Another year over…

Hi everyone,

It’s been a while since I’ve been in the quilting zone. I’ve been concentrating on lots of hand stitching over at Sewing Beside the Sea. I’m sure the quilting bug will find me again when my sewing room warms up a bit. At the moment it is far too cosy in the living room sitting with my feet up, doing a bit of blackwork, cross stitch, knitting and crochet….not all at the same time of course!

I was just updating the “Finished 2013” page above and I can’t believe how many things I managed to complete, especially as it has been such a busy year for me apart from sewing. I’ve enjoyed every single project as well as reading all of the lovely comments and emails from people along the way. Your blogs have been very inspirational too, so I have many ideas stored up for future projects in 2014.

Here is a little gallery of my finished projects this year. Please note that from May onwards, I only included patchwork and quilting projects on this blog. So, if you’d like to see the hand sewn projects from then on, just hop over to Sewing Beside the Sea. If you’d like to visit any of the posts relating to the pictures in the gallery, just go to the “Finished 2013” page above and then click on the photo.

Happy New Year to you all. I hope you have lots of exciting projects lined up for 2014 πŸ™‚ Now….where did those chocolates go?

Avis x

Next Post
Leave a comment

31 Comments

  1. All amazingly made with passion. Blessings now and always. Mtetar

    Reply
  2. Your quilting and threadwork are gorgeous! I don’t do a recap but may take a bloggy trek back to see what’s been done. Your finishes are amazing……especially the Noah’s Ark!!!!! Love that!!!! A Joy-filled New Year to you, Avis and hugs………

    Reply
    • I suspect you will have far more finishes than me this year and they’ll all be equally wonderful! The cross stitch is actually a narrow boat which we have on the canals here in the UK. Many of them are now houseboats. I love Bothy Threads designs πŸ™‚ Have a fabulous New Year Doreen. Thanks for all of your support this year. Avis x

      Reply
  3. Beautiful! You have been very productive…Good job!

    May 2014 be filled with happiness, good heath and prosperity!

    Connie πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. Beautiful projects! Just started following the other blog too. Love the Tetris quilt and all the chevrons.

    Reply
    • Hi Caitlin, Thank you very much for visiting, the follows and everything. The Tetris quilt is huge and I had a bit of a battle with the quilting on the black fabric but it turned out great. I just had to be patient and do a bit at a time πŸ™‚ Happy New Year! Avis x

      Reply
  5. Seeing your finishes like this inspires me to keep on focusing on finding time for quilting this year, so I can have a 2014 finished gallery of my own, even if it’s small. I so enjoy your work and your blogs. Best wishes for the new year! πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Thank you Deborah and Happy New Year to you too πŸ™‚ Believe it or not I haven’t had good blocks of time available this year but I have been able to leave each project in place rather than tidying it away and getting it back out again every time I want to do some. It’s so much easier to pick it up and do a bit more when it is all set up and ready to go. Thank you for your support this year! Avis x

      Reply
  6. creative pixie

     /  December 31, 2013

    Happy new year to you and your family.

    Reply
    • Best wishes to you and your family for 2014 too! Thanks for stopping by this year. It’s been lovely to have you around πŸ™‚ Avis x

      Reply
  7. Happy New Year!!!!!
    Gun, Sweden

    Reply
    • Same to you too Gun! It’s cold here today but I bet it is even colder in Sweden. I’m going to dig out my unfinished ripple blanket today and crochet from underneath it to keep warm πŸ™‚
      Avis x

      Reply
  8. Happy New Year to you too! You have produced so many wonderful quilts – you must be very proud. Can’t wait to see what you make in 2014! πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Happy New Year! Thank you so much for your lovely comments this year. I hope to do even more quilting in 2014 but the is a plan to do a bit of hand sewing for the other blog too πŸ™‚

      Reply
  9. Que de belles choses ! Je te souhaite une excellente annΓ©e 2014 !

    Reply
  10. Your quilts are lovely. I really like the red and blue one’s( I seem to be partial to those color’s lately) :). I enjoy your blog as well. Happy New Year

    Reply
    • Thank you for visiting πŸ™‚ I love red and blue together too, especially with a lot of white. happy New year to you too! Avis x

      Reply
  11. Oh wow, look how much you achieved! And all so gorgeous. Happy New Year Avis. X

    Reply
  12. Hi Avis! Wow how creative you have been last year! So many beautiful quilts and your gross stitchings are amazing! I’m so happy to start again NEW exciting, quilting year with you! x Teje

    Reply
  13. Happy New Year 2014!!! I hope you have a very creative year and lots of blessings πŸ™‚
    you had a very busy year, your quilts are beautiful πŸ™‚

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

