Bringing up the past and something new….

Hi everyone,

The weekend is here again, hurray!!

I’ve been looking through the quilt tops I still need to quilt and found this one. This is the first patchwork I ever pieced almost 2 years ago.

 

Quite patriotic isn’t it? Red, white and blue for the Queen’s Jubilee or even Team GB :-)

The red and blues are Makower Spraytime and the white is actually a white-on-white delicate ivy leaf design, again by Makower.

Well, this one definitely needs to be quilted soon but what I plan to do is write a series of photo tutorials for a new quilt of the same design. I will cover all the steps from choosing the fabrics to binding the finished quilt and use fast piecing methods whenever possible. I intend to start with the fabric requirements and cutting. Then I’ll be piecing one block per week, followed by the sashing and border. I will then quilt both this one and the new one and finish with the binding. This design is suitable for beginners. I had no quilting experience before making mine. The usual tools will be needed i.e. rotary cutter, quilter’s ruler, cutting mat and a sewing kit plus a sewing machine if you want to machine piece.

The tutorials will have photographs for all the steps and I’ll put the posts into my tutorials category on the right hand side of the page. I am not an expert quilter. I just love to quilt! So if any of you lovely readers spot any glaring errors or think I should add more detail, please let me know. Hopefully, some new quilters might join the quilty gang and some of my regular readers will quilt along :-) If you do fancy quilting along, please let me know here and we could share progress photos if you wish. You might even choose a favourite block and make it into a cushion to share with us.

I hope to post once a week, give or take a day or two, due to having a very active puppy in the household :-D Here he is if you are interested.

I’d also like to point you in the direction of the quilting competition at the Quilting Gallery. My dear friend Gun from Sweden has entered this week. I’ve just voted for her quilt which she made using the quilt-as-you-go method :-D There are some absolutely stunning entries to see :-)

Whatever you are getting up to this weekend, Enjoy!

Avis x

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

24 Comments

  1. That is pretty awesome as a first piece of patchwork. You must be a very neat and accurate person. I am not so neat and accurate ;)

    Reply
  2. Wow, how amazing, I would never have guessed it was your first piece of work, it’s beautiful.

    Reply
    • Well the blocks are 12 inches square so it was quite easy really. It is all machine pieced with not too many triangles which can cause problems. This was a great piece to begin with :-) I have finally sourced some red, white and blue variegated cotton for quilting! As all the blocks are different it held my interest…..then I was hooked :-)

      Reply
  3. Avis, I’m happy to hear that you have found time to think sewing! That quilt top is really beautiful, lovely blocks and great idea to make a tutorial! I hope to have time to ‘quilt along’ with you! Happy weekend! x Teje Hugs to Archie!

    Reply
    • Thanks Teje :-) I’m going to use solids but not sure about the colours yet. I’m busy doing the maths for the fabric and cutting at the moment. It is very hot here today! It would be lovely for you to join in if you have the time but I know you are busy too. The details will always be there for anyone who wants them in the future anyway :D Avis x Treats for Nero!

      Reply
  4. I love tutorials :) and I have some friends who are learning how to quilt. They are following Beginners´-Quilt-Along and now I think they are ready for a new quilt. I´ll recommend your blog for them.
    Thanks for mentioning my quilt at Quilting Gallery!
    Now over to Archie! Cute dog :)
    Gun, Sweden

    Reply
  5. You really can’t go past a sampler quilt made with a controlled colour palette. They always look terrific.

    Reply
  6. A beautiful quilt. Are you going to quilt it yourself?

    Reply
    • Yes :-) I’ve been making tops for the last couple of years and started to machine quilt them last December. The others are all in my archive to the right of the page. Thanks for stopping by again :D Avis x

      Reply
  7. Wonderful quilt – have you decided how you will quilt it?

    Reply
    • Hi Connie, I was thinking about trying something more geometric this time. Maybe different shaped spirals in the different shaped pieces. I will probably change my mind a few times before it is done. I’m looking forward to quilting it but need to make the new one for the tutorial first :-)
      I hope you are having a lovely weekend! Avis x

      Reply
  8. My eyes keep getting drawn to the white-and-blue patch, the middle one on the third row down. I love that design!

    Reply
    • Oh, that one is called “Card Trick”. I’m sure there will be other names for it depending which books you read. It is probably my favourite too :D

      Reply
  9. witchylin

     /  August 20, 2012

    Lovely quilt Avis and so professional for your very first. I love the “card trick” too and would love it make a quilt using it all over with different shades. I am sure I will be quilting along with this one. :-)
    Hugs to Archie who is such a brave boy. Bet he is bouncing around again now.

    Reply
    • Yes, different shades would give it a 3D effect. It will be great to have you quilt along! I have chosen my colours. All will be revealed in a day or two :-) Archie is all well again. He was on the lead up and down the drive today with me throwing a treat just ahead of him now and again. He also met my neighbours and their children who returned from holiday yesterday. He loved all the attention :D

      Reply
  10. If I ever have the time, I would be pleased if my first quilt looked like this. I cannot cut or sew a strait line! Great job for your first project!

    Reply
    • The quickest way to learn is to go to a class. Quilters are a real friendly bunch and they always want to share ideas etc. If you do get the time, I’d love to see the results. By the way, did you buy your Kindle cover? Avis x

      Reply
  11. quiltquilt

     /  September 8, 2012

    Long time no see. Love the sampler. / Meg

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 587 other followers

