The Loyal Union Sampler – A New Challenge

Good morning everyone,

It’s time to embark on a new project. My sister bought me this gorgeous book from my wish list for my birthday last month. I’m sure many of you will already have this book and some may have even started to make the quilt. Have any my readers finished this quilt?…..I wonder.

CIMG4087

I read through the short introduction and decided on my colour scheme (which may change). This quilt is made up of 121 traditional blocks using a mixture of techniques. I’m looking forward to trying them all.

The first block is called Abel’s Favorite (US spelling) and I’ve got all of the little units made up. I followed the instructions to the letter and pressed all seams in the suggested directions but there is still going to be some bulk around the beaks of the flying geese. Here they are waiting to be put together. I hope I can make a reasonable job of it.

CIMG4068The finished block will be 6 x 6 inches so some of these pieces are very small and fiddly but that’s all part of the challenge I suppose. Friends and family have already told me that I’m mad for embarking on this project. My sister had no idea I intended to make the whole quilt when she bought the book. However, this is going to challenge me on so many levels and at the moment I’m up for it.

Wish me luck. I’ll probably need it!

Avis x

Leave a comment

30 Comments

  1. claire93

     /  March 13, 2015

    I’ll be here to cheer you along on this personal challenge – rather you than me ^^

    Reply
  2. witchylin

     /  March 13, 2015

    Good luck with this quilt Avis. I will be a couple of months behind you with it so I can cheat and see how your blocks turn out before i tackle them. LOL.

    Reply
  3. Wow, you really like to set yourself a challenge, don’t you? What a marvellous thing it’s going to be when it’s done….

    Reply
  4. You can do it and well. Be Blessed because you are Blessed, Mtetar

    Reply
  5. What a brilliant challenge. I’m really looking forward to seeing all these gorgeous blocks being made🙂

    Reply
  6. So far I have avoiced 4″ and 6″ block samplers…but I love to see what others do with them. Enjoy the process.

    Reply
    • I can’t say I’ve deliberately avoided them. I just haven’t had time to devote to smaller blocks. I’ve been admiring other people’s results, especially the Dear Jane quilt. That’s another one on my to-do list🙂

      Reply
  7. Challenging yes but so much fun. I am not familiar with the book but every block is different right? I think that’s the best kind. It will keep you engaged. You will love it!!!! Jane

    Reply
    • Yes, they are all different and I think there are a variety of techniques used too. I tend to do things my own way so I’m going to try to be more disciplined with this one and follow the instructions🙂

      Reply
  8. Beautiful block, and colors!

    Reply
  9. I loved that book. I never contemplated making the quilt though. I will be cheering you on, but don’t thin you need luck, just perseverance. I’m looking forward to follow along with your progress

    Connie 😃

    Reply
    • Thank you Connie. I haven’t read the novel but my friend enjoyed it too. I’ve got plenty of patience and I’m already driving my OH up the wall, taking hours and hours trying to get it just perfect LOL.

      Reply
  10. Not mad at all! I already miss sewing my Dear Jane blocks and look forward to starting another challenging or brain-teasing quilt one day – when I have a few of my other WIPs under control. They are such fun to make.

    Reply
    • Yes, your Dear Jane blocks were my inspiration to try this one. I may not have been vocal in recent months but I’ve been lurking in the background watching all the great creations coming from Granny Maud’s Girl. I think the Dear Jane one is at least a step up from this one. I’ll see how I do with this one first🙂

      Reply
  11. It will be wonderful fun Avis!!! My Dad bought me a book on the 1718 Coverlet, which I had never heard of, but is the oldest surviving British quilt, signed and dated! I look at it wondering…but I don’t feel inspired to take it on any time in the near future! Have fun…this will be beautiful and such an accomplishment!!

    Reply
    • Hi Sarah!!!! Lovely to see you again🙂 I just “Googled” your book and the patchwork on the front cover is gorgeous. I especially like the different sized blocks but I’m not into sewing applique (yet). Maybe one day…

      Reply
  12. Enjoy sewing this nice blocks!!! I don´t think you are mad🙂 If I hadn´t have my Dear Jane project, I could easily have started on this one🙂
    Gun

    Reply
  13. Wow, Avis, what a challenge… and it looks like a beautiful quilt – and a beautiful first block!
    … and only😉 121 blocks – you can make two of this before I get my Dear Jane ready🙂
    And what a nice surprise to see your name on the F2F block swap list!

    Reply
    • Hi Annett🙂 Yes, I said out loud “Ooh, Annett has joined in too :-)”. I’m so pleased. Eventually I’ll get onto Dear Jane but I’ll watch your progress first LOL.

      Reply
  14. Amazing! I have also started an Elm creek quilt – my first quilt and my first attempt at patchwork!

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

