Sixth finish of 2013!

Hi everyone, I hope you are all enjoying a wonderful weekend πŸ™‚ A special warm welcome goes out to my new followers.

I’ve been sewing, hurray!! So I have a finished project to share with you all. A sneaky peek of this one was published earlier but the binding wasn’t done. I’ve now added the binding which is my favourite part of making any quilt. It is machined to the front and invisibly slip stitched to the back. This is a simple design to make up. The prints are from a charm pack and I teamed them up with two solid colours to tone down the Christmassy shades of the prints. Now it lifts my neutral colour scheme quite nicely in my conservatory and the greens bring a bit of the garden inside πŸ™‚

Image

Image

I’ve used a variegated quilting thread which is full of copper and gold shades to blend in nicely with the solids. I hope you can see the different colours in this close up photo.

Image

Β 

It’s quite a good size for a snuggle up on the sofa or as a bed topper. Here it is folded in half.

Β 

Β 

Image

Β 

and ready to use……

Image

Β 

I know you are all waiting to see what those luscious red fabrics from my last post turn into but I couldn’t possibly start a new quilting project before I finished this one……could I? What I do know is that they are going to make a very blocky modern style quilt, nothing complicated as I want to let the fabrics do the talking…….makes a change from me πŸ˜‰

I went to Mum’s yesterday to take her for a wander around her new neighbourhood. It was freezing!!!! and there was quite a chilly breeze too. I noticed she was wearing a really old knitted hat that had seen better days and her ears weren’t quite tucked in enough. Guess what I’m going to knit πŸ˜€ I think I’ll probably be doing something with aran wool and cables, not too bright. It’ll be a simple bobble hat without the pom-pom as she wouldn’t appreciate a pom-pom πŸ˜† I’ll knit a thick stretchy rib to keep each ear as snug as a bug in a rug.

I must go and order the wool!

I’ve also been tidying up the old blog a bit. I now have three separate pages, one for each year of crafting. They can be accessed via the tabs at the top of this page entitled Finished 2011, 2012 and 2013.

Enjoy the rest of the weekend πŸ˜€

Avis x

Leave a comment

47 Comments

  1. Ok I have to say, I am so impressed, 6 finishes!!! and I am struggling to finish one quilt. I don’t know how you do it. I feel exhausted just thinking about it πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. claire93

     /  March 16, 2013

    tell me Avis, when you do your swirly quilting, do you have an intelligent machine which does all of this on its own (like embroidery machines that can be programmed) or do you draw lines by hand and then follow?

    Reply
    • Neither. I roll my quilt onto a big frame like an embroidery frame but bigger. My machine sits on a tray with little wheels and I push the machine around. The frame takes the weight of the quilt so I don’t have to drag it back and forth. The machine I use for quilting is straight stitch only, a Juki TL98P. It is a domestic machine and is not computerised (doesn’t even do zig-zag and can’t be programmed in any way). I just do it free motion and I don’t draw anything on my quilts. I would love a longarm machine and a posh frame/table but it isn’t going to happen without a lottery win πŸ™‚ Avis x

      Reply
  3. I like your quilt (I always do πŸ™‚ ) I like the softness in the colours! I donΒ΄t know what a bobble hat is, but IΒ΄m sure your mother will like it! πŸ™‚
    Gun, Sweden

    Reply
  4. Your quilting is beautiful! I tried a Juki at QuiltCon and really liked it. It was very easy to free motion quilt with it.

    Reply
    • I bought it just over a year ago. I was told to buy a fast machine and the Juki was recommended. I find it too fast for patchwork piecing but great for running up curtains etc. I use my late Mother in Law’s old Husquvarna for piecing at the moment but I might get used to the Juki one day. Avis x

      Reply
  5. Beautiful work as always Avis. Love the use of the variegated thread, its a lovely touch.

    Izz

    Reply
  6. As always Avis x, your post are sooooo worth reading, and the pics are beautiful. The quilt is lovely as well as the fabrics. What a wonderful way of spending your day you chose. Time with mom is precious and will always be remembered. Great thought of making her a hat, and I’m sure its going to be appreciated by her. Be Blessed, http://projectsbyMtetar.wordpress.com

    Reply
    • Thank you Mtetar. Only thing is, I’m not sure Mum enjoyed it that much as it was so cold and windy πŸ™‚ I’ve just ordered two lots of aran wool. One is a camel shade and the other garnet red. They will match her winter coats. I can’t wait to get started on the knitting. In the meantime…. I’m cross-stitching this evening πŸ™‚ Avis x

      Reply
  7. Oh that’s really beautiful Avis. I like the really simple designs that let the fabrics stand out. Interesting to read how you do the quilting too as I know I would really struggle to do that on my machine.

    Reply
    • Believe me, I tried and failed many times without the frame. The quilts are simply too big for me to (wo)manhandle. I know some quilters manage with great success but not me πŸ™‚ Avis x

      Reply
  8. Ahhhh…..that is a lovely one! You are so right…..cozy and lovely–just what a quilt should be. I am glad you are able to make up a head warmer for your mum! Will watch for your updates. Glad to hear the move is working out well and you are back to sewing!!!!! Hugs……

    Reply
  9. Fits perfectly. I like the quilting thread you chose. πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to see the red and white Moda quilt.

    Reply
  10. Love the variegated thread and nice stipple on your quilt. Thanks for following my blog.

    Reply
  11. Avis what a lovely finish. I agree with the saying less is more, and this simple design, is wonderful. xx Debbierose πŸ™‚

    Reply
  12. Gorgeous quilt Avis. I really admire your work. You are a great inspiration to beginners like me.

    Reply
  13. Wow I wish I was on six finishes of the year! My crafts are feeling slightly neglected by uni work at the moment but hopefully I will be able to claim back the time over summer. I really want to have a go at making a quilt…this will probably be the next craft I turn my hand to!

    Reply
    • Oh the uni work is most important. Good luck with that πŸ™‚ I’ve tried many different crafts over the years and still do most of them but patchwork is by far my favourite. Go for it! But beware, it is very addictive Avis x

      Reply
  14. lyndellmaree

     /  March 17, 2013

    Gorgeous – the colour choice is divine πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Thank you. I can’t take credit for the prints as they were all in the same Moda charm pack. I just teamed it up with the solids and it worked πŸ™‚ Avis x

      Reply
  15. Your work is beautiful! Great job with the finishing.

    Reply
  16. Oh my….. Where do I start?

    Neat, gorgeous, prolific, inspiring… I could go on

    Reply
    • Aaaw! Thanks Tiny πŸ˜€ This is probably my least favourite quilt so far. Just goes to show what I know πŸ˜† I’m not really a fan of beige (even though my house if full of it). Avis x

      Reply
  17. Keep it up! I need to finish so many things before I begin a new project. Thanks for the inspiration!

    Reply
    • I’m very disciplined about finishing a quilt top before I start another. Unfortunately, I enjoy piecing more than quilting so I have a box full of tops to be quilted πŸ™‚ Thank you for visiting and commenting. Avis x

      Reply
  18. I cannot believe you’ve finished 6 items in 2013. Wow!

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

