Just a little giveaway!

Hello to all of my lovely readers🙂

I can’t quite believe it but this is my 100th post😀

I started this blog on the 28th December 2011 to record the creation of a few crafty projects. It was meant to be a sort of diary/scrapbook for me and my family but has evolved into much, much more! I’ve really enjoyed meeting lots of new friends, even though most of you are in the virtual world as well as finding other blogs out there which are truly amazing!!

To celebrate this milestone, I’ve decided to have a small giveaway.

I must admit, I enter very few giveaways myself. This is usually because the rules for entry amount to a list of “like”and “follow” etc. on various social media sites as well as on the giveaway blog and to post on your own blog about it.

You don’t have to do any of that to win here😀 All I would like you to do is leave a comment to tell me and other readers about the best gift you were ever given. Let us know the occasion (if you wish) and why the gift was so special to you. That’s it! If you then choose to “like” or “follow” my blog or any other social media sites, then that is up to you and I really appreciate it, thank you. The winner will be chosen at random by my OH from a list of names in a bowl. The draw will take place on the 3rd of December 2012.

Here is the giveaway prize.

The solids are all by Moda and the prints are all Michael Miller except the purple cats, which is Benartex. The prints are all 10 inches square except the cats which is much larger. The solids are a variety of sizes, perfect for small projects or stash builders. I’ve tried to match the solids with the prints so you can get started on making something nice even if you don’t already have a stash of your own.

Here they are in close up photos.

I do sell all of the above fabrics (except the purple cats) so if you want some, just contact me.

Enjoy the giveaway and good luck!

Avis x

 

 

Leave a comment

33 Comments

  1. Best gift ever might just have been for my birthday this year, when I was given a trip to White Island, an active volcano off the East Coast of New Zealand. We wore hard hats and gas masks while exploring, just like real volcanologists and got to see flying fish and dolphins from the boat. It was great to celebrate my birthday with an experience rather than a ‘thing.’

    Reply
  2. My sister gave me season 1 of The West Wing for Christmas last year. I started watching it in May, quickly became hooked and have since watched the remaining 6 seasons. I’ve had a really difficult year, with my husband leaving me, being a single mum to two small children, and trying to adapt to being on my own and trying to make my life work. West Wing has provided me with an alternative reality to escape to – a grown-up world where intelligent people have interesting jobs, deal with events of national and global importance and fascinating social lives. It was like being part of a group of friends, but without having to actually do anything.

    Of course, now I’ve finished watching it, *that* has left a hole in my life🙂

    Reply
  3. The one that really stands out in my mind, is the dolls house I got when I was about 6 years old. I thought it was the most beautiful thing I had ever seen and it was like a whole world I could disappear into! I remember it so clearly, like it was yesterday.

    Reply
  4. Lovely fabrics as always! I had to really think about my best ever present – and think I’ve narrowed it down to a few – one was a crayola set my mum gave me when I was about 6. It had all sorts of paints, crayons, pencils and pens in this clever thing that spun round and I think it sealed my love of crafty things. Another was my sewing machine my mum also gave me a few years ago ~ you know the results of that one!🙂 And a third was a really thoughtful big food shop order my sister did for me when I had my second baby ~ it was full of all sorts of easy to make goodies and had a great thai chicken curry which I’ve tried to emulate ever since. It was a life saver and a yummy one at that!🙂

    Reply
  5. The best gift I was ever given was given to me a few years ago by a friend, when we decided to have a “Dollar Store Christmas.” (All presents given had to be from the Dollar Store, no more than $10 spent per person. it’s a fun frugal challenge!) She picked up a little wooden trinket box, some pains and gel pens, and made me the most wonderful keepsake box, painted black with a gold tree-of-life inside the lid and silver leaves and vines twining around the edges. I still have that box, and I love looking at it!

    Reply
  6. Hmmm…the best present? Maybe the amazing play kitchen my father built me when I was about 7 or 8. I know now that it was out of scraps and in their near poverty, but it was a magic Christmas to me.

    Congratulations on the success of your blog. Thanks for the giveaway chance.

    Reply
  7. Lovely fabrics Avis. Like you I don’t join in with many giveaways, sometimes there are too many hoops to jump through.

    The best gifts are always the unexpected ones. So I could choose the button tin that Cousin H gave me with all the vintage and historical buttons in that I wrote about on my blog – that was (to use Little J’s current favourite word) awesome. It is very difficut to choose. I had an email yesterday from Mr P’s Stepmum to say she has a box of fabric for me so I am eagerly awaiting that now…. Maybe that will be the best??

    Reply
  8. Jen

     /  November 26, 2012

    Congratulations on your 100th post. Goodness, I wouldn’t have guessed you’ve only been at it for a year, seasoned vet I thought.

    The best gift I ever got….was a plush serta sheep that my husband found me. We were dating at the time and he wanted to find me a little something that would make me laugh when I got a bit stressed out. I always seem to laugh at the serta sheep commercials so he found me one.

    Reply
  9. Thank you for sharing.

    WOW! This give away is the day after my Birthday. What an additional Favor through God’s Grace that would be, if He (God) is Willing to allow me to be alive.

    My greatest gift, is the GIFT of Life, and seeing how God works in so many ways, and situations. He (God) has answers my prayers throughout my now three years of Unemployment. God is diligently giving me strength to carry on each day, and that is a lot. My healing comes from HIM (God), and I can go on and on giving all the Glory, Praise, and Thanksgiving to God. Thank You!!! Jesus Christ, because it is through your name we are able to receive any thing we ask for.

    Be Blessed Everyone!
    Mtetar

    Reply
  10. witchylin

     /  November 26, 2012

    I have had a number of great gifts in my time but I think the best ever was the present from my OH for my Birthday this year. A Series 2A Land Rover……However it is not a jump in and drive away Landy it has to be built from the chassis upwards. I have started it, changed hubs from back to front and started cleaning some parts. It will take me about 18 months to get it up and running but who cares, it’s mine and I will have re-built it. OH has almost completed the same restoration job on his Series 1 Land Rover and is always doing running repairs on his Defender 110. I suppose we are a three Landy couple now.😉 Working with mechanical things is far removed from my quilting and other crafts, but I really enjoy it. Now if anyone has a fool proof method for cleaning hands please pass it on.🙂

    Reply
  11. claire93

     /  November 26, 2012

    congrats on your 100th post. Best gift for me has to be my birthday 2002. Had been feeding a stray cat for a few weeks prior and my husband then said I could keep him. So, I made a vet’s appointment ON my birthday to have cat neutered and vaccinated, so he officially became OUR cat on my birthday ^^

    Reply
  12. Congratulations on your blog🙂 I love the idea of this kind of giveaway, much more fun than all the likes and reposts… I might borrow the idea from you, once it gets actual for me, if I may…

    I was thinking a lot about the best present I ever got. Then I decided, that the one for my 25th birthday must be the winner🙂 We have been dating with my husband (then boyfriend) for a few month, I was new to his country, quite alone if we don’t count him him, and this was my very first birthday without my family. Plus, I used to work as a dishwasher that time in a posh restaurant, where all the chefs were rude and grumpy. The night before my birthday I was working, and it was a specially rough night, that ended around 5 o clock in the morning, after a 15 hours shift, by me trying to throw some trash bags to a container, but the bag happened to have a hole on it, and all the trash juice was draining from it, on my skin and clothes. My boyfriend picked me up in the morning, and I was crying all the way home. After I got a long sleep, he woke me up in my dorm room, by knocking, and then entering through the window (it was ground floor, and we had very large windows), with a cake made by himself, and a bouquet of 25 red roses🙂 That made my day🙂

    Reply
  13. Those fabrics are AMAZING! And congratulations on your 100th post!🙂 My favorite gift was my first copy of Little Women when I was ten or so. I read it over and over and I wanted to be Jo when I grew up! I still have it.🙂

    Reply
  14. Love all those pieces (especially the purple cats!!! ). My favorite gifts came from different dear friends/family members and, although they were different they were the same-angels. Some were handmade and some were purchased but all evoke very special memories for me and my relationship to them. Thank you for the momentary pause to reflect~Hugs and blessings, Doreen

    Reply
  15. Hi Avis and congratulations! Who could guess that you have written your blog only one year – more celebration coming soon! Your fabrics are most beautiful and cute – thank you so much for sharing! Lovely idea to match solids with those beautiful prints! I can’t decide the best present – one very special and surprising was for our wedding in summer, but as many others have said most touching presents have been received when we were children. One of the best presents was my Husqvarna sewing machine when I was 22. It was the latest model and I was so happy and proud to get it. It even followed me to Greece. Other important presents have been made by my mom; as a winter coat made with beautiful felt-blanket with leather edges. That was my best ever winter coat!
    Thank you Avis for bringing lovely memories to our minds! Have a wonderful week! x Teje

    Reply
  16. Denby

     /  November 26, 2012

    Congratulations on your 100th blog. Well done, it’s always an interesting read and very well presented. My favourite gift has to be my Grandaughter who is coming up to her 1st birthday next month. She has changed my life more than I could ever have imagined. After that it would be Andre Agassi’s Autobiography. I’m a big tennis fan and Andre was my favourite.

    Reply
  17. Congratulations on your 100th post!
    My favourite gift has to be the bundle of photos my nanan (grandma) gave me. She gave me my whole family history without me even realising it. She was a wise lady, and the photos are even more special now she had gone.

    Reply
  18. Congratulations on 100 posts. The fabric is lovely. My favourite present, if it can be counted as such, is my engagement ring. It meant/means so much and I was a high as a kite for a very long time after receiving it.

    Reply
  19. Congratulations on 100 posts! Thanks for the give-a-way, the fabrics are lovely! I guess my best gift would be a watch given to me by my husband. It is a very nice one that was quite expensive and he gave it at a time when we were in quite a financial squeeze. I wear it every day and it always reminds me how much he cares for me.

    Reply
  20. One of my favorite gifts was when I was 10 yrs old (many yrs ago!!)… I had been going to piano lessons for about 2 yrs but still had no piano on which to practice. My parents surprised me on my birthday with an old (but very beautiful to me) upright piano. I cried, I was so happy! I played that piano, taught my kids how to play on that piano, and we gathered around it countless times to sing and have fun. Congratulations on your post and thanks for the opportunity in your giveaway!

    Reply
  21. Congratulations on your posts! My favorite gift, was a picture of me (Mom) from my 5 year-old son. It was very cute🙂

    Reply
  22. Lovely give away and so nice that you don’t want us to jump through the ‘follow’ hoops.

    The best gift I ever got was a frister rossman cub 7 from my mum when i was about 13. My mum entered a quizz to win it (she’d never have afforded it otherwise) & I’ve never stopped sewing since.

    I still have the machine and it has been everywhere with me.

    Cx

    Reply
  23. barbara woods

     /  November 27, 2012

    i love getting gift card’s for fabric my best present was my sewing machine that my hubby bought me

    Reply
  24. Hmmm… Favorite gift eh? Well it isn’t a gift in the sense you are thinking, but the best gift is my husband and best friend. Who assisted in giving me children.🙂

    My most recent other gift was a large cherry quilting floor quilting hoop that was given to me by my local quilt shop owner! I was asking about one and she knew someone who was wanting to get rid of theirs! No charge to me. That is a great gift!!

    Reply
  25. Congratulations! I have nominated you for the Liebster Award. Please check out my blog for details.🙂

    Reply
    • Hi, I’m really flattered that you enjoy my blog enough to nominate it for an award. However, I already have the Liebster award (see the button on the right of the page) so I’m sorry but I cannot accept it again. Congratulations on your award! You really do deserve it🙂 Avis x

      Reply
  26. These fabrics are so pretty – I know exactly what I’d do with them.
    Best present ever? On my 21st birthday my grandmother gave me her charm bracelet with 21 charms. She had another 13 grand-daughters, so guess who felt like the fave?
    Your blog is a pleasure to keep coming back to, so thanks Avis!

    Reply
  27. Congratulations on #100! Cute aliens – they fit in with something I’ve been working on recently (still a secret). My best gift? Teddy. Just ‘celebrated’ our 50th anniversary a couple of days ago.

    Reply
  28. I almost missed this🙂 Congratulation to your post nr 100!! I agree with you, this is so fun🙂 Now, my best gift……..hmmmmm, I don´t know. It could be my beautiful weddingring (guess why I love that one), or the little woodenphone our neighbours 6-year old daughter gave me ( she´d made it herself), or the mountainbike my parents gave me when I was 40.
    Gun, Sweden

    Reply
  29. Beautiful fabrics and congrats on the 100th post. On our 25th wedding anniversary our 3 sons, put aside their mutual animosity towards each other and using money saved from car washing, lawn mowing, paper rounds, and weekend jobs in burger bars and supermarkets ,clubbed together to buy us a clock. This gesture meant such a lot to us! The clock has pride of place still on the mantlepiece, 13 years on! Oh and boys, now young men, get on a treat these days.

    Reply
  30. Ann

     /  November 28, 2012

    Love all those Michael Miller prints! My favorite gift ever: a sewing machine for my 16th birthday. I had learned to sew when I was 11, but it was on an old black Singer machine. The new one had a reverse stitch and a buttonhole maker, and I was in heaven! I’ve only bought one new machine since (a Bernina quilter’s edition), but I still cherish that special birthday gift.

    Reply
  31. Count me in, I love those little hedgehogs!! I’ve been blogging for over 2 years and don’t even have 200 followers yet, go figure.😛

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

