Another secret revealed!

Hi everybody🙂

Happy birthday to my sister!!

At last I can reveal my sparkly scarf project which I made for my sister’s birthday. A few weeks ago we took my Mum to Harrogate Knitting and Stitching show and my sister admired the sparkly scarves on display at one of the stands. She would have bought one but we quickly realised they were selling the yarn to make them and not the finished articles. Everyone is so busy at this time of year. She knew there would be no time to knit for herself so we walked away.

Then, I had an opportunity😉 I rushed back to the stall while my Mum and sister were “lost in the crowds” and bought the yarn. To be honest, I didn’t relish the thought of knitting with it as the texture is quite lumpy bumpy. However, it is a lot softer than it looks and it knit up really fast on large needles. I am really pleased with the result.

Image

Image

Image

Image

It would have looked better modelled on a black outfit…..but I don’t have one ha-ha!

I hope you are all well and still have a little time to craft before the holiday. Lots of you must be holding back secret projects until after Christmas. Looks like it is going to be a very revealing New Year😀 I can’t wait to see what you have all been up to!!

Avis x

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

41 Comments

  1. Simply gorgeous!! You are very clever being able to knit with that! It looks great and your sister will be thrilled I’m sure.

    Reply
    • Thanks Truly🙂 No, really my fears were not justified. I thought the sparkles were sequins but they are silky fibrous ladders (if that makes sense!). It was fine to knit with after the first two rows. Avis x

      Reply
  2. claire93

     /  December 17, 2012

    a woman of many talents ^^

    Reply
  3. I love that scarf. Can you reveal the name and brand of the yarn?

    Reply
    • Thanks Lucie! Yes, it is called Zip by V & A. There are lots of different colours available. You will need about 1 and 1/3 balls for the scarf I knit (detailed below). I’ve seen it on Ebay for £2.95 per ball. Enjoy😀

      Reply
  4. I am impressed. Knitting is not my favourite thing, but I can do it if required.

    Reply
    • Don’t be impressed. It was easy. Cut 40 1 metre lengths and save for fringes. Cast on 40 stitches and knit until it is 1 metre long. Cast off. Add the fringes. It was that easy!😀

      Reply
  5. I have done projects with that “yarn”…..you don’t want to “rip back” (the ‘ladders’ make it difficult!). I found I had to be quite careful not to “split” the ‘yarn’ when doing a stitch! That makes up so beautiful, though!! Hugs…..

    Reply
    • The label says it knits up as double knit but I wouldn’t want to use it on regular sized needles to do ordinary knitting. I had no trouble on the 10mm needles which I used because the texture is very open. It was nice to see it grow so fast🙂 Avis x

      Reply
  6. The scarf is beautiful, but the yarn looks funny🙂 I´m sure your sister will like it!
    Gun, Sweden

    Reply
    • Thank you Gun🙂 It was strange to work with at first but I soon got used to it. It only took about 10 hours to make including fringing (that was the most fiddly bit). Avis x

      Reply
  7. Wow! That is absolutely beautiful! What an amazing gift.🙂

    Reply
  8. Beautiful – are there beads in the yarn? How do I get on your gift list?😉

    Reply
    • No, they aren’t beads. There are many colours available but this one has parallel black threads which make a sort of ladder and then the bits that look like beads are actually several flat strands of silky shades of purple threads lined up next to each other. So it isn’t hard or heavy, it’s actually quite soft but with a good weight so it drapes nicely. P.S. You are now on my gifts list😉 Avis x

      Reply
  9. Very beautiful! Thank you for sharing. Mtetar

    Reply
  10. Hi Avis! That is the most beautiful scarf! It must have been a little bit tricky to knit but it’s absolutely worth of that! Is there going two threads together? I love the colour, too! I said loud my secret today, even I hadn’t planned that yet! I wish you happy week! x Teje

    Reply
    • Thank you Teje. Yes, the two threads are fastened together with the shiny silky parts, a bit like a ladder. I’d be happy to knit with it again on large needles as I really like the feel and weight of the scarf. I would never have bought this yarn if I hadn’t seen the finished result first. I hope you didn’t give away too much detail about your secret project. Keep them guessing😉 Happy week to you too! Avis x

      Reply
  11. A beautiful scarf. Your sister is one lucky lady.

    Reply
  12. LOVE this. I first learned to knit with this kind of ladder yarn. It makes beautiful things and they have a great flow and feel to them.

    Reply
    • Hi Kimberly, thank you and welcome to my blog! I love the knitting in the header photo in your blog. Go and take a look everyone NOW😀 Avis x

      Reply
  13. witchylin

     /  December 18, 2012

    The scarf is so gorgeous. It looks amazing. Your sister will be so happy with it and proud to wear it.

    Reply
  14. lisasff

     /  December 22, 2012

    That’s just beautiful! Makes me want to start knitting🙂 I’ve not attempted to crochet with “fancy” yarn yet… so intimidating.

    Reply
  15. Oooh its super pretty.
    Is the yarn soft to work with? Or rough?
    Your sister will love it so much!😀

    Reply
    • She does! It isn’t exactly rough to work with but it is rougher than wool. If you like the look, I’d give it a try. I will definitely use it again and my sister has already said she is going to make another scarf in a different colour. Avis x

      Reply
      • It’s going to tempt me out of my crochet rut!😀
        Relearned how to knit again a few weeks ago, this looks like an interesting wool to try out, definitely going on my to do in 2013 list!🙂

        Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

