Foot²Freestyle: Time to play!

Hello everyone,

I have news……QUILTY news! That’s news of the very best kind in my opinion.

block swap logo

Today is the launch of a block swap I’m taking part in called Foot Square Freestyle. Twelve quilters from across the globe, including yours truly, will be busy making three, one foot square blocks for each of the other eleven ladies in the group. Our names were drawn out of a hat to see who would be receiving their blocks on each of the next twelve months. I’m Miss November🙂 However, Miss June is Esther from The Netherlands. She will be receiving eleven scrumptious packages from all of the other swappers this month. She will make three more blocks of her own, making a total of 36 blocks. In fact, she can add as many as she wishes. She might even decide to do something completely different with her collection. Who knows? All will be revealed later🙂 My blocks are ready to post so keep an eye on your letter box Esther!

Anyway, this isn’t just any old block swap. It has been expertly devised and organised by Kate and Sue from Australia. So, thanks to both ladies for getting this swap underway.

We were all asked to choose up to three colours for the blocks we wished to receive. Foot Square Freestyle is all about freedom and freestyle. We have all entered into the spirit of having fun with the blocks we give and receive. I chose to request bright blue and purple blocks and I am really excited to see how everyone interprets my brief. That’s all part of the fun isn’t it? Part of me can’t wait until the blocks I’ve made are received thousands of miles from here and another part of me is thinking “What if she doesn’t like them?” That’s quite scary for me. Well, I suppose they could always send them back because I LOVE THEM! LOL

Here is a photo of my favourite quilt that you may have seen here before. I finished it about three years ago.

Blue and purple quilt

These weren’t complicated blocks to sew. I think I made the entire quilt top in a few days and it’s a whopper. It’s the colours that make me love this quilt so much. That’s why I chose them for my swap blocks. I love solids and marbled fabrics most of all, so if my swaps have some of those it would make me very happy. I’ve got quite a long time to wait for my turn and I know my parcels will be held up in the Christmas post. That doesn’t stop me being excited already🙂

If you stop by now and again I’ll keep you up to date with our progress. Isn’t sewing fun?

I hope you have lots of quilty sunshine today where you live.

Avis x

Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. claire93

     /  June 1, 2015

    it’s going to seem like a long month, having to wait until the end of June before all is revealed for the first Miss.

    Reply
  2. witchylin

     /  June 1, 2015

    I love those colours Avis and the quilting.
    What happened to the sunshine. Right now the rain is beating against the window and the fire is lit to keep the house cosy. Tell me again we live in the northern hemisphere and it is June ‘cos I think we have joined Australia for winter.😦

    Reply
    • Speaking as someone enjoying the Australian winter, I’d love to send you some of our mild 26C weather! Mind you, it’s a different story down south, where they’re having a bumper snow season! Hopefully all the colour and quiltyness that’s going to be seen over the next 12 months will keep everyone in cheerful spirits!

      Reply
    • As far as I’m concerned it can rain, snow and blow until the end of June LOL. Not really, it’s just that I’ll be able to relax a bit by then. I’m sure everyone else would like to see Summer now🙂

      Reply
  3. You’re most welcome! It’s been a great pleasure to work with Sue to devise this block swap, which is within the capability of all quilters and will result in some really gorgeous and interesting quilts.

    Reply
  4. Miss October here😉. I have that ‘scary’ feeling too but I think everybody will get a really interesting mix of blocks which are bound to turn into some even more interesting quilts (or cushions, or whatever) and I can’t wait to see some of the photographs when they start appearing.
    As for sunshine, if it makes you feel any better, I live in the South of France and the weather has yet to develop into what I call acceptable for June. We’ll just have to keep moving further and further south until we tip over the edge into Spain.

    Reply
    • It’s a long time since I had a holiday in France. It was so beautiful but I’m not good in hot weather. As for our blocks, I think I’ll be staring at them and switching them around for a long time. I’ve decided not to make my own blocks until I have the other 33. Then I’ll try to blend in with what everyone else has made for me.

      Reply
  5. Hello Avis… as “Miss July” I’m looking forward to now started F2F too. I’m a bit excited sending bare blocks – without seam hiding back side – out into the whole wide world🙂 . Thank you for sharing the picture of your lovely blue&purple quilt and the advices concerning your fabric preferences. I like the combination of light blue and purple you have chosen.

    Reply
    • Hi Annett, I like all blues and purples. They remind me of bluebells and campanulas which I love. Don’t worry about the seams. Only one other person will see them. We will only be photographing the front😉

      Reply
  6. I really like your star quilt. The quilting on yours is so perfect.

    Reply
  7. I am going to be watching this bee with interest. I expect some fun blocks with the complete lack of rules!

    Reply
  8. I’m glad you showed this favorite quilt of yours. It will make choosing fabric for you blocks that much easier, even though I don’t have to think about yours immediately.🙂 I’ve made my blocks for Esther, now I’m thinking about what to make for Annett. Fun, fun, fun!

    Reply
    • I’ve made Esther’s and Annett’s blocks already. It has been so much fun. I never knew I had so many fabrics so it’s given me the chance to look through and enjoy my stash box again too🙂

      Reply
  9. A very nice machine quilting. Congratulations.

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

