Help! Decisions, decisions….

Happy Thursday everyone!

No photographs today folks…..just a plea for help.

I know the Autumn is only just beginning but I’m already feeling the cold this year. I’ve decided to buy my first pair of wellies and to knit some socks to wear with them.

Well, I’ve looked at lots of web sites but I’m already baffled by all the various yarns. There are so many different wools like merino, alpaca, cashmere, wool etc. and then I need to buy the correct ply. After all of the web browsing, the only things I am certain about is that I want to make multicoloured knee length socks that will wash well in the machine and stay up to my knees inside my wellies. Oh and another thing, the pattern…….this is soooo difficult!

I wonder if anyone out there has knitted socks before and can offer advice about yarn and patterns. I am an experienced knitter so I don’t mind complicated patterns and would prefer to have proper heels and toes rather than tube-type socks. Feel free to put a link to your posts in your comments (if you have blogged about your socks before).

I need to satisfy my knitting fix very soon and would be most grateful for your suggestions. I will, of course, post about my decisions and progress as soon as I can😀

Thank you🙂

Avis x

Leave a comment

24 Comments

  1. I look forward to seeing how you get on with this new knitting project. I’m afraid I can’t help with socks as I have only ever knitted one pair and that was about thirty years ago. Good luck with it and perhaps I will have a go as well if/when you post the details. X

    Reply
    • Oh Sew Tempting

       /  October 12, 2012

      I’ve seen so much lovely yarn that I just have to make some🙂

      Reply
  2. I have made just so few pair and have gone with the recommendation of the yarn shop I generally buy from. The liners I have for my wellies are out of a stretchy fleece-type fabric and I love them. They are tall enough for a cuff over the tops of the boots. Didn’t make them, though, so no pattern! Sorry! May you have a successful ‘hunt’! Hugs, D

    Reply
    • 😆 Thanks Doreen! have a wonderful weekend😀

      Reply
      • treadlemusic

         /  October 12, 2012

        You, also! Off in a few moments to the Northeast Iowa Studio Art Tour. Self guided drive to many artists’ studios, homes and shops to view and buy their creations. Hope to get a few great photos! Blessings….D

        Reply
  3. Hi Avis! Great that you want to knit socks! I have made lots of socks, mostly with one simple pattern which came with the Finnish yarn. I like to knit them ‘2 right/2 purl’ or 2+3 or 1+1, often I knit all the sock like this or then then only the down part all ‘right’. That way the sock keeps better the shape and stays up.
    There are really so many patterns that it’s difficult to choose and the same goes with yarn. If you have a local yarn shop you take the yarn from there and ask for machine washable wool. As you know the pattern depends about the yarn. If you like I can write to you how many loops etc. I use.
    Visit also Ros and Oscar (labrador) at http://www.snoopydogknits.blogspot.com! There you find lots of sock inspiration!
    Wonderful weekend to you and Archie!

    Reply
    • Thank you Teje. This link took me to a wonderful blog🙂 The only thing is I visit very few blogspot blogs because I always have a problem when I try to leave comments and “following” causes even more problems. I get so frustrated with it so I just don’t bother in the end. I have been inspired by the socks and Oscar is gorgeous😀 Enjoy the weekend! Avis x

      Reply
      • Teje

         /  October 13, 2012

        I’m also confused with the ‘following’. Now I have a blogger account and I write there the blog address and then from the Blogger Cashboard I can read all the posts from the blogs I follow. Many blogs have that ‘box with blog icons’ to follow but if they don’t then I add the address by myself. But also with wordpress something is strange. I don’t know where to find for example your posts even I ‘follow’ you. So I have add also your blog to my blogger reader. I don’t have usually problems with comments but now lately there are some blogs that I can write my comment but then there is now place to ‘publish’ it? Who knows what happens? x Teje

        Reply
        • Well, sometimes on WordPress, if I unfollow then log out and then in, then follow again I get the new posts back….but it doesn’t always work! It keeps us on out toes I suppose😀 I’ll try your ideas for blogger as I do think I miss out sometimes. Avis x

          Reply
  4. … ment to say you COULD take the yarn from the local shop. x Teje

    Reply
  5. Hmm, tricky, as I haven’t made socks yet. I used part of a sock pattern for Dave’s feet and shoulders (and messed them up🙂 ). But I’ve bought a lot of regular sockwool recently for my scarves. It is usually made of 75 % wool and 25 % polyamide, machine wash at 40°, 4-ply. If you want socks for wellies, I think that wool or merino will do. I wouldn’t use alpaca or cashmere because they’re too expensive.🙂
    Have a nice weekend! Jule

    Reply
    • I saw your sock wool. It is gorgeous! Thanks for the advice. I think I’ll find a pattern first then get the relevant yarn as Teje suggests. I’ll probably stick with the cheaper wool mix as I do tend to put holes in my socks😆 Have fun🙂 Avis x

      Reply
  6. You need to check out Ravelry. https://www.ravelry.com/account/login Some wonderful patterns and ideas there.

    Reply
    • Oh Sew Tempting

       /  October 12, 2012

      Thank you so much🙂 This should keep me busy for a while😀 Avis x

      Reply
  7. go for an old style pattern (you can pick them up in charity shops these days) and if you want them to stay up you need to have tops that fold over your wellies.

    Reply
    • I’ll look into this. My Mum had sacks full of knitting patterns for years. I asked if I could look through them recently and she had given them to the charity shop!!! All of her needles went there too😆 Avis x

      Reply
      • oh no!! that is exactly the kind of thing happens to me when I ask if mum still has something …. nevermind, they are pretty cheap if you find the right charity shop. I’ll send something if I can find the ones I have in mind that mum DID keep

        Reply
        • Ooooh! That would be nice😀 I’ll pay my charity shops a visit this week some time. I’ve also found some yarn called Patons Stretch which has a little elastic in it. Apparently it is great for making socks stay up so I might just treat myself! Avis x

          Reply
  8. I second suth2 – Ravelry is amazing. Lots of patterns, but also lots of yarn help too. Also, huge time suck!

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

