WIP Update

Hello everyone πŸ™‚

The chevron quilt top is now finished.

The only trouble is….I don’t have any wadding left! Never mind, it can sit on the pile to be quilted and I can get on with something else πŸ™‚

I’ve now started work on a new project which is a secret. In fact, there are three secrets on the go at the moment. All will be revealed in good time πŸ˜‰ It is most unlike me to be working on more than one thing at once.

Here are a few close up shots of the chevrons. I’m off to eat Maltesers…..nom, nom.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Have a lovely crafty weekend πŸ™‚

Avis x

Leave a comment

23 Comments

  1. Avis, that is so lovely….the colors, pattern and your piecing are gorgeous!! Will be a ‘dream’ to quilt!!! Waiting on your “mystery” projects…hehe!

    Reply
  2. Your chevron quilt looks fantastic. I hope you post a pic once its quilted. Love the fabrics. Well done.

    Reply
  3. A beautiful quilt. I haven’t thought of making a chevron quilt but after seeing this lovely one I am now tempted.

    Reply
  4. claire93

     /  November 2, 2012

    gorgeous
    I’m making chevrons at the moment too, but only a short band, and not even for me . . . it’s for the group project at the patchwork club I attend.

    Reply
  5. I love your version of the chevron quilt!

    Reply
  6. Beautiful piecing and even more beautiful fabric choices – can’t wait to see the ‘mystery’ projects!

    Reply
  7. Hi Avis! That’s beautiful! What a great fabrics and lovely colours! I haven’t made anything with chevrons – thank you for inspiration! I wish you wonderful weekend! x Teje

    Reply
    • Thank you Teje! I’m off to sort out some tension issues….no idea why it seems to have gone gonky! Maybe the change in temperature here brrrrrr! Happy weekend to you too πŸ™‚

      Reply
  8. Lovely. I really like quilts made in bands like this. I got my mum a new jelly roll and a new book for her birthday. She visited the other day and brought them so I could have a look. We got the other books out too and I spotted several similar to this that I like. No decision on what her jelly roll is going to turn into yet though, but lots of inspiration.

    Reply
    • There’s an easy but effective jelly roll quilt in my tutorials. It uses every scrap of jelly roll too. I have a couple of books devoted to jelly rolls (at least that’s what it says on the cover and that’s why I chose them). Trouble is, they only use part of a jelly roll or need loads of extra fabric. Youtube (in particular the Missouri Star Quilt Company) is where I get lots of inspiration. I could get no sewing done at all due to watching videos πŸ˜‰

      Reply
  9. witchylin

     /  November 3, 2012

    The chevron quilt is gorgeous Avis. I do like the fabrics, especially the one with the street map on it. Everything blends together so well. Great job. Can’t wait to see it quilted.

    Reply
    • Thanks Witchylin πŸ™‚ The street map and the Facade design are my favourites from this pack. You can rely on Moda to do the blending. I only have three charm packs left from my stash of nine that my OH bought from USA. Two are traditional warm colours and one is definitely zingy for Spring. Just when I said I’ll be sorting out tension issues…..I’m now off to do some shredding in the garden. Time to get well wrapped up!! Avis x

      Reply
  10. Your quilt is very beautiful! This is the third time IΒ΄m writing this, the other two comments where deleted by a cat πŸ™‚
    Gun, Sweden

    Reply
    • Oh no πŸ˜† Thank you Gun. I’m busy doing my favourite part of all quilting….hand stitching the binding….on the first of my secret projects πŸ™‚ Avis x

      Reply
  11. The street map print is my favourite, too. I think I have to consider a future chevron ‘un’quilt. πŸ™‚ Looking forward to seeing your secret projects.

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

