Five Photos – Five Stories #1

I have been invited by Connie of basildonkitchens to join the Five Photos, Five Stories Challenge:

“Post a photo each day for five consecutive days and attach a story to the photo. It can be fiction or non-fiction, a poem or a short paragraph and each day nominate another blogger for the challenge”.

I met Connie via her wonderful blog a couple of years ago. She is an amazing quilter, photographer and baker.

This challenge will take my blog away from the patchwork world for five days. I hope it’ll be fun for me to write and for you to read.

This is the first photo I want to share with you.

CIMG2675

Thankfully it isn’t what you may think at first sight🙂

Now this photo could probably have been taken almost anywhere in the world. I could ask you all to guess the location. Some of you may guess the country but I doubt anyone would ever guess where I found these.

Two years ago, I went on an amazing trip that I’ve waited (patiently) for decades to do. It was one of those trips that I thought would never happen. Every time I got close to fulfilling that dream, something happened to stop me going. I’m actually supposed to be away on holiday at the moment but one hour before I was due to leave home last week, another emergency changed my plans within a second. Just think, if I’d gone away on my holiday, you may never have seen this photograph or learned about the place where I found these boots.

I visited this location as part of a tour of the Outer Hebrides, a collection of islands off the north-west coast of Scotland. Each of the islands has its own personality.

Here are some facts about this particular island. You could call them clues. I wonder whether you will solve them and find the location…

This island is famous for a knitted jersey (sweater) that has no seams.

This island has only one road.

Local residents took control of the island in a community buy-out in 2006.

Approximate dimensions of the island 1.5 x 2.5 miles.

An event off the coast of this island was the inspiration for the novel entitled Whiskey Galore.

Barra lies to the south and South Uist lies to the north of this island.

Are you ready for the location? These boots were made for walking on Eriskay. It’s a beautiful place and the resident whose garden in which these boots are buried has a great sense of humour, don’t you agree? I wonder whether their ancestors were involved in the S.S.Politician incident. They certainly made us smile that day and we hadn’t had any alcohol🙂 Did you solve the clues?

When accepting this challenge I agreed to nominate another blogger. Yes Claire it’s you! If you read either of my blogs regularly, she’ll need no introduction. Why not hop over and see what she gets up to. There’s something for everyone. I hope you’ll accept the challenge Claire:-)

See you tomorrow with photo #2

Avis x

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. witchylin

     /  April 16, 2015

    I will look forward to seeing your pictures and stories over the next 5 days. Here’s hoping you will make it to the Outer Hebrides again and get loads more “funny” photographs. I agree that area of Scotland is beautiful.

    Reply
    • Hi Lin, I can’t promise that any more if the five photos from this challenge will be funny but I’d love to go back to the Outer Hebrides some day🙂

      Reply
  2. What a great picture! Nice story, too! 🙂

    Reply
  3. claire93

     /  April 17, 2015

    challenge accepted Avis ^^
    I bet that, even though Eriskay is such a small island, those boots attract many visitors when people stop off there! Do you think they scare the crows?

    Reply
    • I doubt many people actually see them because they were over someone’s garden wall. I don’t usually look over walls but we were leaning up against it having a break (its very hilly for walking around Eriskay) and as I turned to walk away, there they were!

      Reply
  4. Brilliant photo and I love that someone did that in their garden🙂

    Reply
    • I know. I rarely have my camera ready. It’s usually buried under a picnic but this one was worth squashing sandwiches for🙂

      Reply
  5. Dear Avis, I’m already waiting to see and read your next story – this was so exciting and fun! I couldn’t have guessed the place but I love Scotland and my sister’s hb is from there… hmm have to send him link to you! Have a lovely weekend! x Teje

    Reply
  6. Congrats Claire! Be Blessed, Mtetar

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

