The Loyal Union Sampler Block 4/121

Hi everyone,

Here is the fourth block of The Loyal Union Sampler from the book by Jennifer Chiaverini. It’s amazing what you can do with 45 tiny bits of fabric when you try. 

This block is called Anneke’s Choice.

Anneke's Choice (1) 

The angles were the most challenging yet but this is my first attempt and I’m sticking with it. There are no curved pieces but I sometimes look at it and see curves, especially from a distance. The finished block will be 6 inches square when sewn into the final quilt.

I hope you’ve all had a lovely crafty day🙂

Avis x

Leave a comment

36 Comments

  1. Wow, it looks great!

    Reply
  2. claire93

     /  April 8, 2015

    yes I can see curves too, although my brain tells me their straight ^^ Well done, you’re speeding along with this project. Hope you have a nice box to store you growing pile of blocks.

    Reply
  3. very pretty, i want to try a crochet pattern with this type of sampler🙂

    Reply
  4. Ooh, deliciously wonky looking whilst still being all disciplined straight lines. I love it! It looks as if someone has pinched it together in the middle.

    Reply
  5. That block is fab!!!! And I do see curves/wonkiness in such a wonderful way!!!!!!

    Reply
  6. Wow – I had to count when you said ’45’ – that’s a lot of pieces for one block! Looks great though, it’s a bit like a patchworked optical illusion🙂

    Reply
    • I promise it is completely flat. I questioned the fabric placement on this one but went with the pattern suggestion. I thought people may not appreciate there were 45 pieces from a distance……but I can always tell them.😉 It took more than a whole day to make it but I enjoyed every second.

      Reply
  7. Very, very pretty. some of these blocks look so sweet and innocent but when you count the pieces, WOW!

    Reply
  8. witchylin

     /  April 8, 2015

    I can see those curves too. This quilt it going to be a masterpiece.

    Reply
  9. That’s quite an optical illusion, and if it’s a 6″ block, I don’t even want to know how tiny the pieces were :-O
    It looks smashing though🙂

    Reply
  10. Avis I am loving this and you are inspiring me! jane

    Reply
  11. So you are gonna sew all the blocks in solid blue??? That´s a wonderful idea🙂
    Gun

    Reply
  12. The visual effects in these blocks are really great. I think the use of a monochromatic colour scheme probably increases that effect even more.

    Reply
  13. Wonderful reminds me of a storm at sea

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

