Catching up on the SAL

Just a quickie post to show you all how my blackwork trial worked out. It is a small project from a SAL organised by Claire on her English blog and her French blog. I’ve used 16 count aida fabric and DMC 6 stranded embroidery floss (a single strand was used for sewing the design).

Here is the work in progress and the lovely clear free chart called Summer Flowers at http://www.practicalblackwork.com:

Image

I’ve made it into a card. I hope you like it🙂

Image

Claire has opened my eyes to another form of embroidery that I have really enjoyed. I plan to make a much bigger design when my cross stitch is off the frame🙂

Time to sew now!

Avis x

Previous Post
Leave a comment

31 Comments

  1. claire93

     /  January 12, 2013

    really pretty in turquoise Avis, and the perfect size for a card ^^

    Reply
  2. Looks good Avis!
    I’m working on some projects at the moment, but them, combined with work means little time to blog post!
    Have a good year!

    Reply
    • Hi Amy!!!!!! I wondered where you’d gone. I used to be a teacher so I know what you mean about having no time. Happy New Year to you and yours🙂 Avis x

      Reply
  3. no need to email , I think I can copy directly from your blog – I was going to ask simply if I can pinch the first one (at stage 2) to add to the gallery? And then use the “finished” one when we get to stage 4

    Reply
  4. the blue makes a nice change – but I have to say I preffered the design before the corners were filled in

    Reply
    • I think I like it both ways. It is the first time I’ve tried this so I was just following the pattern after joining the SAL really. It was very enjoyable. Thank you for visiting my blog🙂 Avis x

      Reply
  5. oooooo – sooooo pretty. The turquoise makes it so delicate! Good job!🙂❤

    Reply
    • Thank you! I just used some stash scraps as a trial so it was just luck really🙂 I am soooo happy with how it looks, even though I say so myself😉 Have a great weekend! Avis x

      Reply
  6. That’s really lovely. You have reminded me I have a couple of wee kits stashed away somewhere, but I need to visit the opticians before I start work on them – it helps when you can see where the needle is going lol😉 I love the colour you chose.

    Reply
  7. Very pretty. I like the simplicity of one colour on the white background and the intricate-ness (is that a word?) of the design.

    Reply
  8. Very beautiful! Very nice designs for around a garment neck, hem, and sleeves line. Thanks for sharing. Mtetar

    Reply
    • Thank you Mtetar. Apparently, it was traditional to stitch blackwork onto garments including church robes and alter cloths etc. This one is very simple but I can imagine some of the robes etc. would be very intricate. Avis x

      Reply
  9. This is so lovely! I really like its simplicity. I haven’t done this type of needlework in years….maybe since the “quilting thing” took over my life!!! May have to dig out my supplies. The pattern is so nice, Great job!

    Reply
    • Go for it Doreen! Another string to your bow😉 I wanted to put a fine line close to the edge of the card frame but my pens are a bit splodgy. Probably best to leave well alone🙂 Avis x

      Reply
  10. Your card is beautiful. It’s nice to do something you enjoy and then pass that happiness on to someone else.

    Reply
  11. Like it????? I think it´s wonderful🙂 It´s been years since I did embroidery. Ten years ago I worked at a daycarecenter and all we did, all day long, was embroider tableclothes, pictures and so on.
    Gun, Sweden

    Reply
    • Hi Gun, That sounds like a fab job to me! This card only took about 4 hours to sew. I can’t wait to start a bigger design🙂 Avis x

      Reply
  12. lisasff

     /  January 13, 2013

    It’s simply beautiful.

    Reply
  13. Hi Avis! That is so beautiful and makes a wonderful card! congratulations to your Award! x Teje

    Reply
  14. I’ve been meaning to try black work for ages. Yours is great and so delicate. I have a dream to do red on crisp white bed linen in a Swiss style. I think my project is probably a bit ambitious for a novice though. Will definitely send pics if I ever get round to it. Good work Avis!

    Reply
    • I’ve missed you!! I’m going to check you are still on my follow list as I “lost” a few a while back (WordPress blip).
      I did some little cross stitch panels and inserted them into cushions a while back. They were on bright white aida and the thread count is so small it looks a bit like evenweave which looks like linen but is a cross stitch “cheat”. They are in the bottom picture of my 2011 finishes, tab above. If you click the photo and zoom in you will see what I mean.
      You must try out your idea. It sounds really lovely and black work is so simple and effective😀 Avis x

      Reply
  15. That’s a lovely piece of blackwork!

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

