Making something special…

Hi everyone,

Some of you may remember that my daughter was travelling in India a while ago and she brought lots of lovely fabrics home for me to play with. If you can’t remember what they look like, or you missed that post, click here.

I have finally got around to making a start with some of them. I can’t describe how much fun we both had opening up the box where I’d stored them all safely. It brought back many happy shopping memories for my daughter. She was almost daring me to cut into a silk sari and I very nearly did. Will I ever be able to do that? Of course I will! For now, I’ve chosen all the fabrics that had a green or teal colour and teamed them up with some of my solids.

The photos don’t do the fabrics justice. I’ve tried to take the photos on different days with different levels of light but the richness of colour simply doesn’t come through.

CIMG4250

I think most of the cotton fabrics have been screen printed by hand but some are really special and sparkly 🙂 They have raised hand painted accents which have probably been done using wooden block stampers with a thick paint paste.

CIMG4249

The good thing is that the paint can withstand pressing with a hot iron. I really do wish I could show you the true colours of these fabrics. These two photos were taken in the same room at the same time but the fabrics look so different when they are exactly the same grrr!

Anyway, you are probably wondering why I chose to make New York Beauty blocks. The answer is that I really enjoyed making some for my friend Annett over at Knettycraft recently and I just had to make some more. This time, they are only one quarter the size of the last ones I made. These will finish at 6 inches when sewn together. I don’t know what’s going on with me at the moment but I’m just loving working with small blocks.

I have plans for more sewing with the Indian fabrics but not yet. There are a few more urgent tasks to complete first and then I’ll get back to work on these. This is going to be a long term project and I’m in no hury. I have a plan in my head which is constantly evolving.

What’s the longest project that you’ve had in your imagination before it came to fruition?

Back to sewing….

Avis x

Leave a comment

23 Comments

  1. I have seen those wonderful Indian fabrics for real and they are amazing. I love the block you have made and it sets of those fabrics so well.
    You ask what is the longest project we have had before completing it. Well mine isn’t completed yet however it is the next on the list and I have done more to it in the last few weeks. I got the fabric and the design in 1999. :-0

    Reply
  2. claire93

     /  August 29, 2015

    these are gorgeous rich colours – look forward to seeing the next blocks.
    As to my longest project – it has to be D9P lol.

    Reply
  3. These are gorgeous Avis!!!
    Love the colours even in these pictures!
    Esther

    Reply
  4. Oh Avis, these blocks are looking beautiful – even the colours do! What beautiful fabrics! I saw your post first on my mobile – and the colours were looking quite different. But it doesn’t matter, your blocks are gorgeous!!! I always like how you use all the solids in your blocks – I am very unexperienced in using solids and find it much more difficult using solids than patterned fabrics. I’m afraid I meanwhile have a lot of long term projects… making my first quilt was one – I was an experienced knitter but I’ve a long time dreamed of a selfmade quilt; and so I asked via postcrossing for fabrics for a quilt (in that way I was obliged to sew one). And I suppose my Dear Jane will be a really long term project… there are so many other things in the foreground (like F2F, I recently joined another swap – scrappytriparoundtheworld via flickr, a quilt for my mother, a quilt for my son…). And also some scrap-using-quilts will take a long time because I only work on it from time to time. But I have to admit that New York beauties are waiting for me in any case!
    Thank you for linking to my blog!

    Reply
    • Hi Annett, I also have a lot of quilts in progress but most of them are finished tops and are ready to quilt. Only recently have I started to make more long term projects that I can choose to sew more of as my mood changes. As long as I’m crafting I’m happy, whether it is knitting, crochet or sewing of any kind.

      Reply
  5. Just beautiful, both the fabrics and the use you’ve put them to. Those colours are very you, aren’t they, and I think the finished thing, however it turns out, is going to be gorgeous. At present my longest running project is an Ohio Star quilt which I managed to warp past my skills to redeem at the time. I think I can bring it back now, and the Husband wants it when I do, but there’s so much else to do first!

    Reply
    • I also have an Ohio Star quilt in progress. It’s lilac and purple and white and it’s huge! It’s one of the first tops I made and I still haven’t quilted it so it’s about 6 years old now.

      Reply
      • Mine isn’t going to be huge, but the fabrics are beautiful and I hate the waste of the thing sitting ruined in a drawer.

        Reply
  6. Awesome points there. Look forward to seeing the rest

    Reply
  7. I will imagine the vibrant colours, as I can see some of what you mean in the photos. Only 6 inches finished? Gasp!

    Reply
    • It is sometimes frustrating that my camera doesn’t like certain colours but maybe I’ll get better pictures outdoors when the whole thing is done. It could be a while!

      Reply
  8. Gorgeous fabrics, I’ve just made a dress from a silk sari I got on e-bay, I kept it for ages trying to pluck up the courage to sew it, it was just so stunning, I love the dress I made out of it though!

    Reply
  9. Your indian fabrics are so beautiful and I like the way you used them! I´m also in to making smaller blocks. It´s really a challenge for me and I only just started. Almost all my project have long planning before starting sewing them. Some f them are still just plans 🙂

    Reply
  10. I don’t have enough fingers and toes to count how far back two of my projects go. They are queen sized, so easy to put off while I do something else smaller. Two are samplers, only half planned and the other a medallion. Some day. 🙂

    Love what you are doing with the Indian fabrics. I have some used kimono silk that is begging for an idea.I almost have one.

    Reply
  11. dezertsuz

     /  October 30, 2015

    I love seeing them, and those colors, even if not true, are wonderful. I have made a few curves like these, but it isn’t something I want to do often, much as I love the look. =) I even took a class in making them – and loved every one I made. Yours are wonderful!

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

