Foot²Freestyle 2015 Blocks for July

blockswaplogo.png

Good afternoon everyone,

Three posts in two days! I can’t tell you how good it feels to be caught up with the blog posting. Next, I need to do some good housekeeping (which can wait) and much more blog reading.

In the meantime, I can show you my blocks for Miss July in the block swap. Miss July is my lovely friend Annett from Germany and she has confirmed her blocks have arrived safely. She had chosen to receive blocks with fabrics in orange, turquoise, green and white. It’s really strange how much longer I take to decide on blocks I’m making for other people. For myself, I’m so much more decisive. Anyway, in the end, I decided to try some curved seams. I haven’t done those before. Why? Because they create scraps and you all know by now that I don’t like scraps. In the end, I decided that if they didn’t turn out well, I could always keep the blocks for myself and recycle the fabric for something else. I was initially thinking of Drunkard’s Path style blocks but then I saw New York Beauties and just had to try them.

Here’s the first one I made.

CIMG4191 (w)

I used the foundation paper pieced method and it worked a treat. I was already hooked on NYBs! I love solids and marbled prints and I wanted to let the NYB pattern do the talking. These blocks take forever to make. This one took more than a day because the technique was almost new to me. I enjoyed the process so much, I made a different one.

CIMG4199 (w)

This time adding some of what I had left of a small piece of gorgeous batik fabric that I bought years ago. I love batiks too 🙂 I probably would never have learned how to sew NYBs if it hadn’t been for this block swap and I know I will be making lots more of these for myself. The next one was a little bit more complicated, not more difficult, just requiring a bit more patience but I was sewing them quicker now.

CIMG4200 (w)

There were more bands and more points to match. This was all so exciting but it was at an end for now.

I laid the blocks out, putting them next to each other and rotating them. Then I thought, how silly it would be to give someone only three quarters of a circle. Besides, why did the fun have to stop at three? So I made another one LOL. This one is the spikiest of all!

CIMG4198 (w)

The block swapping idea is proving to be a lot of fun. I’m trying new techniques and blocks and if it doesn’t work out, no problem, I’ll keep the blocks for myself. So far, so good. I’m learning lots and that’s a good thing too 🙂

If you want to see the blocks that other swappers have sent, visit Kate or Sue. They are posting a gallery of all of the blocks sent so far.

I hope you might want to try something new soon 🙂

Avis x

Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. claire93

     /  July 17, 2015

    these are really “awesome” (to coin the language of today’s youth lol). I really love the two with the batik – but all four blocks are stunning!

    Reply
  2. witchylin

     /  July 17, 2015

    I do like the quarter circle block. You could have a lot of fun with lots of those blocks in different colours.

    Reply
    • I agree. I’m thinking of making a lot of smaller blocks, probably 6 inch ones with batiks.Bali Pops spring to mind 🙂

      Reply
  3. Drat, why is my month so far away…? More NYBs for me, please Avis – unless you’re sick of them by that time!

    Reply
    • Noted for future reference 🙂 I don’t think I could ever get sick of making these.

      Reply
      • I reckon you may get a few more requests, and even if you don’t, keep making them, they’re fabulous!

        Reply
        • I will. I promise 🙂 I was wondering whether it’s the solids with just a hint of print that makes them stand out. I might do all solids in zany colours. Having said that yours are going to be fairly zany with the colours you’ve chosen. Excellent! I’ll start with yours LOL.

          Reply
          • I have trouble viewing black, grey and white with a bit of lime green as zany, but I’ll take whatever you’re dishing out!

            Reply
  4. Oh wow! They are amazing. I’m in awe 🙂

    Reply
  5. They are wonderful! Only with paper piecing could you get such great points. Are you ready to make a NYB for yourself into a quilt? 🙂

    Reply
  6. I find I am both more adventurous and more indecisive for other people. Why is that?
    I am going to have to make some New York beauties one day. They are such … beauties!

    Reply
  7. dezertsuz

     /  August 1, 2015

    Every since I saw your blocks on Kate’s site (and first ones, too, complicated looking as they are!), I’ve loved them. You put so much time and effort into them! You don’t need to be that complicated on mine, unless you are just enjoying making something that is, and they don’t have to be perfect, because I’m not, at all! Everything gets used, though. 😉 So, feel completely free to do whatever it is that makes your heart sing for August.

    Reply
    • Thank you 🙂 I had a good look through your blog before deciding what to make for you, trying to match your taste. Anyway, I’ve posted them today. You should receive them in a couple of weeks. It’s so exciting!

      Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

