The Blogger’s Quilt Festival is now open!

Hi everyone πŸ™‚

My dear friend Teje has reminded me that the Blogger’s Quilt Festival over at Amy’s Creative SideΒ has just begun. Amy organises the festival in Spring and Autumn of each year and many quilters link to their posts showing their quilts and telling the stories behind them.

I hope you will pop over to the Festival and take a look at some of the most beautiful homemade quilts ever!! There are so many lovely blogs to visit too πŸ™‚ Make sure you have a cuppa and put your feet up. You could be there for a very long time! Voting starts soon so it may be worth having a pen and paper ready to note your favourites. There are also many prizes to be won, so maybe you would like to share your quilt too.

I have decided to enter my Blue Sampler Quilt which is the most recent one I have finished. Here it is πŸ™‚

The first quilt top I ever made contained the same blocks as this one. I made it in red, white and blue and have shown it in a previous post. It is still on my to-do list to quilt and bind πŸ™‚

I decided to make the blue version above because I had recently got a puppy and I needed to find a project I could pick up and put down, working only for short periods at a time. I thought the different blocks would hold my interest and, for me, the sashing was a “must have”.

Because I’d made the sampler before, I decided to take photographs of all the steps and write tutorials block by block which you can find in my tutorials category at the right hand side of my blog. I thought it might inspire one of my non-quilting readers to try quilting for the very first time so I tried to make the instructions suitable for a complete beginner. The first tutorial contains the fabric requirements and cutting instructions and further tutorials for blocks 1 to 11 are also available. The final block 12 tutorial and the ones for sashing and binding will follow soon πŸ™‚

I used Moda Bella Solids throughout as I love their soft feel and the variety of colours available. Β The blocks are 12 inches square so the quilt made up quite quickly. I machine quilted it myself in a meander wiggle with turquoise thread on the front and white on the back. The backing fabric is also white.

Blogger’s Quilt Festival Stats

Finished quilt measures : 58β€³x 44β€³
Special techniques used : Machine pieced and quilted. Binding attached to the back by hand.
Quilted by : Me (Avis)
Best Category : Throw quilt, Home machine quilted, Scrap Quilt

I will leave you with some close-up photos of the blocks in a slide show. Enjoy! Avis x

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment

28 Comments

  1. So pretty – love your choice of blues! Great sampler.

    Reply
  2. The blues are very striking – great choice, and a super sampler quilt.

    Reply
  3. Oh yes…I love your color choice. Beautiful!

    Reply
  4. Tremendous quilt! Love the colors and the lay out. Very crisp. Great job!

    Reply
  5. Avis, your quilt is so beautiful and reminds me of Cretan sea! Your slide show is great! x Teje

    Reply
  6. I love the colors in this quilt! And your quilting is wonderful.

    Reply
  7. It’s as lovely now it is finished as it promised to be. Well done. You must be very pleased with it.

    Cheryl

    Reply
  8. witchylin

     /  October 29, 2012

    I agree with all the above posts. It is a really lovely quilt both in colour and design. I am so pleased you decided to enter in the Blogger’s Quilt Festival. Good Luck πŸ™‚

    Reply
  9. I love the turquoise and blues… so calming and happy. πŸ™‚ Seeing this makes me want to start a sampler quilt! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  10. very pretty, I like that you have used just shades of blues on the white – it works beautifully

    Reply
  11. I really love he colors you’ve chosen! Such a beauty!

    Reply
  12. Samplers are fun for being able to pick up and do just one block at a time. I entered a sampler in the quilt show too. I like how the blues you used unify the whole quilt.

    Reply
    • Thank you Emily. I’ve just looked at your sampler. It is beautiful and the hand quilting is gorgeous!! Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚ Avis x

      Reply
  13. GFam

     /  November 5, 2012

    I have recently started to finish a sampler I started a few years ago. I have decide to add 3 more blocks to make better fit my daughters twin bed. I was glad to find your blog because some of our blocks are the same. I have been able to find 3 patterns from your sampler that fit right in with the 12 I already have. Now I can complete my quilt.
    Thank you

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

