Traditional Patchwork Quilt Pattern and Tutorial (Part 6)

Here is the fifth block from a series of 12. The finished size when the block is sewn into the quilt top is 12 inches square. Enjoy!

You will need:

Two light 4 7/8″ x 4 7/8″ squares

Two dark 4 7/8″ x 4 7/8″ squares

Ten light 2 1/2″ x 2 1/2″ squares

Ten dark 2 1/2″ x 2 1/2″ squares

Here are my patches.

First make the four-patch blocks. Start with a pair of light and dark 2 1/2″ squares.

Sew them together and then chain sew the other nine pairs in the same way.

Press the seams towards the dark fabric. You should have ten pieces like this.

Arrange the pieces into the five four-patch blocks.

Chain sew them together, taking care to butt the seams against each other to ensure a good match in the centre.

You should now have five four-patch squares.

Next, make the half square triangles. Place the two light 4 7/8″ squares on top of the two dark 4 7/8″ squares.

Draw the diagonal lines.

Sew one quarter of an inch away from both sides of the lines.

Cut along the lines to get four half square triangles.

Open up and press the seams towards the darkest fabric. Bear in mind that you may need to change this direction depending on how bulky the seams will be on the back when the nine patches are sewn to complete the block.

Arrange the squares on a table. Take care to place the colours correctly.

Sew together to make three rows. Alternate the direction in which you press the seams so they will butt up against each other when you sew the rows together.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Ah…I like this one! Some day I´ll make a whole quilt with only this block 🙂
    Gun, Sweden

    Reply
  2. I love the colours of the blocks. Finally took the time to take a look at the first six parts of your tutorial *facepalms*. My little ‘chap’ still keeps me busy with all of his ideas. 😉

    Reply
    • I’m still thinking about how to quilt it because I’ve almost finished the blocks. Your muse keeps you as busy as my puppy is distracting me 🙂

      Reply
  3. witchylin

     /  September 16, 2012

    I am really enjoying this tutorial and so looking forward to starting it. Maybe in the new year. I just have to decide what colours and if it will be in plain fabric. I think patterns will take away the dramatic design on a number of the blocks……Mmmmmm now will I do it is autumn shades???????????? You certainly keep my quilting mind working. 🙂

    Reply
    • If I was starting in the New Year I’d probably go for yellow, blue and white ready for springtime. I always find these colours so cheerful together 🙂 I thought I preferred solids for this design myself but I have to say I’m impressed with my friend Gun’s fabric choices too. You can find her version at http://www.rutigt.wordpress.com 😀

      Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

