Is it a mug rug?

Good morning everyone!

What a glorious sunny day it is here in the North East of England. I hope you are all well and that crafting is keeping you happy. For me, it’s just been work, work, work these last couple of months so I’m very pleased to be back here with my crafty friends at last.

I finally had a day off yesterday and decided to finish a little project that I’d started weeks ago. Those of you who read this blog regularly will know that I don’t like scraps of fabric. If I make something, I cut the pieces in the most economical way and often achieve no-waste projects. It takes an awful lot of planning but the pleasure I get from having used every square inch of available fabric makes me very happy.

So, not having any particular project in mind, I decided to get rid of a few scraps. I had several strips of blues leftover from bindings so I split them up the middle and began to sew them together not knowing what it was going to turn into. Before long I had two different rectangular blocks that I thought would make a nice mug rug or maybe a mini quilt table topper.

CIMG3362

It is actually rectangular in real life Smile.

Well, just before the binding was sewn on I had a brainwave (which doesn’t happen to me very often). My tablet could do with a case! So I turned it over, grabbed some more scraps, made a lined pocket and HEY PRESTO! It’s a tablet case Smile.

CIMG3359

I also added a fabric tie.

CIMG3358

Look at that wobbly edge at the bottom. That happened because I stretched the front block as I was attaching the lining Sad smile. I used nice thick wadding/batting to protect the screen.

CIMG3361

I think I like the back the best.

CIMG3360

Here’s my tablet, all snug as a bug in a (mug) rug Winking smile

CIMG3357

Some of you may remember my previous scrappy playtimes. Here’s a quick reminder.

cimg2511

CIMG1423

CIMG1425

CIMG1426

CIMG1427

CIMG1527

All proof that you can make it up as you go along. Have fun scrap busting! I did Smile.

Avis x

Leave a comment

51 Comments

  1. I love the tablet case! What a great use of your scraps. It’s nice to just go with the flow. You never know what wonderful things will happen. 🙂

    Reply
    • Exactly, go where the fancy takes you. There might be some nice surprises along the way🙂

      Reply
      • There are ALWAYS surprises along the way. That’s what’s so great about creative endeavors such as quilting and writing. 🙂

        Reply
  2. Normally, if there are small scraps in a project, I throw them out as I go. With this latest one, I’m loving the fabrics so much I don’t want to waste any, so I’m collecting all the snippets and small scraplets and may end up making some sort of collage-y object. Anything bigger will go into the usable scrap boxes for scrap quilt making. I love your scrap projects, and I think one of these days I’m going to follow your lead and actually use some of mine!

    Reply
    • Oh no! You mustn’t throw scraps away. Remember, we pay for every square inch of fabric😉 A collage sounds interesting. I’m watching and waiting🙂

      Reply
  3. wow, I love all the different uses for it, the one holding the threads is my personal favourite, looks so pretty🙂

    Reply
  4. I like making small projects like these too, your tablet case is really nice and a great way to use two different piecings on the same ‘mug rug’!

    Reply
  5. claire93

     /  June 22, 2014

    an excellent way of using up scraps and what a practical, snug pouch !!!

    Reply
  6. Yay, for finally getting a break from work, and SEWING!!!! A wonderful case, indeed!

    Reply
  7. Hi Avis! I’m so happy to hear you have had time for sewing! You had perfect idea to make a tablet case with the Mini quilt! Also the embroidery/sewing kit and pincushion are so beautiful! I just love mug rugs matching with mugs! x Teje

    Reply
  8. I think it’s wonderful! What a great idea.

    Reply
  9. Claudia

     /  June 22, 2014

    That is just adorable! I love what you did with your blue scraps! Well, wait…I love what you have done with ALL your scraps. Thank you for the inspirations!

    Reply
  10. That’s a lovely tablet case in all those pretty shades of blue🙂

    Reply
  11. Cathie64

     /  June 22, 2014

    Que de beaux ouvrages !!

    Reply
  12. Nice job. Very freeing to just start putting those pieces together. I felt that way last winter when I worked on my “artful oven mitts”. That sure cleared out a basket of leftover bits. This proves you don’t have to start with a plan, the plan will come to you! It also proves that if you have the least little bit of sewing experience; you don’t need a pattern for your tablet case, or your pin cushion or needle case. Vision and a rotary cutter and seam ripper. Nice job. Love the blues.

    Reply
    • Thank you. Sometimes it’s more fun to just see what happens🙂 One of these days I’ll get around to making a scrappy quilt. I just can’t throw fabric away.

      Reply
  13. I like how your tablet case turned out, both front and back🙂. Great shades of blue too!

    Reply
    • Thank you🙂 I can’t keep up with all of your crafts. I seemed to make so many things last year but this year it’s been very slow for me.

      Reply
      • I’m putting them to all good use! All this creativity has paid off🙂 Thanks for the comment. There are obviously some crafts that take longer than others and I’m in the process of a long project, which could take a couple of years to get exactly how I want it (maybe I should start a separate blog for that to record my progress?!)

        Reply
  14. That is a great idea……how clever of you!!!! Yes, one has to be wary of those “little” scraps that threaten to take over if not corralled!!!!

    Reply
  15. I too have been collecting blue leftover bits for something. What that something is changes from day to day. I like the mug rug to case conversion. Much more useful!

    Reply
    • I agree. I can’t see the point of a mug rug myself but they are all the rage recently. I suppose it is something you can make from scraps to practice a new block maybe🙂

      Reply
  16. Just letting you know that Ive nominated you for the Liebster award, there are full details on my post🙂

    Reply
  17. Duffle

     /  July 5, 2014

    Absolutely love this, Love your blog too xx

    Reply
  18. Fantastic scrap busting ideas, I might borrow your ideas for some Christmas gifts

    Reply
  19. Excellent idea!!! you did good🙂

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

