Act two….Sophie the sea snail!

Happy Friday everyone πŸ™‚

My newest resident Under the Sea can now be revealed. Here is Sophie the sea snail.

She was quite a challenge to sew with all of those curvy edges. I’m quite happy with the result. She is about 4 inches from nose to tail in real life and she doesn’t leave yukky trails everywhere like other naughty snails do πŸ˜‰

I was busy at the computer this morning and realised the sun was shining outside. I just had to nip out and capture some of the Autumn colours in the garden before the wind comes and blows them all away. Look at that blue sky!!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I think this weekend is free soooooo……

I’ll be continuing a crocheted ripple pattern blanket which I’ve just started again because I made a bit of a mess. More about that later. Β Maybe I’ll also make another creature come to life Under the Sea. I need to bake cake as WE HAVE NO CAKE 😦 and there are a couple of other sewing projects on the go which I might just dip in and out of.

Also, I must visit Teje’s blog. She has a new project to show everyone and a great tutorial coming very soon. Pop over and see crafting at its best in the Greek sunshine for yourselves πŸ˜€

I also want to thank all of you for leaving lovely comments and likes and follows and things on my blog. There is such a friendly, positive and supportive community in the blogging world and it makes me so happy to read the nice things both here and on your blogs too. Thank you very, very much!

What are all of you lovely bloggers getting up to? Crafty things I hope πŸ™‚

See you soon,

Avis x

Leave a comment

32 Comments

  1. claire93

     /  November 16, 2012

    a bi welcome to Sophie ^^
    and yay blue sky, BUT also look at all those leaves !!!! I spent an hour outside today, sweeping up our golden scrunchy leaves . . . and no sooner had I had finished than WHOOOOOSSSH, big gust of wind, and even more have fallen. It’s like shovelling snow, isn’t it? It just never ends.

    Reply
    • Hehe! Yes they get everywhere. I leave the ones on the grass for the worms to take care of. I only sweep the patio and paths so it isn’t too bad for me πŸ™‚

      Reply
  2. Making something sweet is on tomorrow morning’s agenda! And some quilting – I need to have a wall quilt for a friend’s birthday on Monday….Thanks for sharing – I love your “under the sea” quilt – you are doing a fab job! (I also love Teje’s blog) Enjoy the sun while it is there.

    Reply
    • Thank you Connie. Today the sun was low in the sky but very bright. It was very welcome after the few dark days at the beginning of the week. I hope you get everything finished on time! Avis x

      Reply
  3. smashing!! Can’t wait to see it all finished!

    Reply
  4. I like your snail xx
    thank you for persivering with leaving comments on my blog when google is being its usuall awkward sel!! I could not send a personal thanks as you are a no-reply blogger xx
    Diane x

    Reply
    • Thank you Diane. Yes, this no-reply blogger malarki drives me nuts! No matter what I try I still get rejected and I know some other wordpressers have the same problem. These things are sent to try us πŸ˜‰ Avis x

      Reply
  5. Wow……a seasnail!!! ItΒ΄s so fun to see how your quilt is growing (Said that before, havenΒ΄t I??). My project is a bit down at the moment………but soon IΒ΄ll take a look at it again πŸ™‚ Most of my time right now I`m sewing secret projects, so I canΒ΄t show anyone.
    Gun, Sweden

    Reply
  6. Sophie is really cute! Great job with your tiny stitches! Your autumn photos are amazing! Thank you for linking to my blog and being so sweet friend! Good point – no cake either here but very strong storm and some dogs are too scared to go out and I don’t know what to do with them! Now I’m home and I do hope we don’t have a problem with the electricity as there was at London’s home. Happy sewing weekend! x Teje

    Reply
    • Oh no! Rotten weather. I hate the wind which can be quite strong by the sea sometimes. I hope you can distract the dogs somehow. I hope your electricity stays on because you need it for your sewing machine πŸ˜‰ Also, thank you for the link! Avis x

      Reply
  7. Sophie seems to be ahead of her other Snail Pals, dressed for the holiday. You’re sooooo cute, Sophie. I’m glad you’re able to share. Best, Mtetar

    Reply
  8. Your snail friend is precious! Have sewing/quilting on the ‘agenda’ for the weekend…yay! DH’s birthday on Monday. Quilt guild during the day on Monday, supper out to celebrate the special day then a couple days to prepare food for Thanksgiving dinner in St. Paul at my brother/SIL’s place. Stay focused! Hehe! Blessings, D

    Reply
  9. witchylin

     /  November 17, 2012

    That has to be the cutest snail. I think this quilt is going to be quite amazing. Your autumnal leaves are so colourful. My favourite time of year. One day I plan to make a quilt in autumn colours with leaf shapes. I just need to get everything else finished. 8-O. Will be finishing a project I need for Monday as a Birthday gift. Not quilting this time but a cloth doll. She is nearly completed.

    Reply
    • I’m pleased she is going to be ready in time. You will pass on my birthday wishes, won’t you πŸ™‚ I love autumn too. I think I prefer Spring because it is usually lighter during the day but when you get sunny days like yesterday…..oooh and those rich coppery colours it is hard to decide. Avis x

      Reply
  10. Sophie is lovely. We have no cake either but I do now have the elusive cinnamon sponge recipe that Mr P remembers from his childhood so I think that is on the agenda. Am curious about your crochet ripple blanket πŸ˜‰

    Reply
    • Watch this space. I might post lateI had to start again but it is now looking gorgeous πŸ™‚ I’m so chuffed with it, can you tellr today? You’ve got me hooked! I sent you an email about the yarn as I found a much cheaper supplier at Β£1:30 per 100gms. The cinnamon cake sounds lush. Ginger is my favourite but I’m just making plain Mary Berry mmmmm. Have a great weekend! Avis x

      Reply
      • Not seen that email, wonder if it is on the “Big Puter”. Sometimes they go there and I miss them. Will check. Glad that’s another person infected with the crochet virus!! πŸ˜‰

        Reply
  11. Hello, Miss Sophie! Another cutie. πŸ™‚ The sun has finally found its way across the North Sea but it’s cold outside. I’m not having any (birthday) cake today, but a nice dinner with the family. Also, I’ve finally got two weeks off work, hoping to get some crafty things done. – Dave the muse is threatening me already, demanding his jacket to be finished – or else *plays with his baseball bat*. πŸ˜‰ Have a nice weekend! Jule

    Reply
    • Oh it’s your birthday……happy birthday to you πŸ˜€ I think it is time Dave had a jacket if it is already getting cold over there. Though somehow, I don’t think the baseball bat will hurt too much if he did decide to use it πŸ˜‰ I look forward to seeing your creations. Have a great holiday from work! Avis x

      Reply
  12. Thanks, Avis! πŸ™‚ Problem is, the bat is firmly stuffed for the ‘bang’ factor. Muse protection, is all I say. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  13. πŸ˜€

    Reply
  14. Lovely fun under the sea theme, well done.

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

