The Loyal Union Sampler Block 5/121

Good afternoon everyone,

What a gorgeous day it is today. We’ve got glorious sunshine, here beside the sea. Will today be our summer, I wonder? Actually, it is too hot for me at 21 degrees C, far too hot, but it didn’t stop me going for a walk along the cliff tops. The cool breeze was lovely.

The main reason I’m writing today is to share block 5 of my Loyal Union Sampler from the book by Jennifer Chiaverini. This one is called Antietam.

IMG_20150803_124241715It has been a while since I made the last block (four months) but I hadn’t forgotten about this sampler. It was always meant to be a long term project to pick up when I felt the need for a challenge. There are 29 pieces of fabric in this one which will finish at 6 inches square. I have added this block to the image of my finished quilt on the right of this page. There’s a long way to go but I’m in no hurry.

Avis x

Leave a comment

21 Comments

  1. claire93

     /  August 3, 2015

    gosh, that’s a mammouth task you’ve set yourself ^^
    A good job you’re not Kate (from Chiconia) with all her deadlines lol

    Reply
    • Ha-ha! No, this one is meant to be savoured. I really have to be in the mood to work this small.

      Reply
      • claire93

         /  August 4, 2015

        yes I realise this project is going to spread over several years probably. It will be your heirloom quilt ^^

        Reply
  2. That block turned out beautifully. I love watching your progress.

    Good job! 👍🏻😊

    Reply
  3. I see so much but one thing I really see is Folded Fabric Dinner Napkins. Great Work if Art, Mtetar

    Reply
  4. That is gorgeous. It looks so complicated but so beautifully lined up 🙂

    Reply
  5. witchylin

     /  August 3, 2015

    I think your choice of blues and white is innovative, So different from the colours shown in the book.

    Reply
    • I’ve just been admiring the stripey sashing on the one in the book but I think I’ll keep mine crisp, probably white…..you know me 😉

      Reply
  6. Beautiful, so intricate and tiny! This quilt is going to be like some gorgeous Arabic tile floor with all its blues and whites. (PS: Not *everything* I do has deadlines… I just find them helpful to motivate me.)

    Reply
    • I love those geometric tiles too. It’s very strange but I don’t usually like to have more than one project of a particular discipline on the go at once but I don’t mind with this one. I’ve actually started another long term patchwork project today. What’s getting into me?

      Reply
      • I think that’s the beauty of sampler quilts. You can pick them up, make one block and then put them away until either they start demanding attention, or you just feel like making something small.

        Reply
  7. Blue and white are my favorites. Love it.

    Reply
  8. Very nice. Reminds me of my farmers wife but more lively color

    Reply
    • Thank you. This one is pictured in Civil War prints on the front cover of the book but I just decided on blues because I like them 🙂 The Farmer’s Wife quilt is also on my to-do list.

      Reply
  9. You are too hot at 21C? We had a few degrees above that today and I was dancing about celebrating the sunshine and dry laundry. It feels like winter is ending and spring is thinking about turning up soon.

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

