Come on! Get that quilt finished!!

Hi everyone :-)

I don’t know about all of you but……my sister who is an amazing crafter is procrastinating!

A couple of years ago, she bought a variety of gorgeous shades of blue fabrics and started to make a Trip Around the World Quilt. She claims to have the four quarters of the top ready to sew together and then the top will be finished. I’m still waiting to see the results. However, in the meantime she has started to make a dress, knitted a beautiful cardigan/jacket and a blanket for her new Granddaughter and also a batik patchwork bag from a kit. The word kit is used very loosely here as the pattern needed to be reworked, there was insufficient fabric in the bag and there was no wadding, tape for the handles or buttons included! OUCH!!

Anyway, her latest excuse is that she is preparing for Christmas. There’s an advent calendar and some Christmas stockings to sew. Next it will be Christmas decorations and table runners……

And look what her granddaughter is getting for Christmas :-) A lovely knitted dolly. Anyone who has ever made knitted toys will know how much work goes into them…..and the stitching up Ugh!!

 

And from the back…

 

This doll is about 16 inches tall and she is lovely. Suggestions for names would be most welcome :D

Come on Siss, get that quilt top finished. You are almost there :-)

How many UFO’s do you all have? I have one, the sampler I’m busy with he-he :D

Happy weekend!

Avis x

 

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Wow, what a busy lady! I love the doll, I’d like to try something similar myself but the making up at the end puts me off. What a talented knitter, I love all the detail.
    I personally only have one UFO, its a sampler I started a couple of months ago, it s been pushed to one side since I started knitting again ;(

    Reply
    • I love knitting too but my quilting takes over…..oh and our new puppy :D My sister is always making something. I suppose it runs in our family :-) Have a great weekend! Avis x

      Reply
  2. Still being busy knitting Dave, my muse. He’s a little taller than the lovely little lady above, about 2 ft. high. Only needs his jacket now (beginning this evening), and a scarf. Until then, my approx. 50 patchwork UFOs will have to wait. :)

    Reply
    • I can’t wait to see Dave. This doll has a couple of additional outfits but Siss didn’t send me photos of those. Wow 50 UFOs!!! That must be a record :lol:

      Reply
  3. The doll is really cute! I want tell you how many UFO:s I got, cause they are too many. :) Don´t know why I never finish them!
    Gun, Sweden

    Reply
    • I hope you don’t have as many as Jule above! I always thought you would finish everything. I like to finish projects before moving on but I don’t use what I make which is such a waste.
      Avis x

      Reply
  4. That’s a beautiful doll. I would call her Holly. It’s a Christmas story I read as a child.

    Reply
  5. witchylin

     /  September 8, 2012

    Jodi chose the name I was thinking of too. The doll is beautifully knitted. As for UFOs well if I am honest….The one I am making at the same time as my friend (who is learning to quilt so I am making mine as we go). The Green-man which only needs the FMQ, a cushion cover I started as a gift for a July Birthday and I am still sewing pictures on it. Then there is a knitted waterfall cardigan for me, a granny squares rug and finally a cross-stitch Christmas hanging for a friend I started for Christmas 2011! Not so bad I suppose because they are all different disciplines. Need to get some more stuff made as props for a theatre production that require sewing then……….Green-man and the quilt with friend. So much fabric, so little time. :-O I forgot the Lighthouse quilt I have been making for over 15years!!! Now where is it, probably the loft. Yikes!

    Reply
    • I think you have a good excuse for so many UFOs being different types of crafting. We might let you off ;-) Think how good it will feel when you put the final touches to those projects! I know I would probably never return to anything half done so that keeps me going to the end :-) Have a great weekend!

      Reply
  6. I don’t even want to think about how many UFOs I have lying around the apartment. Too many to count, I’m sure! I really need to stop procrastinating with them and actually get some of them finished!

    Love that doll, though! It’s a lucky little girl who’ll get that as a gift!

    Reply
    • She certainly is a lucky girl. I know how many hours and extra trips to the wool shop that doll needed :-) I’ve seen your E

      Reply
    • She certainly is a lucky girl. I know how many hours and extra trips to the wool shop that doll needed :-) I’ve also seen your Etsy shop and I know you finish lots of lovely items ;-) Avis x

      Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 587 other followers

