I’m feeling blue!

Hello everyone. Happy Wednesday to you all🙂

No, I’m not really feeling blue in that sense at all. I’m actually very happy now that Spring has finally arrived. Sunshine, blue skies and birds singing in the garden. Hurray!!

Today was the perfect day to try two design ideas rolled into one. I’ve been wanting to try these for ages. Bargello and Trip Around the World. This quilt top doesn’t strictly conform to either pattern in the purest sense but I’ve had a lot of fun trying out some ideas and I think the result works. I’m loving blue at the moment…. and purple and red and green and….the sunshine coming through the windows.

Image

This quilt will have a blue binding. I’m not sure how I want to quilt it yet so it’ll be neatly put away in the box while I have a think about it. That could take a while.

I’m linking with WIP Wednesday over at Freshly Pieced.

I wonder whether you will be trying anything new this week…..

I’m off to take a look now.

Avis x

Next Post
Leave a comment

35 Comments

  1. Wow very pretty! Am doing something a bit similar, but just with squares! I really like your variation!
    Esther

    Reply
  2. I sure you will come across just the right quilting for this quilt. It is really lovely.

    Reply
  3. I will be trying boating on the Caledonian Canal😉

    Reply
  4. P.S. love the blue.

    Reply
  5. Avis, your quilt is stunning. Love it.🙂

    Reply
  6. Great design! It’s very eye-catching. Well done!

    Reply
  7. It reminds me of a crystal clear sky, with the very slightest hint of white whispy clouds! I’m glad you have found Spring….we are still waiting…..patiently (NOT) !

    Reply
    • Ha-ha! I’m pleased I have helped to conjure up memories of what Spring should be like. Hopefully you won’t have to wait too much longer🙂

      Reply
  8. You projects are always of great craftsmanship, Avis x! Thanks for always sharing your ideas. Be Blessed, http://projectsbyMtetar.wordpress.com

    Reply
    • Thank you Mtetar. You are so kind🙂 By the way, there is no need to add your link to comments. If readers click on your name at the beginning of your comments it will send them straight to your blog. Take care, Avis x

      Reply
  9. Hi Avis! I’m happy to hear you don’t feel blue and have finally spring and sunshine! But blue I love – blue and white – always so perfect! Colours of Finnish and Greek flag! Blue sky, lakes – white snow, clouds …
    Your quilt looks wonderful! It is a great mix of Bargello and Scrappy trip. Also there is a sense of ‘cross stitching’ and embroidery patterns.
    Have a lovely day! x Teje

    Reply
    • Yes, they are the colours of your two flags🙂 However, we have grey or black lakes here, unlike your lovely blue ones. I see what you mean about the cross stitch….just like one of the charts. It’s sunny here again today!! Have fun Teje, Avis x

      Reply
  10. claire93

     /  April 4, 2013

    defintely a Bargello feel to it.
    As for Spring – we’ve got light snow falls this morning !!!

    Reply
    • More snow? You can keep it. We are told temperatures will return to average for April next week. It can’t come quick enough🙂

      Reply
  11. Beautiful! Blue has always been my favourite colour.🙂

    Reply
  12. witchylin

     /  April 4, 2013

    Such a fresh spring quilt Alvis. It certainly does look like a Bargello. The design in different colours could be made to match the seasons. This one gives the feeling a spring sky and the first warm days after the long winter. It looks fantastic.

    Reply
    • Well, I’ve already made a pink one and I’m busy with a monster teal, robin’s egg and turquoise one now. They’ll be posted soon. Last week it was pinwheels, now it’s this. As long as I get to sew, I’m happy🙂

      Reply
  13. This is absolutely beautiful!

    Reply
  14. I like your quilt! Trip around the world is a pattern I been wanting to try, but haven´t yet had the time🙂 When everyone was (still is!?) sewing that Bonnie Hunter Trip-pattern, I almost started my quilt.
    I like your choise of fabrics, the solid blues makes the quilt feel fresh!!
    Gun, Sweden

    Reply
    • i haven’t seen the Bonnie hunter one so I’m off to take a peep now🙂 I don’t know why I hadn’t tried this style until now but I’m pleased I did. I’ve actually made another two already😆 Avis x

      Reply
  15. primal quilting

     /  April 5, 2013

    Love the contrast! Maybe you could quilt circles on it…? haha I’m not sure, I’m no quilting pattern expert🙂

    Reply
    • Yes, circles would be fab! One problem……the starting and stopping and all the finishing off ends on my domestic machine. However, you were nearly right😉

      Reply
  16. Very nice top – can’t wait to see the quilting and binding.

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

