I’ve caught the pinwheel bug again!

Good evening everyone🙂 I hope you are all well!

I’ve got a couple of projects to share with you today.

The first is a whole bunch of pinwheels, twenty four to be precise🙂 I started to play around with a few scraps yesterday afternoon and made five pinwheels with different prints. Then, this morning, I was drawn back to my rotary cutter and the Mean Green Sewing Machine. As if by magic, the five became twenty four. I had to stop myself😉

I’m longing for Springtime and the pink is reminding me of the thrift flowers that should, by now, be starting grow on the cliff tops where I live. There is no sign of even the plants let alone the flowers! It is so cold. The crows are usually nest-building in the garden this month and there is no sign of any such activity.

So the pink is to symbolise the Spring we don’t yet have. Hurry up Springtime! We are putting the clocks forward this weekend, British Summer Time😉

Image

Now, I’m taking you all back to Winter with a woolly hat I’ve just finished for Mum. It is supposed to have a pom-pom but she doesn’t like them so it shall remain pom-pom-less. I made it in a couple of evenings and it is very thick and snuggly. It isn’t meant to be a dressy hat, just one that she can pull on when she needs to pop to the shops. I hope she likes it🙂

Image

That’s it for today!

I’m linking with WIP Wednesday over at Freshly Pieced.

Have fun!

Avis x

Leave a comment

27 Comments

  1. lisasff

     /  March 27, 2013

    Lovely! Pinwheels are almost stars, which are my favorite😀 LOVE LOVE LOVE that hat! Great color, awesome cables!

    Reply
  2. Love all your pinwheels! I’m looking forward to Spring to🙂

    Reply
  3. Pretty pinwheels. Pink is not my colour but I can appreciate the prettiness, and the hat looks very snuggly. Might need one if this snow does not go soon😉

    Reply
    • I’m not a pink fan either really but these ones are deeper than they look in the photo and they brightened a dull day. Someone out there will be having a baby and they will love pink🙂 As for the hat, I don’t know why I stopped knitting for decades. I’m enjoying it so much again. Avis x

      Reply
  4. love your pink pinwheels

    Reply
  5. WOW!!! How beautifully made both projects are. Any intentions for a matching scarf, gloves, or mittens? I’m sure she’s going to love this hat, so kindly give a feedback when she gets it. Thank you in advance and also for sharing. Thanks for also sharing your time changing. Be Blessed, http://projectsbyMtetar.wordpress.com

    Reply
    • Thank you Mtetar🙂 There are no plans for other accessories as Mum has plenty of those. I’m starting another hat in garnet red and I’ll ask her to model the hat for the blog went it is finished. I suspect she’ll be too shy😉 Avis x

      Reply
      • That’s a great idea! I look forward to seeing that post. You’re always welcome, Mtetar

        Reply
  6. claire93

     /  March 27, 2013

    I’m not really “pink” lol but love the variety: big dots, little dots, checks and what looks like floral, is it?
    and hope the hat keeps your Mum’s ears warm ^^

    Reply
    • Hi Claire, No me neither🙂 Your observations are quite correct, though there are only very muted flowers on one print, the one with the metallic honey bees. I do like all the checks and dots but my favourite print in this bundle is the one with the writing which has lots of sleep related words like “sweet dreams” etc. Avis x

      Reply
  7. I am no pink person, but your pinwheels are so sweet! They certainly make me happy and feel like spring is here!

    Reply
  8. Those pinwheels definitely caught my eye! Spring!!!!!! That hat is gorgeous and so functional your mom will love it!! Way to go!!!! Hugs, Doreen

    Reply
  9. Your pinwheels are so precise. Beautiful.

    Reply
  10. witchylin

     /  March 28, 2013

    Avis you have been busy. I’m not a pink person either however your pinwheels look fabulous. You are right here will be a baby girl out there somewhere who will look so cute snuggling under a pink quilt. The prints on the fabrics are very nice, now if only they were purple………..;-)
    I really love the hat. The perfect hat when I am dog walking. Must see if I have enough wool in my stash to make a similar one for me. I’m certain your Mum will love both it and the garnet red one. Having met her I think the garnet one will suit her very much.
    It is perfect weather for quilting, if only there wasn’t the kitchen upheaval here! Roll on spring I think we are all in need of some serious sunshine.

    Reply
    • Too right I’ve been busy🙂 That’s what holidays are for….sew, sew, sew! Well, that isn’t really all I’ve done but as much as possible anyway. Yep, not purple (and I’m now partial to red too) but the pink drew me in😉 You are absolutely right about the hat. If you have just over 100 grams of Aran (I had to go into the 2nd 100 gram ball for the last 9 rows) and you want to knit it, I’ll send you the pattern which is long out of copyright.
      By the way, we have sunshine today….blue sky! I hope you do too😀 Avis x

      Reply
  11. I love your pink pinwheels! So……what are you gonna do with them???? I think, this is the fun part of quilting. You sew some blocks and now you got to start thinking what to do with them🙂 Just to choose fabrics and colours, I love that part🙂
    Happy Easter!!!!!
    Gun, Sweden

    Reply
    • I’ve put them together with crisp white sashes and borders. Less is more with this one🙂 My favourite part is still hand stitching the binding, the finishing touch. Avis x

      Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

