Traditional Patchwork Quilt Pattern and Tutorial (Part 3)

Here is the second block from a series of 12. The finished size when the block is sewn into the quilt top is 12 inches square. Enjoy!

Image

You will need:

Four medium 4 1/2″ x 2 1/2″ rectangles

Four light 4 1/2″ x 2 1/2″ rectangles

Two light 4 7/8″ squares

Two medium 4 7/8″ squares

One light 4 1/2″ square

Here are my patches. You also need to add the light 4 1/2″ square to these. I omitted it in the photo!

cimg1850

Start with the four pairs of rectangles.

cimg1851

Chain sew the pairs together.

cimg1852

Press the seams towards the darkest fabric. You should now have these.

cimg1853

Now make the half square triangle blocks. Use the 4 7/8″ squares for these.

cimg1854

Place a light 4 7/8″ square on top of a medium square.

cimg1855

Draw a line across the diagonal.

cimg1856

Sew one quarter of an inch away from both sides of the line.

cimg1857

Cut along the line.

cimg1858

Open and press the seam towards the darkest fabric.

cimg1859

You need to make another pair of half square triangles from the other two 4 7/8″ squares. Lay the pieces on the table taking care to place the colours in the correct positions. A light 4 1/2″ square is also needed for the centre.

cimg1860

Sew the top three pieces together to make a row. Repeat until you have three rows

Finally, sew the three rows together. Remember to press seams as you go and give a final press of the entire block when completed. If the block isn’t quite perfectly square at the stage, don’t panic….it can be squared up later when all of the other blocks are finished. Here is mine.

cimg1861

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. Great jobyou are doing, Avis. Like the colors and the tutorial is soooooooo understandable

    Reply
  2. Now you are fast🙂 I´ve just finished the first block and it´s at my blog right now!
    Gun, Sweden

    Reply
    • I’ve just popped over to take a peek. Very nice!! It is lovely to have you quilting along😀 I now have blocks 1, 2, 3 and 12 completed. If Archie stays asleep for a little while I’ll get number 4 done too🙂

      Reply
  3. Wonderfully clear and simple. Love all the photos. Wish I had the resources and time to do some patchwork…. One day😉

    Reply
    • Thank you for your lovely comment🙂 It is best to have a good block of time free to do the cutting. Usually for a sampler in particular, most people would probably cut each block as they go. I always tend to have everything cut first as I think that is the hardest part and needs most concentration. Then I’m happy to sew in shorter bursts🙂 As for resources…..do you mean time or money? If it is money….there are often Moda and other quality branded printed cottons for auction on Ebay. I bid quite often when I want prints. I sell solids myself so I’m lucky to have plenty of those🙂

      Reply
  4. You are right about the cutting. It does take concentration…. Don’t want any expensive mistakes there! Time and money are both problems lol! But I might have a peek on eBay.

    Reply
  5. You make this all look so easy! I’m going to have fun trying out these quilt blocks for myself. Thanks!

    Reply
  6. Any tutorials on how to sew in a strait line? LOL

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

