6/121

Hi everyone,

It’s been a long time since this project rose to the top of my works in progress. I can now share block 6 of my Loyal Union Sampler from the book by Jennifer Chiaverini. This one is called Augusta and it’s got 33 tiny pieces. The pointy bits are very skinny and the whole block will finish at 6 inches. I had great fun making it.

AugustaI’ve found that, for me, the best way to do this project is to have a series of strips accurately cut to different widths and then to slice off the bit I need for a square, rectangle, triangle or whatever. All of my strips are labelled with the width. This way, I don’t have any nasty scraps leftover. Scraps are not allowed in my sewing room if I can help it😉

LUS Organisation (2) Here’s what my virtual LUS looks like now.

LUS 6 Blocks Hopefully, it won’t be long before I get to block 7!

Leave a comment

30 Comments

  1. claire93

     /  January 29, 2016

    any method to save time and fabric is excellent.
    Augusta looks lovely and pointy – well done ^^

    Reply
  2. Claudia W

     /  January 29, 2016

    I really like your tip for cutting the different widths and cut as you need to. That seems like such a time saver as well!

    Reply
    • Yes, I just drop the whole lot in a box with the book and I’m quickly ready to go again on the next block when I feel like a challenge.

      Reply
  3. Your block is perfect, as always! I’m the type who gets despondent if there’s too much still to do on a quilt, so your lovely chart recording progress would discourage me, but I can see it is a wonderful tool for arranging the blocks once you have more done.

    Reply
    • The chart will spur me on. I won’t be rearranging the blocks as I intend stick “Loyally” to the original sampler. I’m pleased I don’t need to think about that bit😉

      Reply
  4. Love your block! Scraps aren’t allowed in my sewing space either…nasty beasties.

    Reply
  5. I’m believing it won’t. Blessings Always, Mtetar

    Reply
  6. witchylin

     /  January 30, 2016

    That is the nicest block so far. It is certainly turning into a l o n g project but you have a great idea to save time. Much less waste too.

    Reply
  7. A wonderful block. 6″ is tiny…you managed the points so nicely!!! 💙😊

    Reply
  8. Wow, the precision on those points is amazing. Gorgeous block🙂

    Reply
  9. Small is definitely beautiful in this instance. It looks so neat and perfect.

    Reply
  10. 1marylou

     /  January 31, 2016

    Such intensity and precision. Amazing work!

    Reply
  11. Wow. It’s perfect. That’s all I can say lol.

    Reply
  12. That is a beautiful block!

    Reply
  13. This is coming together nicely.
    I used a loose version of your strip method for Dear Jane. I had background strips in various widths, but they were NOT labelled neatly.

    Reply
    • It’s much easier with the strips. I would get in an awful mess with loads of scraps. It’s also easy to put away and get started again this way.

      Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

