Irish Chain Quilt

Happy weekend everyone Smile

I’m very happy to present my 19th finished project this year. It’s a Double Irish Chain design (or a Triple Irish Chain if you prefer). I’ve wanted to make this traditional pattern for years and somehow never got around to it. However, I always knew I’d be using my beloved Moda Bella Solids when I did. This one will nicely cover a twin or make a great topper for a double bed at 74 x 54 inches and it will soon be for sale in my shop.

CIMG2866

Family and friends have commented that it reminds them of the colours of the sea, so the quilting just had to be in waves. I wanted to ensure the quilting didn’t compete with the strong geometric design and solid colours so I hope I’ve achieved that.

CIMG2867

I adore a white binding but on this occasion, after much thought about all three colours, I decided it had to be the darker blue.

CIMG2868

Can anyone suggest a name for it?

Well, I now have the whole weekend free to play…..I mean sew Smile I’m off to look in the finished quilt top box to see which one has popped up to the top of the pile. I hope you also get lots of time to craft this weekend.

A-quilting I must go!

Avis x

Previous Post
Leave a comment

25 Comments

  1. Ocean crossing?
    It is very pretty!
    Esther

    Reply
  2. monique la bretonne

     /  August 24, 2013

    belle realisation , il faudrait que je me lance!!!
    j ‘ ai une machine à coudre toute neuve.
    bonne journee
    monique la bretonne

    Reply
  3. titite54

     /  August 24, 2013

    c est ice very nice bise

    Reply
  4. claire93

     /  August 24, 2013

    I love it ^^
    and also love Esther’s idea of name for it “ocean crossing” sounds perfect!
    good luck with your venture for selling ^^
    still no serious crafting in this part of the world, I’m afraid. I am so lazy🙂

    Reply
  5. Well done Avis, the ocean colours are calm and relaxing. The waves on your quilting are so smooth – so ocean crossing sounds great.

    Reply
  6. I love this. The colours are just what I would love to have around my house. I think that ocean crossing is good name for it too. Good luck with the selling.

    Reply
    • Thank you. I’ve sold things I’ve made in the past and I also sell fabric. Just having a bit of a shake up, that’s all really🙂

      Reply
  7. Il est magnifique !! Tu pourrais l’appeler “mer d’été”….🙂

    Reply
  8. I love soothing blue.🙂

    Reply
  9. Beautiful! If it was a Swedish quilt, I would name it Vågspel (Bold Venture), but it doesn´t look so good in English. It means the same, but I´ll explain the Swedish Words and then maybe you´ll understand. Våg = Wave, spel = game. Does it make sense?
    Hugs / Gun, Sweden

    Reply
  10. The dark blue binding sets the whole thing off very nicely. I love your choice of waves for the quilting. Another beautiful piece of art from you!

    Reply
  11. Lovely quilting Avis – what type of quilting machine do you use??

    Reply
  12. gooooooorgeous. I’m so loving this quilt.. that I want to do one just like it (but those squares are so tiny and perfectly lined up… maybe I will just admire yours🙂. Oh and Ocean Crossing has my vote too…

    Reply
    • They are mostly made with 2.5 inch strips so they aren’t too small and I used strip piecing methods. It’s a lot easier than your Madras Plaid, I promise🙂

      Reply
  13. Your patience and your work of art shows. Blessings, Mtetar

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

