A bit of this and that!

Hello lovely bloggers πŸ˜€

I hope you are all having a very crafty time!

I have been saving this recent finished project to share with you while my busy time at home continues. You may remember, just over a year ago here, that I had treated myself to a few lovely Moda remnants and wondered what to do with them.Β 

I eventually decided to use some of them on a disappearing nine-patch quilt. I posted about the finished top and included a very mini photo tutorial for anyone who wasn’t familiar with this pattern here. I love this pattern so much that I’ve made several quilts using it. There are various ways to arrange the blocks. You can choose a very regular pattern as I did hereΒ (see from the third photo down) and hereΒ (one of my favourite quilts ever). Alternatively, as I did with this one, you can go for a very scrappy patchy look. My Mum loves this one πŸ˜€

Image

I have no idea why this is the only green quilt I have ever made. I love these shades as they are all the colours of nature….grass, trees and wheat fields.Image

Since I was on a nature fix πŸ˜‰ I did the quilting in a regular surfy waves pattern. I love quilting this pattern. It satisfies my desire for neatness and tidiness (I hope my sister isn’t reading this πŸ˜† …..ssh! I can hear you giggling sis!)

Image

And another close up for good measure, very important in quilting too πŸ˜‰

Image

One more just to show off the squishy snuggly goodness on the reverse πŸ™‚ The backing and binding are in my favourite Moda ivory solid. It looks just like Jersey gold top milk in real life, creamy scrumptiousness!!

Image

Now, what else? Well, I’m continuing with the blackwork SAL with Claire here. I’ve actually finished the project but I mustn’t reveal all until everyone else is done. I’ll let you see the next finished stage soon.

MyΒ ripple blanket is also coming along nicely but as it grows, it is becoming very warm to sit under while I am crocheting. I must finish it before the winter leaves us or I won’t be able to bear working on it again until next year πŸ™‚

So now, I have the rest of the day free Yey!! I’m off to continue cross stitching the Bothy Threads Narrow Boat. This image is from Bothy Threads.Β 

Cut Thru' Narrow Boat

Happy Sunday everyone πŸ˜€

Avis x

Previous Post
Leave a comment

54 Comments

  1. claire93

     /  February 10, 2013

    I’m like you, I love all those natural colours – and really admire your quilting.

    Reply
    • I’ve got plenty of these fabrics left so there’ll be something else appearing eventually. Actually, log cabin blocks could be good…… πŸ˜‰

      Reply
  2. Lovely. Mum is working on one now in similar shades, picked by Big Little Bro’s girlfriend to go with their bedroom decor. Need photos of your blanket please πŸ˜‰

    Reply
    • You can click the link to see my blanket. I’ve continued in the same stripes as before. If you want a “now” picture I’ll email one. Just let me know and you can have one πŸ™‚ Avis x

      Reply
  3. As much as I love the blue/white combo, green (any shade but especially hunter/forest) has been number one on my fave list for as long as I can remember. I can see why that disappearing 9 patch is such a favorite! And the quilting is perfect! I could have used that on my “Wave” quilt!!! Did you do any “stitch in the ditch” on it before the patterned stitching?? I was going to on mine but decided I wanted the “all-over” crinkles w/o any interruption of straight line stitching. Got a bit precarious when I did the darker green outer border (just before the 12″ border). It wanted to “bubble up” as I did the smaller swirl in it but it came out ok once the wider border was finished. I think this quilt is just what I needed to see during this winter gray-ness/rainy-ness! Hugs…….

    Reply
    • Hi Doreen, No I didn’t stitch in the ditch at all πŸ™‚ Funnily enough, I haven’t done that on any of my quilts and it never occurred to me. The last time I did, it was on a table runner and it worked well. Next time I might try off-setting the lines of waves, who knows πŸ˜€ You managed very well on your quilt. I love it for all sorts of reasons πŸ˜‰ Avis x

      Reply
      • I have done that initial stitching/stabilizing so that I can remove most/all the pin-basting making it a lot easier to quilt but the over-all finish is a bit different with the addition of the straight line stitching. It’s nice but different! Blessings……

        Reply
  4. Oh, Avis, this is lovely! Just like walking in a forest, very refreshening πŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. I can see why, and it is because of its uniqueness, and blending of the colors and shades. It’s impressive. Mtetar

    Reply
  6. Hi Avis! I’m happy to hear that you have time to enjoy your cross stitching! This quilt is beautiful! I love the forest colours and that pattern is also my favourite. I have made one blue quilt top with dis.9patch but it’s forgotten ufo. I wish you wonderful week! x Teje

    Reply
    • Hi Teje, I’m cross-stitching at this very moment, hurray! You must finish you blue quilt. I’m sure I’ll make many more with this pattern πŸ˜€ Have a wonderful week! Avis x

      Reply
      • I know I should finish it but first I should frog lots of unsuccessful quilting – and I love those blue colours I have used in it. x Teje

        Reply
  7. Great looking quilt. Well done. Doesn’t it feel good to Finish it Up.

    Reply
  8. Those colours are just lovely and I think the quilt is beautiful. I have used this pattern once before and really enjoyed making the quilt, mainly in a red colour-way.
    I think yours is much nicer than mine. I’ve still got a lot of practising to do and even more courage to muster before experimenting with stitch patterns on my quilts!

    Reply
    • Thank you so much Ann πŸ™‚ I must admit it is scary experimenting and I often resort to what I’ve found works in the past. I sometimes try a sample piece first but occasionally I get a bit impatient and just go for it πŸ™‚ I have been caught out more than once being far too bold for my own good. That’ll teach me…not πŸ˜‰ Avis x

      Reply
  9. Yes, you should make another green quilt–lovely!

    Reply
  10. Love the colours. Maybe I should take another try at machine piecing with this pattern. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  11. I love the fabrics youΒ΄re using! They go so well together. And the quilting………when will I ever learn to do it as nice as you do πŸ™‚
    Gun, Sweden

    Reply
    • Thank you Gun! When will I ever be brave and make the most of the colours that you put together so well? We’d make a good team πŸ˜‰ Avis x

      Reply
  12. A gorgeous quilt . I love your wavey quilting. It looks so evenly spaced. Beautiful work Avis.
    Linny πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Thank you very much! The patches are very “blocky” so it was quite straightforward. The squares needed 1 or 4 waves and the rectangles were given 2 x 1 waves πŸ™‚ Avis x

      Reply
  13. That combination of colours is beautiful. The quilt is perfection! I will have to get the courage some day to do the quilting on the two quilt tops I have sitting in my sewing room. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  14. Fabulous as usual…

    Reply
  15. I love your quilt and its colors too! You are inspiring me to try another quilt. My one and only quilt was a Trip around the world in shades of pink for my niece.

    Reply
    • I haven’t made a trip around the world quilt yet. Notice I said “yet” πŸ™‚ That’s another one on the to-do list πŸ˜‰ My sister has one half made in blues. Looks fab so far. Avis x

      Reply
  16. Yvonne

     /  February 11, 2013

    Absolutely gorgeous, the colours in that quilt are just to die for x

    Reply
  17. witchylin

     /  February 11, 2013

    Lovely shades of green Avis. I really like the way the colours compliment each other in your arrangement. I do like the wavy quilting too. It lends itself perfectly to the colours and the softness of the quilt.

    Reply
    • Thanks Lin, I had fun arranging them. It is so difficult to do “random”. I always go back and reposition colours and then it isn’t random at all πŸ™‚ Avis x

      Reply
  18. Gail

     /  February 11, 2013

    Beautiful quilts and colours, thank you for sharing. I am so inspired by your mini 9-patch tutorial I’m going to leap out of bed early tomorrow morning and actually start on my first disappearing 9-patch quilt (instead of just stroking all my fat quarters and other fabrics and thinking which colours look good together).

    Reply
  19. Wonderful, I was not familiar with a disappearing 9 patch, so thanks for doing this one, and adding to my future projects list xx Debbierose

    Reply
  20. Elisabeth

     /  February 14, 2013

    Gorgeous quilting, Avis! Greetings from Austria!

    Reply
  21. Oh wow! That is beautiful! I love those colors, too, for the very same reason.

    Reply
  22. i like your colours a lot. great choice! we should all do more green quilts πŸ™‚

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

