A Birthday Bag!

Hi Everyone,

I can finally show you what I’ve been up to lately. It was my sister’s birthday recently and she had mentioned ages ago that she was looking for a new knitting bag. So I just had to make one and hope that she didn’t buy one in the meantime. I did consider giving her one of these three bags that I’d made earlier but decided that she had already seen them and that a knitting bag should be bigger than these.

1a

2a

3a

Then the scraps of a Bali Pops jelly roll were calling to me. My sister had actually bought the Bali Pops for me (for my birthday) and I’d already made a quilt top from them. There was still plenty left and I had some lovely matching solid fabrics to go with them. Maybe, she wouldn’t like the idea of me using a present from her to make something to give back…hmm. I decided I was only using the scraps and that way she would be getting fabrics that I knew she would love otherwise she would never have bought them for me in the first place Smile. I searched the internet for a bag pattern that was just right. However, I wasted a lot of time. I just couldn’t find anything the right size with all of the pockets that I wanted etc. After several days of thinking, sketching, measuring and head scratching I came up with this.

CIMG3755

There are three pockets behind the batik fabrics panel on each of the front and back. The middle pockets are the perfect size for knitting patterns or books. The base is flat and large enough for the knitting to lie down, even if it is on large chunky needles and there’s plenty of room inside for all of the yarn for a whole project.

CIMG3756

I used straight line quilting so as not to compete with the gorgeous fabrics. The quilting continues on the wrap-around base.

CIMG3757

There are two lined patch pockets inside. One is big enough to take large scissors and the other is for buttons etc.

CIMG3758

Plus I added a loop at each side to thread the yarn through.

CIMG3759

Once I’d decided how I wanted the bag to look and how to put it together, the sewing part was easy. The bulk of the work was in the design process. I’ll definitely make more bags like this one.

My sister really liked it which was good news too. That makes me very happy Smile.

Merry Christmas to you all!

Avis x

Leave a comment

28 Comments

  1. Hello Avis, it is easy to imagine your sister loves her new knitting bag! I would love it too. Your design make really sense for a knitter’s bag. And I love batiks & the blue colour!
    I wish you a Merry Christmas… especially a bit of quiet time for yourself. Warm regards, Annett

    Reply
  2. claire93

     /  December 22, 2014

    how could she not love it? it’s a customised, made-to measure bag – perfect for a knitter. You’ve chosen a wonderful solid turquoise that sets off the batiks so well.
    And thanks for reposting photos of your previous bags. Had forgotten all about them – I do love a tote bag, always great just to throw things in lol

    Reply
    • At a push, the other bags would be fine for just knitting but they wouldn’t hold too many extra balls of yarn. Anyway, she reckons it’s too nice to use as a knitting bag LOL.

      Reply
  3. Gail

     /  December 22, 2014

    Lovely well designed bag, Avis. I proudly presented my DIL with a knitting bag a few Christmases ago but in a thoughtless moment I used velcro to close the bag. Big mistake as the wool keeps catching onto the velcro.

    Reply
    • Thanks for the tip. I would never have thought about the velcro problem. I suppose your DIL will just have to be careful and not knit from yarn when it is still in the bag. Could it be covered with a strip of fabric to stop it catching? I did think about a zip closure but dismissed it for a similar reason. Now my sister says she wants to use it as an ordinary bag so I could have inserted a zip after all🙂

      Reply
  4. That’s a lovely bag, for knitting or other purposes. You could use the loop to clip keys onto, for example.

    Reply
  5. witchylin

     /  December 22, 2014

    Fantastic. Your sister will find it so useful with all the perfect pockets for patterns and needles. The colours are so restful too.

    Reply
  6. They’re all lovely Avis! I always spend ages looking at patterns and can’t decide and then just go with the flow – once you have a basic bag pattern it’s easy just to add and amend for whoever you’re sewing for.
    And I love those Bali pops too – not usually a fan of batiks but those are just stunning colour choices.

    Reply
    • Thank you🙂 These are the first batiks I have ever used. I used the same pack for a quilt top earlier and I can’t wait to use more. They don’t seem to fray as easily as most cotton fabrics and the colours are gorgeous, especially when you buy a coordinating pack like this. I’ll definitely buy more. I agree about the patterns. I was hoping to buy something suitable and still can’t believe that it isn’t out there. It feels so good to have done it on my own😉

      Reply
  7. That’s a gorgeous bag, and so practical. I love the pretty fabrics you’ve used on it too🙂

    Reply
  8. Fantastic bag! I want to make it now! Are you writing a more detailed pattern?

    Reply
    • Hi and welcome to my blog🙂 I have no plans to write a more detailed pattern as my spare time is so limited at the moment. The three bags at the top of the post are all variations on a tutorial found on the MSQC web site. Once you’ve made that one and get the idea of bag construction, it is quite straight forward to change the sizes and add pockets for a knitting bag like this one.

      Reply
  9. Very nice all if them. All the best now and always Avis x, Mtetar

    Reply
  10. Fabulous job Avis !! The knitting bag is gorgeous ( so are the others)🙂 Merry Christmas to you as well
    Izz

    Reply
  11. Love the bags!🙂

    Reply
  12. Denby

     /  December 25, 2014

    I am the lucky recipient of this beautiful bag and as always when Avis makes something it is perfect in every way. Yes I had originally said that I would like a new knitting bag, but, there is no way that I could keep this hidden away and having read all your lovely comments I’m sure that you agree with me. Thanks Avis for a fantastic birthday present.

    Reply
  13. That is a well thought out knitting bag!

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

