Strawberries and cream!

Happy Sunday everyone!

Did my title conjure up thoughts of summertime? Sorry to disappoint πŸ˜‰ I am supposed to be away on a camping holiday but the UK is still in the grip of winter so we’ve cancelled. What a shame! I’ll just have to stay indoors and do patchwork. The strawberries and cream I’m talking about are the colours of my lovely fat quarters which you might recall here. They were a Mother’s Day surprise from my daughter. She chose well!

Three different prints and three fat quarters of red (I added one which I already had in my stash) Β  Β have been sewn together to make this quilt top. Does a lap quilt have to be square or rectangular? There I go breaking rules again πŸ˜† I did actually have the pieces laid out to make a rectangular quilt and was measuring up to add the filler pieces down each side…..but I managed to stop myself and do something different. Actually, this would make a lovely table topper if you had a huge circular table….just a thought.

Image

Well, I’ve had a lot of fun doing all the maths and deciding what to make. This little number stitched together like a dream.

ImageI also used the 60 degree ruler that she bought me for Christmas so it is really made with her inspiration and pennies. Thank you Eleanor. I hope you like what I’ve done with them πŸ™‚

Image

With the extra fat quarter print and another of red I made a table topper. I’m going to enjoy binding these different shapes.

Image

And then I had scraps! I can’t bear to have scraps πŸ˜‰ so I made a pillow sham front….or is it another table topper? Who knows.

Image

They are all now in the box “To be quilted” and will probably work their way to the front of the queue sooner than they should. I think I might be changing my mind about my favourite colour…maybe it is red and not purple after all πŸ™‚

I listened to BBC Radio 4 while I was sewing. I prefer spoken radio to music. Do you listen to radio when you are crafting?

The wool for Mum’s hats arrived yesterday so I have started to knit. Here is a progress update. I did this while watching TV last night. I’m knitting the hat in the photo at the bottom of the page but without the pom-pom. Mum doesn’t like pom-poms. I need 5 inches of rib and I’ve done 4 inches so far. This one will match Mum’s winter coat and the garnet red one, which will follow, will match her fleece jacket. It seemed wise to start with the camel one as winter is refusing to leave us at the moment.

Image

It feels so good to be on holiday after such a long stretch of work and family commitments. I’ve had two whole days to play and I’ve thoroughly enjoyed every second. Hopefully you have had lots of crafting time too.

I’m off to catch up on reading my favourite blogs. I can’t wait to see what you have all been up to. Then tonight, I’ll be knitting some more.

I’m linking with Fabric Tuesday and Linky TuesdayΒ  πŸ™‚ Thanks to my lovely friendΒ Teje for reminding me!

Have a great week!

Avis x

Leave a comment

47 Comments

  1. Nice!!!! I like the 60 degree pattern. IΒ΄m using the very same ruler, when I sew my triangles. At least that what I started with, but somehow I forgot to use it on the last triangles πŸ™‚
    Now that IΒ΄ve seen the hat youΒ΄re knitting, I know your mother will be pleased!
    Gun, Sweden

    Reply
  2. Your strawberries and cream projects are fabulous. I love the freshness of the red and white. And congrats on using up the scraps. You’re a girl after my own heart…. Your mum will truly appreciate her new hat, especially in the weather we are having at the moment. Enjoy your holiday.

    Reply
    • Thanks Lucie! Yes, Mum’s ears are poking out of her current hat so she is well overdue a new one. I enjoy knitting so it won’t take me long to finish it πŸ™‚ Avis x

      Reply
  3. I was thinking table topper too – its very striking

    you let snow stop you? you must be proper softies! get a medival tent, they stay up in all weathers and are so much nicer than modern ones

    Reply
    • Ha-ha! Yes, I’m definitely getting soft in my old age πŸ˜‰ I’ve woken up to snow several times when camping and it isn’t fun (in my eyes). Much nicer to stay at home and sew. Thanks for visiting again. Avis x

      Reply
  4. First off…..that hat (and the one to follow) will be greatly appreciated I’m sure. (Will this winter ever end???) You have done wonders with your lovely gifted fabric and I so love that it isn’t all a square, rectangle or smooth circle! ” Think outside the box”, I say!!!! “Strawberries and cream” weather can’t come soon enough for me! (Although, I do have to say that I have a large number of flimsies to quilt at the moment!!!!!) Hugs, Doreen

    Reply
    • Well, the rib is lovely and snuggly as it is Aran weight wool. Also, the 5 inches will be doubled over and should grip around the ears nicely. I’ll get her to model it when I’m done πŸ˜‰ Hopefully, I’ll get a whole load of crafting done this week! Avis x

      Reply
  5. Looks like a great finish. Congratulations. I love the hexagonal shape!!!

    Reply
  6. Hi Avis! You made wonderful disigns with those beautiful fabrics! The biggest would be fantastic table topper! Enjoy your holidays and knitting! I hope you get spring soon – I had my coffee brake with octagons in the garden – bare feet first time this spring! x Teje

    Reply
    • Oh Teje! I went to get petrol on Friday night and the wind whipped around my head. It was so cold it really hurt 😦 We would definitely appreciate the beginning of spring here. The birds seem so confused. You must be careful not to sunburn your toes πŸ˜‰ Enjoy! Avis x

      Reply
  7. I love it! Lovely hexagons… Almost an optical illusion.

    Reply
  8. Too bad about the camping trip. Our TV news last night showed people in the UK being dug out of their snow bound cars. Definitely not camping weather.

    Reply
    • Yes, we are lucky here on the North-East coast. I think this is the only area in the UK without snow. It’s the winds from Siberia that are doing the damage here. Brrrr! It’s hard to believe it was over 20 degrees C this weekend last year. At least we still have electricity, unlike tens of thousands of others here, and I can still sew and chat with my lovely virtual friends πŸ™‚ Avis x

      Reply
  9. Shame you had to cancel your holiday away but it does look like you’re having fun. Isn’t it lovely when the family start buying you fat quarters!

    Reply
    • I’ve definitely had a lot of fun over the past two days. Crafting gifts are definitely the best for me πŸ™‚ I would never have bought these fabrics myself but I really love them. More pleeeease! Avis x

      Reply
  10. Avis you should be very proud of these. The Hexagon is perfect for these colours. You knit very well also, ooks like a nice snuggly warm beanie xx Debbierose πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Thank you Debbierose πŸ™‚ Trouble is, I’m already thinking about the triangular pieces of backing and batting that I will be chopping off. Any ideas welcome πŸ˜‰ Avis x

      Reply
  11. A BEAUTY!!! Talking about red and white. Your red and white project would make a Great Christmas or Valentine’s Gift. I like your way of displaying the fabrics. I’m looking forward to seeing your mom’s hat finished. I listen to more music than radio. Now a days if I do, I listen to something inspirational on the radio. Thank you for stopping by my blog today. Be Blessed, Mtetar

    Reply
    • Thank you Mtetar. I thought the red and cream reminded me of my trip to Norway when I was 10 years old. There were a lot of red and white cushions and tablecloths in the hostel I stayed in. You are quite correct, Christmas or Valentine’s Day would also suit them well. Avis x

      Reply
      • You’re very welcome, Avis x! Red and Cream are also very nice together and look nice during the Winter. Be Blessed, Mtetar

        Reply
  12. Brilliant! Can’t wait to see it quilted. πŸ™‚ Snow around here, too – looks like a white Easter this year. πŸ™„

    Reply
    • Would I swap some snow for our bitterly cold winds?…..probably not. The daffodils would normally have been battered to the ground by now but they have been checked by the icy temperatures and haven’t bothered to grow much. I think this project could be quilted quite soon as I’m definitely not going outside πŸ˜‰ Avis x

      Reply
  13. The quilt is lovely. I like your given title, Strawberries and Cream. Wonderful idea to stray from the regular shape.

    Reply
    • Thank you very much. I was worried the quilt police would come after me πŸ™‚ I’m now thinking “wall-hanging” as I could put a pole across the widest part to keep it flat against the wall. Avis x

      Reply
  14. Wow you have been busy making lovely things. Sorry to disappoint you but my Mum (in Cumbria!) my sister (in Eccles, Manchester) and my friend (in Hale in Cheshire) all have no snow either, so you are not alone…. but very lucky πŸ˜‰
    I think we have had all your snow. Would you like it back now??

    Reply
  15. I think that non-rectangular quilts are going to be very hot very soon. Have you seen Julie Herman’s recent “Sweetheart Quilt” pattern? I think you did right not making it square up. I also love that you’ve used just the reds from Summersville!

    Reply
    • Thank you Laura. Welcome to my blog πŸ™‚ That would be the first time I was ever “on trend”. I hadn’t seen the Sweetheart pattern until now. It is lovely and looks very easy to make. Thank you for pointing me in that direction. I didn’t choose the fabrics myself so I can’t take any credit for that but I do love this fabric line in all colours. Avis x

      Reply
  16. witchylin

     /  March 25, 2013

    Avis, I love your red and white quilt. There can be many uses for such a wonderful hexagon. I quite like the idea of a wall hanging. The little one made from the fat quarter left over is lovely and would look perfect on a table at Christmas. What a brilliant use of scraps. You will find a use for the ‘pillow sham’ when you come to quilt it I’m sure.
    Having a crafting break is so much better than camping in the snow. We were lucky too with very little snow. It has all gone now.
    The hats will be appreciated by your Mum. The style is so warm. You are such a neat knitter.
    No crafting for me for the next three weeks. A new kitchen is the order of the day. My OH decided to do the bathroom at the same time. YIKES!!!!!!! There is paint and mess all over the house. Can’t even see the sewing machines and the quilt I am working on at the moment is hidden away in the den in case it gets covered in dust and paint. We have had new ceilings in the kitchen and bathroom so you can imagine the mess. Can’t wait to get my kitchen finished and have the sewing machines out and running. Definitely missing my daily crafting fix, so reading your blog helps the withdrawal symptoms a great deal. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
    • Thank you Lin πŸ™‚ There were times in the past when I would have been a bit put out to say the least if I’d had to cancel a holiday. However, I’ve had such a busy couple of months that I’m quite happy to put my feet up πŸ™‚ Your kitchen and bathroom re-fits are going to be wonderful. I bet you can’t wait to get back to having a nice kitchen with your lovely farmhouse table to work on. The last two days for me have been amazing crafting β€œtherapy”. It is surprising how quick you can get back into the crafting groove when you get the chance. Avis x

      Reply
  17. lisasff

     /  March 25, 2013

    Didn’t I comment already? Hum… They both are lovely! I can only comment on the knitting, and barely at that! Fantastic! I haven’t – yet! – seen a hat pattern for knitting that isn’t done in the round. How unique!! And a lovely stitch too.

    PS. The quilting would make a lovely table topper

    Reply
    • Many UK hat patterns are knit on two needles. It does make knitting easier (I think) but then you do need to stitch up the seam invisibly. I don’t mind stitching πŸ™‚ I have changed the pattern slightly from the one in the photo. The original has the cable twists elongated on every third twist. I thought it looked like a mistake so I’ve made my twists evenly spaced. I’ve got 8 inches knit up now and I’m really enjoying it πŸ˜€ Avis x

      Reply
      • lisasff

         /  March 25, 2013

        Interesting! So much to learn! I’ve done crochet hats like that, though most do seem to be in the round. I’ll have to look out for some like that.

        Reply
  18. Red and white always looks so great together. So pretty.

    Reply
  19. Lauren aka Giddy99

     /  March 28, 2013

    Love the red and white blocks/projects so much! Gorgeous works.

    Reply
  20. Beautiful red and white blocks and projects! Isn’t it fun to use up the scraps in different ways! Thanks for sharing.
    Freemotion by the River Linky Party Tuesday

    Reply
  21. Oh wow, I love your quilts, so simple but stunning.
    ClaireBear

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

