Finally, a work in progress report!

Quilting has passed me by this week as I have been so busty with work and ….well everything!

I have, however, managed to do quite a bit of cross stitch and made a lot of progress with the narrow boat kit from Bothy Threads. I’m really enjoying making this one.

CIMG2524

There is still another band of 24 stitches deep to stitch across the bottom. I have been working along in a straight line as I would need to roll up the frame to stitch any further down. I have continued to resist the urge to do any of the back stitch as that is what will make the design pop when I finally do it. I’m really looking forward to that part!

Waiting in the queue are a blackwork Elizabethan house, worked with black on ecru, then a rather complicated blackwork design called Pentecost. Next up will be another cut thru from Bothy Threads called Vintage Caravan and finally an old secret UFO which will be dragged out of the cupboard after waiting patiently to be frogged for over 20 years. Looks like I’ll have no time for quilting! Only joking Smile

Talking of joking…..I’ve been rolling on the floor laughing at my typo in this post. Did you spot it? I know I shouldn’t laugh at my own jokes but I’m leaving this error in place so you can all have a giggle at my inability to press one key at a time, see what I mean ?😆

Finally, finally….am I allowed two? Please feel free to join my Mystery Blackwork Stitch Along. Sorry if I keep banging on about it but there is still time to join in the fun. You know you want to, so what are you waiting for? Parts 1 and 2 are here and here respectively, and the gallery is here. Just click the red words. No doubt you are Oh Sew Tempted! Let me know if you do decide to join the group and which country you are from.

Now, I’m off to cross stitch!

Avis x

Leave a comment

33 Comments

  1. creative pixie

     /  May 27, 2013

    Lol.😉

    Reply
  2. LOL here too….I’ll keep the boo boo to myself so I don’t spoil it for others.

    Reply
  3. I giggled as soon as I saw that. It’s good you left it in. Like I tell everyone at work when there is an oops moment…”It just makes you a human bean!” Love your cross stitches. I really should get myself back into that. I have a zillion or more patiently waiting UFO’s. Gosh, now I feel kind of guilty.😦

    Reply
  4. Hi Avis! Your work looks so beautiful! I love all those colourful details! I miss the laugh because any way there is always some words I don’t understand or have to guess. Have a lovely week, dear friend! x Teje

    Reply
  5. Hahaha🙂 It took awhile, but I found it! Your embrodery is georgeous!
    Gun, Sweden

    Reply
    • Thank you Gun🙂 I think you can be excused for not finding it at first. I would never find a typo in Swedish. Avis x

      Reply
  6. claire93

     /  May 27, 2013

    you’re coming along in leaps and bounds with this project Avis – am so looking forward to seeing it come to life with backstitch. But I’ll be patient ^^

    Reply
    • Me too! There’s going to be a bit of a lull here on the crafting front soon as work is about to take over but I’ll try to keep going🙂

      Reply
  7. ROFL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I needed that….for sure….on this gray, rainy, dreary day!!!!! Way too funny!!!!! Your ‘stitchy’ is wonderful! Isn’t it a grand time when the back-stitching begins??? It’s like dessert….a special treat we give ourselves for completing the project. Hugs always, D

    Reply
  8. I’m laughing anyway Avis x, I hope I found it. Oh well you’re working on a boat right? So I can understand the creativity of the word used. Great Job and it is coming along well. Be Blessed, Mtetar

    Reply
    • Thanks Mtetar. I’m working a bit too hard today. A nice early morning with some coffee to get me going and shall be done in no time. Then more time for crafting🙂

      Reply
      • You’re welcome, Avis x! Have fun and I look forward to seeing the finished project. Be Blessed, Mtetar

        Reply
  9. OMG.. this work is very colourful and pretty.. can’t wait to see the finished piece.. Great Job!

    Reply
  10. witchylin

     /  May 28, 2013

    Typo noticed. ROFL. I know you too, so it is just a little bit true. Sorry only kidding.
    You have really got on with the narrow boat. it is looking great. I can understand why you want to get to the back stitching to give it a 3D life. It is going to be fantastic once it is all completed. i need to get on with the blackwork. Have done a little but there is so much else to get done here I have had to put crafting on hold, for at least this week. Starting to get withdrawal symptoms and need my crafting fix very soon.😀

    Reply
  11. Lol! So glad you noticed it, I was having dilemmas over whether I should point it out or not… Phew! Dilemma over. Sadly, I think if you chopped our narrowboat in half, it wouldn’t look as cute as yours!! Shame.

    Reply
  12. Looks so pretty!

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

