Five Photos – Five Stories #2

Hi everyone,

This is the 2nd photo in a series of five. I was nominated by Connie at basildonkitchens to take part in the following challenge:

“Post a photo each day for five consecutive days and attach a story to the photo. It can be fiction or non-fiction, a poem or a short paragraph and each day nominate another blogger for the challenge”.

Here is my 2nd photo.

IMG_20150417_165632471_HDR

I’m sticking with the gardening theme for now. It’s a true story. I can remember this like it was yesterday.

One cold and very windy winter’s night a few years ago, I was on my way home from work. The wind was the strongest I’d ever experienced and I remember being quite worried while driving, particularly along the seafront. The gusts of wind gripped the car and threatened to lift me off four wheels. I, in turn, gripped the steering wheel and wished I was home. This was the worst part of the journey that night. It was pitch black dark and, thankfully, most people had got themselves home earlier than I had, so there wasn’t too much traffic. I just wanted to be home, quickly and safely. Then everything would be OK and I could relax.

The first part of my journey from work was heading into the wind and that didn’t feel too bad. However, as I turned to go north towards my house on the cliffs, with the bitterly cold North Sea on my right, I began to think of damage. We always have damage, every time the wind is strong, especially from the east, we have damage. The ridge on the roof of our house runs north to south. Our longest fences around the property run north to south, perfect for the prevailing west winds to grab and throw as they please but everything has even less chance of staying put when the wind is straight off the sea, from the east. Thankfully, this doesn’t happen often but when it does, we get damage.

Anyway, I did get home safely that night but I had no way of knowing whether we had lost fences or roof tiles because it was so dark outside. It would have to wait until morning. I was home and that’s all that mattered for now.

It was time for dinner. I switched the oven on and began to prepare vegetables. I walked towards the sink to wash them and something caught my eye through the kitchen window, glinting in the pitch black outside. I saw it again, this time a bit higher and then again. I remember standing really still, watching for it again but in reality, it couldn’t have been for more than a couple of seconds. There was one final FLASH and a CLATTER of aluminium and glass. My beloved greenhouse came slamming to the ground. The entire structure had literally lifted off the ground with the force of one gust then wobbled and contorted in the sky like a giant jellyfish before my eyes. Then it was back to Earth with an almighty CRASH.

I still remember that horrible night, then waking up in the complete calm of the next morning to the sea of devastation that had been left behind by that awful east wind.

When I hear news of hurricanes and tornados around the world it always makes me think of the night my greenhouse took flight. Losing my greenhouse was nothing compared to what some people suffer at the hands of extreme weather.

Anyway, I lost all interest in greenhouse gardening after that. The crumpled, mangled greenhouse was eventually replaced and, according to Mr Fixit, “This one will never lift off”. It hasn’t. However, we’ve lost many panes of glass, and last autumn, the door blew off! We found it flat on the grass with all panes miraculously intact. As you can see from my photo, Autumn is still in my greenhouse and it is now Spring. I wonder whether it will ever be summer in there again.

I got a bit carried away there…..

It’s now time for me to nominate another victim lucky blogger for this challenge. I’m nominating Kate from Tall Tales From Chiconia. I know she is incredibly busy but hope she will accept. Kate is an amazingly generous and talented patchwork quilter and blogger. She has many other tricks up her sleeve too. Pop over and take a look at her blog.

See you tomorrow with photo #3🙂

Avis x

Leave a comment

21 Comments

  1. claire93

     /  April 17, 2015

    oh dear, definitely looks like your greenhouse needs some TLC.
    and what a horrific ending to your previous greenhouse!

    Reply
    • It needs a couple of panes of glass, the door hung back on the runners and a jolly good sweep out. Oh yes, and the glass cleaned LOL. I still can’t believe I saw the last one up in the air….but I did🙂

      Reply
  2. Aaargh! You nominated me! I so wish I could do it, but with only 6 weeks to hand quilt the quite large WWF quilt before it’s due for entry in the show, and several other moderately urgent jobs at home, I simply don’t have the time. I do wish I could play, it’s just that the timing is wrong. My apologies.

    Reply
  3. Claudia W.

     /  April 18, 2015

    I loved your story…not the content, the telling of it. I could picture myself along side you in that car! I’m glad we made it home okay…whew! Sorry about the destruction of the green house, but at least no lives or limbs were lost! I am enjoying your picture a day!

    Reply
  4. Congrats Kate! Be Blessed, Mtetar

    Reply
  5. Good morning, Avis! Very good story, I don’t say wonderful as the happenins was scary and bad. I guess our winds are not that strong because usually there is no damages. Once with very strong wind I was with ‘London’ and one morning big glass Top from the table on the veranta was missing?! After a long time searching I found it from the neighbours garden ‘standing’ towards the builded fence between the houses! Two men needed to lift it back to the veranta and over the table. Have a great day! Waiting for the next story! x teje

    Reply
    • It could have been so dangerous to have glass flying around. It shows how strong the wind must have been to lift your table glass! luckily it didn’t break🙂 The next photo is more calm. Avis x

      Reply
      • I have enjoyed your stories and I’m waiting to next one! x Teje

        Reply
        • Thank you Teje🙂 I’d be very happy to nominate your blog on my 5th post if you would like to accept the challenge. x

          Reply
          • Dear Avis, I’m trying to think if I could manage, but I’m affraid I just don’t have enough time now. I do appreciate and feel sad not to be able to join the fun. x Teje

            Reply
        • PS. I think you will love photo number 5. I’m just drafting it now. Let’s just say it has been inspired by your Forest QAL quilt😉

          Reply
  6. Great story. It wouldn’t be fun having that happen, but seeing it as it happened would be quite horrifying. I always worry about mine with high winds, but we’re a lot more sheltered here.
    Looking forward to tomorrow’s story.

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

