Every cloud…..

Hello everyone πŸ™‚

It’s time for another reveal!

This time it is my variation on chevrons quilt. You may remember the quilt top I made last year.

Image

Well, I decided in my infinite wisdom (not) that it would be a great idea to put a scrappy binding on this one. The reason was that the design was meant to use up an entire charm pack, no scraps. So I split the pack into darks and lights, teamed the lights with blue strip borders and the darks with ivory strip borders. Because of the numbers of darks and lights, I had three blue border strips and three ivory ones. A lack of symmetry!!! Oh no! Already overcome by the “lack of symmetry shakes”, I decided not to worry because the idea of using all the charm pack was still being adhered to. I also have an aversion to having leftover scraps, you see πŸ™‚ So the scrappy border seemed like a good idea at the time. Wrong!!

Here is what it looked like after completely sewing by machine to the front and having about a quarter hand stitched to the back.

Image

I really didn’t like it and I thought long and hard about frogging the whole binding. I was a bit miffed that I’d wasted the time making the binding and then got so far before deciding to take stock. I decided there was no way I could live with the binding and it would have to go. So, I frogged it this morning and attached a new one. That’s better πŸ™‚

Image

So, the alternating strip borders were the root of the problem. I thought a scrappy binding would blend well but it completely fought against the rest of the design. I quilted all over with a sort of elongated figure of eight squiggle in rows.

Image

Every cloud has a silver lining, so they say πŸ˜€

Have a lovely day,

Avis x

Leave a comment

38 Comments

  1. I love this quilt! Thanks for sharing it. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. Hi Avis! Now it looks beautiful! I like it better with the new binding. But you had a lot of work to change it! I love your colours and the pattern is great! You said something about like minded … in the morning I had 5 min. and I wanted to mix the pinwheeles … I ordered them like chevrons but so that every half of chevron goes ‘one up’ = not > but like sik sak with colour and white .. I guess you can’t follow my thought but you’ll see.
    What’s on your table now? x Teje

    Reply
    • Oh yes I can follow what you mean Teje. Sounds great! My chevrons were almost pinwheels as they are made from half-square triangles but I’ve done a few of those now so I did chevrons this time πŸ™‚ Next up for me is to quilt one of three charm pack tops I have waiting in a queue (box) πŸ˜‰ Have fun Teje! Avis x

      Reply
  3. well I think it looks great xx

    Reply
  4. Like you, I hate to rip. But sometimes it is really worth it. And your plain binding works so much better.

    Reply
  5. Goodness Avis, I do wish I had your talent πŸ™‚ That’s really lovely – are you keeping it for yourself?

    Reply
    • Yes, all mine πŸ˜€ Luckily I don’t have neighbours who pop in for a coffee and walk away with a quilt πŸ˜‰ Sorry, I couldn’t resist after your sock-athon! This quilt is just triangles and strips sewn together so it is really easy to make. Thanks for your lovely comment πŸ™‚ Avis x

      Reply
  6. Lovely!!! Great job of patience. Feel free to visit my blog, and view my award category for your nomination. Be Blessed, Mtetar

    Reply
  7. I agree with you πŸ™‚ It look much better with the new binding! ItΒ΄s funny how some quilts doesnΒ΄t go with any binding you try and some fit at once!!! The binding is actually a very important part of the quilt πŸ™‚
    Gun, Sweden

    Reply
    • Usually, I lay a quilt on the floor with the binding draped around the edge before I attach it. Why didn’t I do that this time? I won’t forget next time πŸ˜‰ Avis x

      Reply
  8. claire93

     /  January 16, 2013

    your patience paid off – it looks so much better with the new binding; Well done on a great finish

    Reply
  9. Shame about all the work but I think you were right too. Consider it a learning curve πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  10. Ooooo and I think it’s gorgeous too!

    Reply
  11. Very nice! You were right to change it – I don’t think it looked that bad, but I do know what it’s like working hard on something and feeling like you’ve let everything down at the end. Much better to suffer for an hour or two of fixing, than forever of the alternative!

    Reply
    • I completely agree. It was worth the effort. I would have just put it in a cupboard and never looked at it again if I hadn’t changed it πŸ™‚

      Reply
  12. Oh you have so much patience! I agree it was worth it, and it would have bugged me too. You made the right decision (just in case you needed my confirmation πŸ˜‰ ) πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Thanks Truly! When fellow bloggers support each other, it spurs us all on to share more. I’m happy to tell all about my disasters just as much as the successes. Then we can all learn from my mistakes πŸ™‚ It is good to know you are all out there! A problem shared is a problem halved. There’s two proverbs in one post πŸ˜‰ Avis x

      Reply
  13. love it!!

    Reply
  14. It’s so pretty! Love your variation. I can’t imagine frogging off a binding, but it looks so SHARP with the new all-white one. πŸ˜€

    Reply
  15. Hi Avis, the binding is perfect now. I have also been experimenting with the different fabrics for quilt binding and usually a nice solid one wins. From my point of view it “calms down” the quilt pattern and gives it a nice frame. Barbora

    Reply
    • Hi Barbora! Yes, I think I will probably stick to solids from now on. The more I think about what I did, the more I can’t understand it. It was so unlike me to choose a multi-coloured binding. Avis x

      Reply
  16. Elisabeth

     /  January 19, 2013

    Dear Avis, I always enjoy reading your blog, so I’ve nominated you for a Liebster Award: http://e1preininger.wordpress.com/2013/01/19/liebster-award-part-2/. Feel free to join or to ignore it. Greetings from Vienna, Austria.

    Reply
    • Hi Elisabeth, Thank you so much for thinking of my blog πŸ™‚ On this occasion I will decline for two reasons. Firstly, I already have the Liebster one (different logo on right hand side of the page) and secondly, I was nominated for another award last week and I still need to post about that one. I hope you don’t mind. I tried to email you a couple of days ago but it was returned undelivered. Not sure whether your address is up to date. Avis x

      Reply
  17. good call! You’d have grown to dislike the quilt more and more if you weren’t happy with it to start with.

    Reply
    • Thanks Amy. Yeah, I already didn’t like it so it would have got worse. Thankfully, it wasn’t something I couldn’t change πŸ˜€ Avis x

      Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

