Phone Versus Tablet PC….Advice Please!

Hi everyone, Happy Monday to you all!

I have a bit of a dilemma and hope you will be able to help me make the right decision.

Whenever I am away from home I like to be able to write posts, including links and photos for my blog, as well as do all of the other tasks like managing comments, replies etc. I currently have the Nokia E63 mobile phone which has a small screen and querty keyboard with access to emails and the internet. I have posted to wordpress via email using this phone before. The only thing is, it is very hard work, mainly due to the size of the screen and having to scroll back and forth, up and down for what seems like forever.

So, my questions to you all today are:

  1. Should I upgrade my phone to a large touch screen and use an app for wordpress?
  2. Do you know of, or currently use, an app on your phone that does everything that you need for managing a wordpress blog? If so, which one?
  3. Or should I buy a tablet PC instead of upgrading the phone and if so what would you recommend.
  4. Do you know of, or currently use, an app on your tablet that does everything that you need for managing a wordpress blog? If so, which one?

I have no desire to download and watch movies or play games and the budget is not huge. I expect to be able to connect to the internet via wi-fi and occasionally 3G. I’m not bothered about having the best, most up to date model on the market.  Functionality, especially for my blog, is more important to me.

I’ll let you all have the debate below and I’ll keep quiet until you are done (very difficult for me).

Thank you in advance for letting me know what does and doesn’t work well for you. I really appreciate your advice Smile

Avis x

Leave a comment

34 Comments

  1. I have both an iPhone4s and an iPad. I can access WordPress with both, though I like the iPad better for the size…I totally LOVE LOVE LOVE, my iPhone…and can do almost everything on it! The WordPress App is free, BTW..

    I access my email, my blog, my instagram, facebook, as well as a ton of other things on both. Because i have linked the two as a small network, most things are already updated when I switch from one to the other.

    Hope this helps! 🙂

    Reply
    • Thank you so much for this. I know I said I’d stay quiet but does the app allow you to do everything for wordpress or just read blogs? Please pardon my ignorance 😉

      Reply
      • I can do everything – new posts, add photos, read and respond to comments, and read the blogs I follow. It is a bit different, and I am still learning to do some of the stuff, but I can’t do it all on the PC yet either 😉

        Reply
  2. I use my iPad for everything blog related. They have a great WordPress app that is very functional. If you don’t want to spend a lot I recommend getting one of the earlier generation iPads!

    Reply
  3. Judy Galligan

     /  May 27, 2013

    I am not a blogger, but I have the I pad 2, purchased the wk. before 3 came out. I love it it does everything and is so convienent to use even the hubby uses it with ease and that is saying a lot…good luck with your decision

    Reply
  4. I have an iPad and did download the WordPress app however I did not use it because I couldn’t see anything that I had already put on WordPress. It seemed to function totally separately. I’m sure I could have used it for writing posts etc. but couldn’t edit posts I had already drafted on the computer. Perhaps it was me using it wrongly and it was a while ago now so perhaps it has updated some. I tried to use the normal WordPress site via the iPad too but it was a bit clunky and didn’t work very well. Again this was some time ago. I tend to just use the normal big computer for blog posts. Maybe I should have another try with the app. iPad camera is also a bit rubbish and there is no way to attach my normal camera to it. No doubt someone will be along shortly to put me right on all this!!

    Reply
  5. claire93

     /  May 27, 2013

    I can’t help you at all Avis – so I’ll just sit back, read the comments of people who know, and learn something myself ^^

    Reply
  6. I really like my laptop but I just have a phone for texting and phone calls so I can’t help

    Reply
    • Yes, I use my phone for the internet if I’m out and about but I’d like something more portable than my laptop to take away with me.

      Reply
  7. Avis x, besides iPhones, iPad, there are other phones from brands such as Samsung, BlackBerry, HTC, etc that you can download apps for your phone internet service. Also try checking with your carrier for advance upgrade. Some phones come with great apps. I hope you get the help you need. Be Blessed, Mtetar

    Reply
  8. minerva

     /  May 27, 2013

    I am currently working through exactly the same issues and whilst I have an iPhone and CAN do everything I want through the WordPress app I just find it too small to be comfortable. I have thought about the new iPad mini but they are so expensive compared to other tablets. I’m currently comparing the kindle fire hd and the google nexus both of which are considerably cheaper. My dh though has asked whether having a full sized tablet like the iPad would be better due to the screen size. My next point of call us somewhere where I can go and “play” with each of them and speak to someone about their peculiarities and strengths before making a decision. I look forward to people’s comments with interest.

    Reply
    • Well, my daughter has just jumped in below. It looks like I’ll be receiving some additional advice/persuasion very soon 😀 I’ll keep you posted!

      Reply
  9. Don’t bother with the Kindles, go Android every time!!!

    Reply
  10. I’ll phone tomorrow morning. The Android WordPress App does everything you need and there are lots of devices to choose from. Please wait!!!

    Reply
    • Ooh good, we can have a long chat about it then. No-one else has mentioned Android yet so it could be very interesting 🙂 Don’t worry, I’m not about to impulse buy!

      Reply
  11. minerva

     /  May 27, 2013

    My other issue is how to download photos from a camera to the said device? Not all tablets have the appropriate card readers and therefore need extra cables/apps/whatever. I don’t want to use the tablet for taking photos when I have a perfectly adequate camera – I may also want to download photos to more than one place…..It’s all so confusing!! I hope your daughter has some good advice for you!

    Reply
    • She always does advise me well 🙂 Yes, I’d thought of the same issue. I like my camera, though my photos don’t do it justice LOL. There must be a way…..I’ll hopefully be back tomorrow with a decision after having considered everything here. I was leaning towards an iphone at one point but I accept it could well be too small and I already have a phone which works perfectly well. Hmmmm….

      Reply
  12. Great post, I’m currently debating the same so thanks! Apparently the tablet doesn’t have a port to take a card from a camera to upload photos. I’m thinking this could be a pain. The Samsung Galaxy has a large screen so I may go for a phone.

    Reply
    • I’ve been thinking about upgrading for a while but I’m probably expecting too much. I wish one device could do everything but there may have to be compromises for me. Each time I upgrade, the feature I’d like tends to be on the next version 🙂 Watch this space…..

      Reply
  13. witchylin

     /  May 28, 2013

    I have just become the confused owner of an Android Sony Experia J. Other half has an Experia T. It does everything I want to do other than let me pick up my emails. I have two Gmail accounts and neither of emails to them will come across to the phone. They are both registered to Google Accounts and I can get Google on the phone. Looking at the comments here and hoping someone says something that solves that problem. Can’t get my BT internet emails on it either. Yikes. Have to say am not impressed with this phone at all. Changed network to 3 and now wish we had stayed with Vodafone. 😦

    Reply
    • I’m on 3 too and I’m happy with it at the moment. One of your settings must be slightly wrong for receiving the emails. I had the same problem and just googled “How do I set up emails on a Nokia E63”. It was straightforward to rectify so I hope it is the same for you if you check. Alternatively, a helpful assistant in the Sony shop would maybe sort it in a few minutes 🙂 I’ve looked at the Sony phones and I like them a lot. Trouble is, the more reviews you read, the more confusing it all becomes. Good luck with getting it sorted.

      Reply
  14. minerva

     /  May 30, 2013

    Well, I have made my decision! My dh and I went and had a play. Following that I decided that I really didn’t like the kindle at all; the nexus was quite good but I went for the Samsung Galaxy Tab 2. It was the one that felt best in the hand and although it had the smallest internal memory at only 8G, it was also the cheapest BUT, and a big BUT is that it’s the only one that had expandable memory in the form of a micro-sd card slot. This means that with an adapter I can use the card in my camera and then put it straight into the tablet. There also seem to be cables that allow you to attach a memory stick to the charging dock – will wait to see if I need these. I’ve downloaded the wordpress app and so far have been able to access everything I need. It’s a good size in the hand – not too big or heavy. Good grahics and nice screen. So far I’m very pleased. Today I’m off to buy a case and some micro-sd cards so I can test out my camera.

    Reply
    • Thanks for getting back on this 🙂 I discussed the camera issue with my daughter and she was aware that some tablets had card readers. This seems like a great solution for you. I’m toying with the idea of the Nexus (which may change) simply because of Android and the abundance of apps. It seems like a great entry price for me and my daughter has had one for about a year so all the tech issues would only be a phone call away. She was against the Kindle because of being tied into Amazon so that is a no go for me. I could always download the Kindle app if a reader is required. As for “phone versus tablet”, I’m going to stick with the phone I have now and avoid the cost of an upgrade. There’s certainly been some interesting comments and I appreciate them all 🙂

      Reply
      • minerva

         /  May 30, 2013

        The Samsung also runs on Android although the nexus is a more recent version. The kindle is just a glorified e-reader. I managed to sucessfully take a photo and then put it straight into the tablet and upload it to my dropbox. What I am currently struggling with is hitting the correct letters on the on-screen keyboard…….Good luck with your decision. If you have IT support just a phonecall away then that really helps……!

        Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

