Five photos – Five Stories #4

Good evening everyone!

This is the 4th part in a series of five. I was nominated by Connie at basildonkitchens to take part in the following challenge:

“Post a photo each day for five consecutive days and attach a story to the photo. It can be fiction or non-fiction, a poem or a short paragraph and each day nominate another blogger for the challenge”.

Here is my 4th photo.

CIMG2554

It’s a holiday snap today.

Some of you may have walked past this little building without even looking at it or realising it was there. It is located on the edge of Gibson Park, Melrose in the Scottish Borders. Apparently, it has been in existence since before 1890, though it does appear to have had a fair bit of restoration since then. If you look closely, just above the door you will see that it used to be a fire station. The horse drawn fire tender used to be housed inside (without the horse of course). At no bigger than a single car garage, this has to be the smallest fire station in the world…..unless you know better 😉

It’s now time for me to nominate another blog for this challenge. I’m nominating Gun from Rutigt. Gun is the Queen of Fabrics. She makes the most amazing things, especially from fabric scraps. I hope Gun will accept the challenge but if she doesn’t, her blog is always worth a visit anyway.

See you tomorrow with photo #5 🙂

Avis x

Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. I love the photo of the little firehouse! Hubby served as a fireman,so fire houses,truck and stations find a soft place in my heart.

    Reply
  2. claire93

     /  April 19, 2015

    what bit am I supposed to be looking at, above the door, which tells me this used to be a firestation?

    Reply
    • Maybe tilting your screen will help. It’s on the lintel right across the top of the door LOL. Failing that, new specs ROFL 😉

      Reply
  3. witchylin

     /  April 19, 2015

    That is really nice little building. You can see the words Fire Station right over the door but only if you look closely. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Some of us simply zoomed in on the photo, even with our specs on… I’m having fun visualising the Victorian fire tender that would have been stabled here, complete with canvas hoses, hand cranked pump and brass fittings.

    Reply
  5. Claudia W.

     /  April 19, 2015

    That is the cutest little firestation I have ever seen! Thank you for sharing it!

    Reply
  6. Good morning Avis! Lovely story again. So nice to imagine the horse and firemen there in old times. I hope you continue your great stories after the 5th. Have a lovely week! x Teje

    Reply
  7. Thank you for nominating me! I´ll give it a try, but I´m not sure I´m gonna fullfill the challenge 🙂
    Gun

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

