Just a quickie!

Happy Sunday everyone!

It’s busy, busy, busy here at the moment so I’m just dropping in with a couple of WIPs.

This quilt top still needs binding. I made it a couple of weeks ago.

Image

This blackwork (in purple) is the first completed stage of Claire’s SAL. It is only about 2 inches across. I’m sure Claire would love you to join in. Her English blog is on my blogroll at the right hand side of this page if you want to see more details in English. The chart is free at http://www.practicalblackwork.com and we are stitching it over 6 weeks 😀

Image

Got to get busy again 🙂

Avis x

Previous Post
Leave a comment

26 Comments

  1. claire93

     /  February 3, 2013

    very pretty in purple ^^ I have pinched your photo to add it to the gallery

    Reply
  2. That blackwork pattern looks really pretty! I think I might like to participate in that SAL! Thanks for the link!

    Reply
  3. Yvonne

     /  February 3, 2013

    Hi Avis, I love the colours in the quilt, it would be perfect in my house! 🙂 Yvonne (Tartanpants!)

    Reply
  4. Your blackwork is so beautiful!!!!
    Gun, Sweden

    Reply
  5. They’re both beautiful, and I like the colors. Mtetar

    Reply
  6. Pretty colors in the quilt! Nice pattern, too.

    Reply
  7. The quilt is so pretty. I am so loving this trend toward the simple, clean lines in both piecing and the stitching. The stitchery is awesome! Can’t do that any more so will appreciate your work even more!!! Blessings, Doreen

    Reply
  8. I just love this quilt pattern and the effect of separating the patterns with solid colours. You are so inspiring Avis. regards Linny

    Reply
    • Thank you so much! The patches looked quite Christmassy on their own so I needed to dress them down a bit. Solids are my favourites 😀 Avis x

      Reply
  9. Lovely block pattern, I love the less is more principle. Your medallion is looking wonderful alos.

    Reply
    • Yes, there are times when I like intricate patterns too but these prints are quite busy so I tried to calm them down a bit 😉 Avis x

      Reply
  10. witchylin

     /  February 4, 2013

    Avis the blackwork looks lovely. It is very striking on the coloured Aida. As for your quilt. Such gentle shades, so relaxing. Nice feeling to start using up the stash and making something so attractive.

    Reply
    • He-he! The aida is brilliant white in real life. It’s the photography that went wrong here or maybe just lack of light 🙂 The beige is actually more caramel but it is still quite soothing to look at. Definitely a stash buster but I used up my last charm pack plus solids on this occasion. Avis x

      Reply
  11. I can’t seem to find a chart anywhere for the blackwork… What is the link?

    Reply
  12. Nice! I like the quilt. Oddly enough I was looking at books on whitework embroidery this morning, and here you are doing black work! 🙂

    Reply
    • He-he! I love whitework too 🙂 I’ve just bought a piece of royal blue aida and I’m going to experiment with it.The two SALs I’ve done with Claire are very small but are so effective. I’m really pleased with the results for so little input of precious time. Enjoy! Avis x

      Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

