Sneaky peek!

Hi everyone🙂

I’ve now finished the 12 blocks for my sampler quilt. The photo tutorials for the first six blocks are finished and published and the other six will follow soon. You will find them in my “Tutorials” category at the right hand side of the screen.

I’ve been playing around with the layout and may still change this as I go along. Here are a couple of arrangements.

 

 

Here they are waiting for the first part of the sashing to be attached. It is just laid over the top of the blocks in the photo. I find it easier to lay everything out on the floor before I begin to sew🙂

 

I’ll continue with the rest of the tutorials and then write  some for the sashing and binding.

Here’s wishing everyone a very crafty week😀

Avis x

 

Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. That is lovely! Laying it out like that is most helpful. Sometimes I also take a photo and look at it that way. Amazing how a different perspective helps making such decisions easier. Some of my most favorite blocks!!!!

    Reply
    • Hi Doree, long time no see! I hope you are well🙂 Yes, these blocks are nice for beginners and experienced quilters alike. My header photo quilt uses one of these blocks throughout and it is still waiting to be quilted. I might just try another one soon🙂 Avis x

      Reply
      • Seems like they are a welcome ‘break’ and kinda pulls one back to the beginnings of today’s quilting….you know, when the first project was the basic 9-patch that became a pillow……or the first UFO! LOL!

        Reply
        • Very true. It was definitely a good idea to have all the pieces cut out before sewing. It has been so easy to find half an hour to put a block together. Usually I prefer long sewing sessions but I don’t have time at the moment. This has worked well and I haven’t got bored repeating the same blocks🙂 Have a lovely weekend Doreen! Avis x

          Reply
          • Headed for the camper after lunch. Only 6 weeks til we have to move the unit for the season. Definitely bittersweet. Am praying that the Fall season gives us some beautiful days. This summer has been a challenge to so many (and is ongoing for too many).
            Your method of having the pieces all cut is a good one and something I am going to have to try. Like you, I have been used to longer chunks of time but not so much lately so I don’t have anything ready for those shorter times available. There is much talk about doing a minimum of 15 min. at the machine every day and those doing it report good progress. Will have to rethink my approach!!
            It’s raining lightly at the moment….definitely a Fall day with 52F! Temps to continue through the weekend but sunny. Guess I am ready for evening campfires!!! Hope your weekend is good..hugs,Doreen

            Reply
            • My favourite time of year is the autumn closely followed by spring. The colours are glorious, especially if there is some sunshine to go with it. There is definitely a chill in there air here but the skies have been blue for days. Must make the most of it🙂 I had no idea I could get a quilt top completed in such short chunks of time but the proof is here😀 Go for it Doreen! Have a wonderful weekend🙂 Avis x

              Reply
  2. Hi Avis! That is going to be so beautiful quilt! All the blocks are so great! x Teje

    Reply
  3. So pretty and fresh. It’s lovely.

    Reply
  4. witchylin

     /  September 20, 2012

    It looks fantastic in just those colours. Glad you saw sense and omitted the orange. Each block is so different. The arrangement in the last picture is excellent. I like the white as the the sashing it seems to push the blocks to the front.🙂

    Reply
    • I’ve got some of the sashing done and it looks great🙂 Great minds think alike because the last picture shows the final choice of placement😀 Happy weekend Lin! Avis x

      Reply
  5. Hmmm….orange is a nice colour🙂 but I stick to my green fabrics🙂
    Gun, Sweden

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

