To finish….

Hi everyone,

I recently mentioned to my blogging friend Debbe over at Crossed Threads that I try to be very good and only ever have one work in progress per discipline. However, the fact that I enjoy so many different crafts still means that I have quite a few unfinished projects. While I was writing, it occurred to me that actually, I don’t stick to this rule for quilting because I always have several quilt tops waiting to be quilted at any one time. I do try to take the next quilt from the top of the box when I decide to do some quilting but if I don’t have everything I need to completely finish it, I go to the next one lower down in the box.  So, it looks like I make the rules as I go along really!

Anyway, my friend suggested that I take a picture of my quilt tops storage box. So here it is.

CIMG3088

I finished quite a few quilts in 2013 so it isn’t as full as it could be. Maybe I’ll have to make more Winking smile

Here is a better view of the contents.

CIMG3089

From left to right:

Huge stars

Even more huge log cabin

Large French braid

Large lap size traditional red, white and blue sampler

Large lap size cream and wine stars

Small cream and red cobwebs

Lap size bargello

Small tumbling blocks

Baby pinwheels

I bet some of you have way more works in progress than I do😆

I wonder….

Here’s hoping you are getting lots of time to craft so far this year!

Avis x

Leave a comment

28 Comments

  1. I have a couple of quilt tops that need quilting too–but you sound more disciplined than I am. It seems I only ever finish a project if it’s meant as a gift! Maybe I should decide to give away a couple of quilts and then they’d get completed!

    Reply
  2. heehee.. that’s lots of quilting in 2014.. (hopefully all will be done by then) and I love watching your gorgeous masterpieces..😀

    Reply
    • It does sound a little ambitious but I’m up for your challenge Angela🙂 However, I can’t promise to quilt them all before I make more tops….or can I?

      Reply
  3. That’s not bad for unfinished quilts:). Each one is just lovely. Your point’s are so good! That’s one of my difficulties, but I’m determined si I think I’ll get there. Lol

    Reply
    • You will get there! I always remember to press seams in opposite directions and then they seem to lock together well. I never use pins as I think they distort my sewing sometimes. Avis x

      Reply
  4. Hi Avis! Your quilt tops are beautiful and I think I would quilt them depending my mood for some colour. I have always several Works going on but not too many. One knitting, one crochet, one ufo quilt which I’m trying to finish this year … and the quilt under process – not too many. I don’t know what’s ‘wrong’ with me and I can make myself finish one before starting the next. Perhaps I have forgot pile of unfinished Works somewhere! Hugs! x Teje

    Reply
    • I know what my problem is….I much prefer piecing the quilt rather than quilting it. I do enjoy quilting but not as much as putting the design and all the colours together🙂 I do agree with you about mood and colour. I do like to make a bright quilt during the winter as it makes me feel good in the short daylight hours. Avis x

      Reply
  5. claire93

     /  January 7, 2014

    I look forward to seeing which one you decide to finish off first ^^

    Reply
  6. My goal is to have a tote filled with “flimsys” just like yours!!!!! After I get done with the clients’ quilts I’m working on now, another due in the end of the month. Grandson’s high school graduation quilt, great granddaughter’s quilt are next. I have several quilt projects, supplies all gathered together in bags, ready to go. And that’s just the tip of my “quilty iceberg”!!!!! Your piecings are wonderful!!!!! Hugs……………

    Reply
    • Thank you Doreen🙂 I can imagine you are up to your neck in quilty goodness! It’s lovely to have plenty of projects to look forward to.Sometimes I think I should write ideas for new things in a note book but that would eat into my sewing time. Avis x

      Reply
  7. The bin is a great way to organized and it makes it easy to find such great projects like yours. Blessings, Mtetar

    Reply
    • This box is stored under my sewing table so I can always see what’s coming up next🙂 Thank you for your kind comments Mtetar!

      Reply
  8. Can’t wait to see them finished, especially the French braid.🙂 You could start a lottery too if you can’t decide which one to finish first.😉 Of course, I can beat you easily when it comes to UFOs – The UFO Garage has 50 and The Boudoir has 30 (rough estimate).😀

    Reply
    • The French braid has been made for a while but I didn’t have enough black for the back. Then I bought some black and used it on the Tetris quilt so the braid is still waiting. I might quilt that one next, who knows. A lottery wouldn’t work for me as I wouldn’t go along with the outcome. If I lived in your house I’d be like a kid in a sweet shop🙂 Your patchwork is gorgeous!

      Reply
  9. what a lovely collection, wonder how many you can finish by the end of year

    Reply
  10. I didn’t finish that many quilt tops this year, and I cheat. If they are big (and they often are) I send them out to a long-arm quilting pro.
    I think you did well to finish so many tops!

    Reply
    • Oh it isn’t cheating, it’s just personal choice. I must admit I’m such a control freak with my quilts that I would never allow anyone else to do the quilting for me and I certainly wouldn’t want to pay them either😆 I don’t have a long arm machine so I am thinking about sometimes using the quilt as you go methods in future. A couple of my tops have been made for 2 years so I really do need to get around to the quilting soon🙂

      Reply
  11. Looks like you’re going to be busy this year! Thanks for the link and the peek into your quilting box

    Reply
  12. I’ve committed to finishing my unfinished quilts this year too! They all deserve to be finished and to be lovingly used and snuggled under.

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

