I’m not a cat lover….honest!

Hello everybody!

We are very close to the end of 2012 now and I won’t be making any New Year resolutions. However, in 2012 I rediscovered my love of knitting and crochet which I had put to one side for many, many years. The ripple blanket which I started to crochet and the scarf I knit for my sister’s birthday have helped to rekindle my enthusiasm for the crafts I had put into hibernation in favour of quilting.

So, when I saw these, I just had to make them! I have no idea why, they just purred “Make me”.

Meet Yin and Yang🙂 The pattern is available here.

Image

I have no idea why I wanted to make one of these let alone two of them! I don’t really like cats and they definitely don’t like me😦 These two are being rehomed very soon as I have no desire to have cats in my house but they were so much fun to make. Like I said, the intention was to only make one.

I am sure you can see why they are called Yin and Yang😀

Image

My other half cannot believe I have made cats and heaved a huge sigh of disbelief with a shaking of his head when I announced they had names he-he😆 Isn’t it great when making things gives us so much pleasure and the only cost is a little time while watching telly?

I’ve really enjoyed reading all of your lovely blogs this year. My blog was one year old on Friday and I’m surprised that I’ve posted over one hundred times. The blogging community has been  so positive with their comments and support and I am so glad that my daughter persuaded me to start writing this blog (it did take her quite a while). It was only really meant to be a record of my craft projects as I made them  but it has turned into so much more!

To all of my friends around the world……Happy New Year😀 I hope 2013 is wonderful for you and all of your families and that you will continue to visit my blog often. I will certainly be reaching out for even more inspiration by reading all of your fabulous blogs.

I’m off to quilt now!

Avis x

Leave a comment

49 Comments

  1. These are very cute and will make a cat lover somewhere very happy!

    Reply
  2. Very nice, seems like you been knitting forever. Great Post, and I’m wishing you God’s Grace now and always. I haven’t been blogging for long either, and didn’t think it would last this long, but God is GOOD, and I’m having fun sharing with you, my followers, and other bloggers. Thank you for visiting, commenting, and sharing your creative ideas. Be Blessed, Mtetar

    Reply
    • Thank you Mtetar🙂 Blogging is quite addictive. It does take time to take the photographs and write the posts but it is also nice to share with like minded people. I especially love to read about your beautiful Granddaughter and watch her develop in the crafts you are teaching her. Avis x

      Reply
  3. They are so cute! I am so glad you decided to blog also. I love hearing about the things you make. Keep up the good work. Happy New Year!

    Reply
    • Thank you very much😀 I hope you have managed to put your sewing room to good use over the holiday. Looking forward to seeing more of your lovely projects too🙂 Avis x

      Reply
  4. Oh dear……..Purrfect for me, who loves cat! Must check out if I have any yarn at home and start knitting🙂 They are really cute!
    I´ve enjoyed following your blog and I´ll continue to do that! Have a HAPPY NEW YEAR!
    Gun, Sweden

    Reply
    • They knit up in an evening and the pattern is very clear. I knew you would like them🙂 I’ll be watching to see what you get up to in the new year too😀 Avis x

      Reply
  5. Me again…..sorry, but the link to the cats doesn´t work!
    Gun

    Reply
  6. Ah sooooo cute! I often decide to knit something – just for the cute factor! xx

    Reply
  7. Your blog is always inspiring. Happy 2013 Avis!. Lisax

    Reply
  8. The cats are funny. If you made their middles much longer they could be a cute scarf for a small girl! Happy New Year Avis and happy quilting xxx

    Reply
  9. Hi!!! I love your little kitties!!! I might try to make one or two!!! Thanks for the fun!!!!

    Reply
  10. your cats made me laugh xx Hope the New Year is a good one

    Reply
    • Me too😀 Happy New Year Diane. I’m still having difficulty following your blog but when you visit me I can catch up. I’ll add you to my blogroll NOW😀 Avis x

      Reply
  11. The cats are very cute! I can’t believe that you have only been blogging for a year!!! Good job! I love reading your posts – you have been inspiring and encouraging too. I wish you and your family all the best for a happy, healthy and prosperous New Year!

    Connie 🎉

    I have a side question – how do you get your watermark on your photos? I’ve researched ans yet been unable to accomplish this task!

    Reply
    • Hi Connie, Thank you so much for your lovely comment and good wishes🙂 I feel like I’ve always been blogging and couldn’t give it up easily now! I’ll email you about the watermarks.
      Best wishes, Avis x

      Reply
  12. Hi Avis! These kittens are super cute! I love their little paws and faces! If you are not a cat person, what about making them dogs! Happy New Year to you! I’m looking forward to begin new blogging year with you! x Teje

    Reply
    • Hi Teje, I could definitely make them into dogs. That is a great idea🙂 Big floppy ears maybe🙂 I found it quite difficult to embroider with wool but they seem OK. Thank you for all of your support this year and your kind wishes as always. Hugs across the sea! Avis x

      Reply
  13. claire93

     /  December 30, 2012

    you don’t have to be a cat-lover to make cat-themed things, and you are living proof^^ I think they’re gorgeous (but then I love cats)

    Reply
  14. Those kitties definitely gave me the giggles! They are so darling…..and the only kind that would find their way into my home! So hard to believe we are embarking on another new year!! Blessings to you and your family and Peace in the coming year! hugs, D

    Reply
  15. witchylin

     /  December 31, 2012

    A very Happy New Year to you and your family Avis. Hope it is great year of quilting, crafting and blogging. I have really enjoyed reading your blog over the year. You give me lots of inspiration. I love the kittens and think they are so cute. However I do like cats.;-)
    I wish you another year of crafting that you will share with us. I do look forward to seeing your blog postings appearing in my inbox. I like to read everyone’s comments about the pictures and tutorials you post. Please keep it up.🙂

    Reply
    • Hi Lin, Yes, I’m really looking forward to the new year and all the projects I have lined up. Priorities keep changing and I have switched disciplines a few times this year due to a series of “aches and pains” but I’ve nearly always been able to craft in some way. I consider myself very lucky! I am going to do some “testing” on my final secret today. If it works, I’ll be doing a happy dance. It involves invisible thread in the machine, top and bottom. I really doubt it will work or if it does, that I’ll be able to get the tension just right. Time will tell and hopefully I’ll get my first finish of 2013 from today’s efforts🙂
      Happy New Year to you and all of your family and friends. Thank you so much for all the encouragement you have given me this year😀 Avis x

      Reply
  16. Elisabeth

     /  December 31, 2012

    Hi Avis, I’m a quilter who loves cats. Made a dozen of pictures of mine today.
    Happy New Year and keep quilting!

    Reply
  17. Denby

     /  December 31, 2012

    Happy New Year Avis. Like all your other follower’s I look forward to reading your blog as it is always very interesting. One of your follower’s mentioned a scarf which is a brilliant idea, I also think the pattern could be made into a nice muff for a little girl, (do they still have muff’s today) perhaps you could start a new trend. Keep up the good work.

    Reply
    • I like the way readers see something they like and instantly find other uses or versions they might like to make. I was thinking of a wider body and a bigger head to make a pyjama case or a hot water bottle cover🙂 Thank you for your lovely comments Denby. Happy New Year to you too😀 Avis x

      Reply
  18. They really seem to be multi-purpose cats (or dogs or scarves – what about bears or other animals? – of course this means on no account giving you ideas)😉 Looking forward to your final secret (as mine are revealed now).
    Happy New Year to you and your family, Jule

    Reply
    • Well, for someone as skilled a knitter as you, it would be easy to transform. How about double sided with a different head on each end or one that could be turned inside out? Or a penguin on his tummy🙂 See what you’ve done now?😀 I have already disclosed this secret to you by email on 29th Nov😉 It is almost ready!!
      Happy New Year Jule😀 Avis x

      Reply
  19. They are adorable Avis…

    Izz

    Reply
  20. Sometimes, patterns are just like that – ya gotta make ’em. I made about 6 baby sweaters one year – WITH NO BABIES IN SIGHT. Turned out good, tho, because last year three dear friends had 3 babies. Just go with it. The results will find a home. And those are damn cute.

    Reply
  21. lisasff

     /  January 6, 2013

    gorgeous!! Work like this totally tempts me to learn to knit! Those are lovely patterns, and oh so cute!

    Reply
    • Once you know the basic knit and purl stitches and can keep even tension, knitting shaped patterns is quite straightforward because an increase is usually knitting twice into the same stitch and a decrease is usually knitting two stitches together. You MUST learn to knit. Don’t let complicated looking patterns put you off. I wish I could teach you🙂 Avis x

      Reply
      • lisasff

         /  January 7, 2013

        Even for lefties?? I’d love to have you teach me! That would be so great!

        I’m sure I’ll pick it up soon enough. I just need a bit more time with this new addiction😀

        Reply
        • Yes, even for lefties🙂 My Mum, sister and daughter are all left handed and they can all knit. The temptation for them was to learn “in reverse” but that would create a lot of problems if you want to read patterns later. The important thing is, don’t give up. Think….If they can do it, so can I😀

          Reply
  22. I love the blue and white combination!! They are fun to make aren’t they; I think you might secretly be a cat lover!

    Reply
    • I really did enjoy making them but I definitely don’t like cats. Something to do with those retractable claws….SCARY! They are on their way to their new homes. I hope their new owners love them🙂 Thank you for visiting! Avis x

      Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

