Pinwheels in pink!

Happy Monday everyone!

It’s time to show you my latest finish. I made the quilt top a few weeks ago when I made my bags. I split the charm pack called Dogwood Trail by Moda into blues and pinks because I didn’t like them together. The blues plus a few scraps were made into my blue bag and the pink ones plus some white and pink solids were used to make this quilt.

I hope you like it πŸ™‚

Image

A few close ups….

Image

Imageand the back….

ImageThe binding is machine stitched to the front and hand stitched to the back.

Image

Roly poly!

ImageI love pinwheels πŸ˜€

I hope you’ve had a lovely day!

Avis x

Leave a comment

57 Comments

  1. claire93

     /  January 21, 2013

    I’m not a pink person, but with all those lovely greens, this is really pretty ^^

    Reply
  2. Beautiful pinwheels. I love pink and green together. Very fresh looking. Well done.

    Reply
    • I’m not taking credit for the colours. I just dumped the blues into another project πŸ˜‰ I must admit I was disappointed to see the greens in there too but I like it now it is done πŸ™‚

      Reply
  3. Your pinwheel quilt is beautiful and I’m not a big fan of pink! I am glad you separated it from the blues, the green accents are perfect. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Thank you very much πŸ™‚ Yes, the blues clashed awfully! Don’t know why they were in the same pack but each to their own. Avis x

      Reply
  4. Beautiful!! I’m seeing so much of the pink right now! Guess everyone (in this hemisphere) is waiting…….waiting……! The quilting is so perfect for this. I would be very pleased to have something along these lines right now….especially! Well done…..hugs, Doreen

    Reply
  5. I am IN LOVE with that quilt. I just love the colors, the pattern, the quilting. LOVE I tell you. πŸ˜€ Beautiful.

    Reply
  6. lisasff

     /  January 21, 2013

    Love this. Reminds me of the one my mom made for my first daughter – called Stinky Feet! πŸ˜€ The pinks and greens are lovely together.

    Reply
  7. What a nice quilt! Those two colours go very well together. And YES……IΒ΄m back πŸ™‚ Swapped PC and working on finding all my friends in the quiltworld πŸ™‚
    Gun, Sweden

    Reply
  8. Beautiful – and beautifully quilted! Good job. The colors are so soft!

    Reply
  9. Just gorgeous – I love everything about it x πŸ™‚

    Reply
  10. Denby

     /  January 21, 2013

    Beautiful quilt. I especially like the way that you have quilted all the plain colours. This has created texture and the the back looks every bit as good as the front. Sometimes the back of a quilt can be slightly boring but your clever thinking has created a quilt that looks beautiful on both sides.

    Reply
    • Thank you so much Denby. You’ve spotted everything I tried to do!! I was “sew tempted” (ha-ha) to do overall quilting but I decided not to after remembering my Gift Box quilt from a while back. I think it works too πŸ˜€

      Reply
  11. The green with the pink is lovely, quite springy! Quilting is lovely too. Well done you x

    Reply
  12. Gail

     /  January 21, 2013

    Wonderful quilt, I am so impressed. As a very novice quilter, this is the first time I’ve seen a quilt where the quilting is not over the whole quilt; such a lovely idea.

    Reply
  13. Oh, sew pretty! I love pinwheels too. Is this a gift or for you?

    Reply
  14. Hi Avis. I am such a huge fan of pinwheels, this is no exception! Thanks for stopping by my blog recently and by reading a few of your posts, you’ve reminded me that I wanted to join in on WIP Wednesdays – I need something to keep me accountable πŸ˜‰ Jules

    Reply
    • I love your blog name πŸ™‚ and your blog! The reason I put the WIP logo up there is to remind me too. I do like to finish what I start but I just forget to do the linky thing. They are a great way to show and tell and make lots of lovely new crafty pals πŸ˜€ Avis x

      Reply
  15. One lovely Quilt, and Great Craftsmanship. Thank for sharing. Mtetar http://projectsbyMtetar.wordpress.com

    Reply
  16. Avis, perfect quilting – as always!!

    Reply
  17. I love that you’ve quilted alternate triangles so that with the view from the back, the pinwheel pattern still stands out.
    Just out of interest, why do you machine one side of the binding and hand-stitched to the front? I’ve so far only made three quilts and have machine bound both sides, but maybe I’m doing it wrong :S
    Really love the colours by the way – gorgeous as always πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Hi, thank you for your lovely comment! I have hand stitched to the back as I’m not keen on having a machined line showing on the front. I don’t seem to get it quite right when I machine on both sides but I probably need more practice as I’ve only tried it that way twice. I don’t think there is a right or wrong way, it is just personal choice and I haven’t been quilting for very long really so I just see what works for me. I have seen quilts made where the binding is sewn by machine to the back using straight stitch and then again from the front with a decorative stitch. I love that idea and would use it myself but I only have straight and zig-zag stitches. Hope this helps πŸ˜€ Avis x

      Reply
      • Thank you ~ makes sense now! I guess I’m too impatient and, so far at least, my quilts aren’t of a high enough quality to warrant the extra work at the end πŸ˜€
        Maybe one day…

        Reply
        • It does take a while to hand stitch but it took me almost as long to machine stitch the ones I didn’t do well. I’m sure your quilts are wonderful quality. Your customers wouldn’t buy your handmade items if they weren’t good. When you do get time, have a go! Avis x

          Reply
  18. Sew Rosey

     /  January 23, 2013

    Pin wheels are lovely, and Pink one of my fav’s, great job. Do you do you own stipple quilting?? I have not tried it yet, it is on my plan of future projects to tackle.

    Reply
    • Thank you and welcome to my blog πŸ™‚ Yes, I do all of my own quilting. I can definitely recommend trying it yourself. There are some excellent videos on Youtube to follow. Good luck! Avis x

      Reply
  19. Avis, this is so beautiful quilt! I love pinwheeles and pink is so good with green! How I missed your post – it’s already Thursday? I need to make some pinwheeles to make my day! Happy sewing! x Teje

    Reply
    • Thank you so much Teje πŸ™‚ I also miss sewing when I don’t do it for a few days. I have a busy couple of weeks ahead, so hopefully I’ll be able to find time to sew πŸ™‚ Avis x

      Reply
  20. Really lovely Avis!! I love pink and it is such a happy blanket.

    How do you fit so much in? I’m always so impressed.

    Reply
    • Thank you! I try to sew something everyday but it doesn’t always work that way. There won’t be much sewing over the next couple of weeks….too busy! but I did save a couple of finishes to share if I get time to post πŸ™‚ Avis x

      Reply
  21. So pretty and fresh Avis – love it!

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

