These are a few of my favourite things…

Hello everyone,

Are you singing the song from The Sound of Music?

Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens,
Bright copper kettles and warm woollen mittens,
Brown paper packages tied up with string,
These are a few of my favourite things.

I’m so excited because it’s November and that means it’s my turn to receive my little packages of quilt blocks made by all the other participants in the Foot²Freestyle block swap organised by Kate and Sue. I’ve chosen to receive blocks in bright blues and purples. Just in case my fellow swappers are still looking for inspiration, I’m showing a selection of some of my favourite things that I’ve made over the last couple of years in those colours.

I love traditional, symmetrical blocks, and although I like lots of different types of fabrics, my favourites are blenders, marbles, batiks and solids. This is probably my most favourite of all the quilts I’ve made. It’s huge and it’s bright. Click here to see the original post which has more photos.

Image

Next up is a very simple tote bag which now has a large purple button for the fastening instead of a pin. I went through a bit of a bag making phase. Click here to see the original post.

Image

Finally, a little bag which features some of my late Aunt Edith’s lace from her craft box. There’s a link to a really good tutorial that I used here. If you want to read my original post, click here.

CIMG3489

I had thought about making my own three blocks a while ago but decided it might be better for me to wait until I’ve seen what the other ladies send me first. There are eleven other crafters taking part, so I’ll receive 33 blocks and then make 3 of my own.

I wonder whose blocks will drop on the doormat first. I promise to show them here as soon as they arrive. However, you may prefer to have a sneak preview. Kate and Sue’s blogs (links above) will be showing all the blocks that have been posted to me so far. I won’t be looking so please don’t tell me what you see. I’m waiting for the postie to call with my surprises 🙂

This month, I’m going to try to get ahead and make the blocks for Miss December. I’m off to have a look around her blog to see what kind of blocks she likes best before I get started.

Happy crafting!

Avis x

Previous Post
Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. witchylin

     /  November 2, 2015

    Those colours are wonderful. What a beautiful quilt. Like the bags too/

    Reply
    • It was one of my first quilts. The blocks are 12 inches square so it made a large quilt very quickly. I learned so much while making this one.

      Reply
  2. Well, that should definitely give the F2F ladies a good idea of what to aim for! I’m glad to see that the fabrics I’ve pulled out of my stash should go nicely, and you can count on seeing some of the fabrics you liked for my CoH quilt featuring too.

    Sadly, in addition to typos, I’m also finding that the last few letters on each line of this post are being cut off; something weird is going on with your blog. I am carefully *not* singing that song, or I’ll be at it all day and cursing!

    Reply
    • I love the fabrics you are using and look forward to my surprise 🙂
      Regarding the typing errors….I found that the problem was with my blog writer’s link to WordPress. Initially, I looked back at the post in the WordPress editor and it looked fine but it wasn’t fine in my actual post. I tried copying and pasting the correct draft and updating the post but that didn’t work. So, I decided to re-link Live Writer (the blog writer that I use) with WordPress and it worked. I’m using an old WordPress theme and although Live Writer has linked up OK, I have been informed that it can’t link all the features of my blog so I assume WordPress have altered the theme settings. So far, it’s sorted as far as I need it to be. Time will tell whether I’ll have any further issues. If so, I might need to change the theme.

      Reply
  3. nettyg

     /  November 3, 2015

    Thanks for the ‘heads-up’ Avis, I’ve just pulled some fabrics so I can make a start, and I think they’ll do very nicely……now to find those perfect blocks. This is Nanette, btw, WordPress won’t let me comment as that though!?

    Reply
    • Hi Nanette, I didn’t think I would be so excited. I can’t wait to see what you’ve all been up to but I won’t peep I promise 🙂

      Reply
  4. Such a great idea. Will have to tip toe over and check out those blocks…..hehehe……………

    Reply
  5. How exciting!!!!!!!

    Reply
  6. claire93

     /  November 3, 2015

    you’ve done it now!
    “when the dog bites, when the bee stings, when I’m feeling sad, I simply remember my favourite things and then I don’t feeeeeeeeeel so baaaaaaaaaaad” lol

    Reply
  7. I won’t mention anything I might see on Mme Chiconi’s blog. Lips totally sealed. Enjoy the blocks as they arrive.

    Reply
  8. dezertsuz

     /  December 20, 2015

    I love your quilt. Those are terrific colors together, and I always like blocks where I’ve used them. Thanks for sharing it. I also love batiks! Can never get enough.

    Reply
    • I’ve got two packs of Bali Pops in my stash. I love them so much that I can’t cut into them. I occasionally get them out of the packs, lay them across the table and neatly fold them away again. One day, I’ll find a way to use them but I’m waiting for a special idea or two before I do.

      Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

