Ooh La La!

Happy Sunday everyone and a very warm welcome to my new followers🙂

Here are some photos of my latest finish. This one was really quick to make and I had so much fun trying to be a bit more adventurous with my free motion quilting, probably because it turned out well first time😉 I used another of my birthday gift Moda charm packs called Pom Pom de Paris plus some of my beloved Moda Bella Solids.

Image

The small dark squares are a rich burgundy colour. I wanted to create a bit of an accent, something to catch the eye. I think it works well and hope you do too🙂

Image

I quilted in rows of cursive letter c’s. I did a quick practice piece before attempting the quilt and, to my surprise, it flowed quite easily.

Image

I used a linen coloured quilting thread for both the front and the back as I wanted the quilting to blend on the reverse and make it look quite luxurious. I’m not sure if you can see this from the photos but I think I managed to get the effect I wanted.

Image

I hope you are all finding time to craft in the middle of all your preparations (if you are celebrating this week). I’d like to get at least one more project finished before the end of the year. Time will tell😀

In the meantime, here are a couple of wonderful ideas I found this week. Isn’t blogging wonderful for helping us to have so many things we want to try? We could never be bored!!

The first one shows an ingenious way to finish a cushion opening here

The second idea gives instructions for making a gorgeous origami gift bow here.

I will definitely be trying these myself in the near future😀

Avis x

Leave a comment

33 Comments

  1. The burgundy did exactly what you wanted it to do! The small squares plus the white kept the variety of prints under control of the over all design!

    Reply
  2. That’s beautiful, Avis and the burgundy colour gives the deepness! I wish I could quilt something with my machine. x Teje

    Reply
    • Thank you Teje. I’m sure you could quilt on your machine. As long as you can lower the feed dogs, it just takes a lot of practice. Happy new week to you! Avis x

      Reply
  3. Turned out really nice! Happy Crafting, Mtetar

    Reply
  4. The wait is over and so worth it!!! It’s beautiful! I love the piecing (colors/pattern) and the quilting looks like so much fun—– Everything “meshes” perfectly. The feeling you get when all comes together so well can’t be explained!!! Christmas Blessings and Happy Quilting! Hugs, D

    Reply
  5. witchylin

     /  December 23, 2012

    It looks great Avis. The back is brilliant. I think the FMQ is so different from the norm and I like it very much. As for the top…what a fantastic selection of colours. Well done.
    Merry Christmas and a happy 2013 of quilting and crafting.

    Reply
    • Thank you Witchylin! Oh, I can’t take credit for the fabric choices. It is just a Moda charm pack with the plain squares taken out🙂 I did match up the cream solid however😉 I hope you get lots of time to sew etc. during the break and best wishes for 2013. Avis x

      Reply
      • witchylin

         /  December 24, 2012

        Thank you Avis. I will be quilting a lot over the holidays and doing a few other crafts too. Hope to meet up with you again in 2013 at one of the quilting/sewing shows.
        Have a very happy, warm and safe Christmas.

        Reply
  6. Avis your quilt is so pretty. I love this range of fabric and the burgundy really adds to it. Merry Christmas and I am looking forward to reading your blog in 2013.

    Reply
  7. creative pixie

     /  December 23, 2012

    The stitching looks really good.

    Reply
  8. I love Pom Pom de Paris. The burgundy is a great accent and the FMQ looks great. Well done. Happy Christmas. X

    Reply
  9. Very lovely. Like your cursive “c”s… I think they look a bit like waves🙂 Remind me to show you Mum’s latest finished quilt once the Christmas madness is over!

    Reply
    • Yes, they are like waves, even more so when they are photographed the right way up! Looking forward to your Mum’s quilt. Just over 2 hours to Santa😀 Enjoy the break! Avis x

      Reply
  10. Not sure I can wait that long!! If I sit still I think I will be asleep in a flash! Happy Christmas Avis xx

    Reply
  11. claire93

     /  December 29, 2012

    really gorgeous, and no, sadly I haven’t done anything crafty in days

    Reply
    • Thank you😀 I’m sure things will get back to normal for you soon. I need to craft as much as possible as I have a busy work time coming up from mid January. So, it’s all hands on sewing etc. at the mo! Avis x

      Reply
  12. Love love the colours this this quilt. You must be so pleased. Your free hand quilting is lovely too. I have tried a few times but I can’t seem to keep an even flow going. ( not giving up though) All the best in the New Year….happy crafting

    Izz

    Reply
    • Thank you Izz🙂 This quilt was very quick to make using the disappearing nine-patch pattern and it is one of my favourites too! Best wishes to you too😀 Avis x

      Reply
  13. Dana Cernat

     /  March 16, 2013

    Your quilts look great! I like your free motion skills, I am such a beginner at this, haven’t got the courage to try it on quilts yet! Keep up the good work! Dana

    Reply
    • I’ve been doing patchwork for about two years and quilting for about 16 months so I’m still learning so much from all of my blog friends. The first things I quilted were table runners and cushions and I just did “stitch in the ditch” for those. Now, I throw caution to the wind and have a go. If it doesn’t work out, the quilt gets used even more. Have fun with it! That’s the most important thing🙂 I love your blog, by the way🙂 Avis x

      Reply
      • Dana Cernat

         /  March 17, 2013

        Thanks a lot Avis, I will be more confident with free motion and will start to try it on small surfaces, so that learning will not damage a whole quilt🙂. This one is just the third quilt I finished and I keep almost three finished tops for free motion. It seems to me that fm will work best🙂 ! keep in touch, Dana

        Reply
        • I was making more and more tops and, like you, kept them aside until I decided how to quilt them. It will be quite exciting to go back and finish them off. I’ve forgotten what some of them look like. I’m now following your blog so it will be interesting to watch your progress🙂 Best wishes, Avis x

          Reply
          • Dana Cernat

             /  March 17, 2013

            Oh, so I’m not the only one postponing quilting🙂. I will do my best to learn and practice more, especially when I know someone is watching me carefully🙂 Thanks a lot for your support ! Dana

            Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

