Finished!

I thought I’d never get around to sewing again following having a trapped nerve in my shoulder and then getting a labrador retriever puppy. It is amazing how having to look after a bouncy puppy made me almost forget the pain in my arm🙂 I thought I’d tackle something I could do in short time slots between puppy naps and here is the result.

The backing and binding are white and the quilting thread is variegated turquoise on the front and white linen on the back. All the fabrics are Moda Bella Solids.

Image

The tutorials for the blocks are published up to and including Block 9 and can be found in my tutorials category on the right of the page if you would like to make it. The first tutorial gives fabric requirements and cutting instructions. The remaining block tutorials will follow soon. My friend Gun is following the tutorials as a quilt-along. You might like to take a look at her Green Quilt blocks as well as many other gorgeous things she makes.

I think this quilt will live on my sofa🙂

I’ll leave you with a few more photos. I hope you like them. Have a wonderful weekend😀 Avis x

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

ImageImage

Image

Image

Leave a comment

45 Comments

  1. creative pixie

     /  October 6, 2012

    A really lovely quilt, I especially like the square 3rd row down far right. Does this mean you’ll be starting work on a Christmas project now this is done?

    Reply
    • Hellooooo! I haven’t seen you around for ages! lovely to see you again. I think that is my favourite block too. It might be called the friendship star but I’m not 100% sure😉 Avis x

      Reply
  2. beautiful xx

    Reply
  3. I understand how you must have felt not being able to sew again, I couldnt knit for 5 years and it was like I lost a friend…your rehab must be complete now, that quilt is absolutely beautiful.The colours are my favourites and the design is gorgeous.
    Well done you X

    Reply
    • Thank you Karen🙂 I’m totally fixed now. Archie, four months old, sat at my feet while I hand stitched some of the binding yesterday. I did take him out for a nice walk to wear him out first of course😉 Looks like I’ll be quilting a bit more regularly again from now on. Avis x
      P.S. If any of my readers enjoy knitting, get yourselves over to Karen’s blog NOW!! It is FANTASTIC!!

      Reply
      • kalfury

         /  October 14, 2012

        Glad you’re sorted now, doesnt good health make a difference? Thanks for your lovely comments on my knitting, it makes me think its all worthwhile X

        Reply
        • It certainly does🙂 I don’t suppose you could recommend a knee length sock pattern and yarn could you? I’ve been asking for ideas in my latest post. Your blog has made me think about getting back to knitting again and I need long socks to wear in my wellies. can’t wait to get started😀 Avis x

          Reply
          • kalfury

             /  October 14, 2012

            OOh I don’t knit socks but I’ve heard good things about Noro, and if you have a look at the Black Sheep Wools website I’m sure you’d find something there. Good luck and I look forward to seeing the results!

            Reply
  4. claire93

     /  October 6, 2012

    if you ever get bored with it being on your sofa, I have a lovely blue sofa in “guest room” where it would look just great lol

    Reply
  5. It looks fantastic. Well done.

    Reply
  6. This looks fantastic! And your tutorials are great!

    Reply
    • Thank you Connie🙂 I’m pleased you like the tutorials. I hope they might help someone to try patchwork for the first time. These are the first blocks I made in red, white and blue. Avis x

      Reply
  7. Hi Avis! Your quilt is so beautiful! It’s like the Cretan sea! Happy weekend and hugs to you and Archie! x Teje & Nero

    Reply
  8. It’s beautiful. And with the turquoise on white, it’s a lot like something Teje would make. Think you guys are inspiring each other.

    Reply
  9. Just beautiful. I love the colours you have chosen. It makes traditional block patterns look very modern and fresh.

    Reply
    • Thank you😀 Well, we are just going into chilly Autumn here so a bit of Springtime to look at will be great! I kept the blocks large for a more modern twist🙂 Avis x

      Reply
  10. It is gor-gee-ous!!!!!!! Again, I have to say that those ‘basic’ blocks bring back such good memories and your quilting is just perfect for the theme!!! Hugs, Doreen

    Reply
  11. This is so impressive. I love how the wiggly quilting lines contrast with the sharp geometric patchwork.🙂

    Reply
  12. Your quilt is beautiful!! I don´t know when my will be finished, since I handquilt🙂 and All the blocks aren´t done yet🙂 Thank you for linking to my blog!
    Gun, Sweden

    Reply
  13. Elisabeth

     /  October 7, 2012

    Excellent work, Avis! I love your colour choice and your quilting!

    Reply
    • Thank you Elisabeth🙂 I really chose the colours around some of the things Teje makes. She is such an inspiration to me😀 Avis x

      Reply
  14. Denby

     /  October 8, 2012

    Well done Avis another beautiful quilt. I love the colours. It’s very eye catching and I’m sure that it will become the focal point of your sitting room.
    (hope Archie doesn’t think it’s for him)

    Reply
    • Don’t worry, Archie isn’t allowed anywhere near my quilts😉 It doesn’t match my colour scheme at all but who cares. Trying to decide what to do next😀 Avis x

      Reply
  15. Gorgeous quilt and lovely quilting. It looks amazing and a great colour combination too. You must be very pleased with it

    Reply
  16. Beautiful work Avis!

    Reply
  17. I LOVE your colours and this quilt! It’s just beautiful!

    Reply
    • Oh Sew Tempting

       /  October 10, 2012

      Thank you Wendy. I’ve just “followed” your blog. Beautiful quilting. Wish I had a longarm😀

      Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

